The Selection by Kiera Cass

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.  But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.  Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

What if in Pride and Prejudice Elizabeth said yes to her mom forcing her to accept Mr. Collins but as an evil twist she has to go on the Bachelor to compete for him?  That’s the general idea I got of this book from the first few chapters.  After further reading, I was pleasantly surprised by this book.  There were more light-hearted conversations and situations that I thought would be in a dystopian novel and I truly enjoyed them. 

 I’ve never been a fan of shows like The Bachelor or The Bachelorette but I really wanted to read this book.  In regards to the show I’ve always thought who wants to or even can fall in love on TV?  Who can date multiple people at a time and still start a serious relationship with the intension of marriage?  It was interesting to read about Maxon learning more about each girl and the dating process “from the inside” so to speak.  At first I completed sided with America in the whole situation and her approach to the competition though I still felt bad for Maxon.  He has to go through his whole life on TV and under a microscope as future ruler even though he is this shy guy. Then, when I didn’t expect it, everything shifted.  I went from feeling bad for Maxon to thinking he was a DB.  You see what America feels like during the process and how she starts to care for him and how his being with the other girls hurts her.

 There are other story lines in the book, a pending war, a love triangle, etc but majority of the book focuses on America and her choices that led to her wanting to stay in the competition.    I definitely see how this has the potential to be a great show and I can’t wait to see it or to read the next chapter in this story!

4.5/5

7 thoughts on “The Selection by Kiera Cass

  1. Brittany June 27, 2012 at 1:00 pm Reply

    Ooh interesting! I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews about this one so I like when I see a good review for it! Looks like they weren’t too creative on the names though 😛

    • Gone Pecan June 27, 2012 at 1:26 pm Reply

      Yeah I’ve read a few negative ones. It definitely wasn’t what I thought it would be but I really liked it. Let me know if you read it! ~ M

  2. Candice June 28, 2012 at 9:05 am Reply

    I personally have never been a fan of any reality TV, especially shows like the Bachelor. That being said, I really want to read this one! There have been several reviews that have been more negative than positive… so whenever I come across a positive one I get excited! Maybe one day our library will have it… stupid slow getting new books library!

    • Gone Pecan June 28, 2012 at 9:18 am Reply

      Aww!! Talk about they are slow!! Let me know when you get to read it. BTW we have a few books we want to list w you but I have to read them first. Lol ~m

      • Candice June 28, 2012 at 10:03 am

        Oh yay! I have the same problem… I have a shelf full of books that I wouldn’t mind sharing (as in “here, take this book and keep it!) but I haven’t read any of them yet! Should probably make that a priority….

  3. Tee June 29, 2012 at 1:37 pm Reply

    I just gave in and bought this! Can’t wait to read it and compare notes! 🙂

    • Gone Pecan June 29, 2012 at 1:39 pm Reply

      Oh, let me know!!!! I hope you have a positive review.:) ~Maggie

Leave a Reply

