TGIF # 37

Best I’ve Read So Far: We’re half way through the year (crazy how time flies!), which top 3 books are the best you’ve read so far this year?

 I am glad Ginger narrowed it down to the top 3 books because I could just go OFF!  As it is, I had to go to Goodreads to find which books I gave 5 stars to and my favorite are listed below:  

 

All Summer Long (review coming) by Susan Mallery — Probably my favorite Fool’s Gold book.

 

At Last (review coming) by Jill Shalvis — I loved Amy and Matt so so much.  Definitely a reread.

 

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green — How can you not be moved by this book?  Funny and heartbreaking.   

Honorable Mentions (these also received 5 stars):  Attachments by Rainbow Rowell, Somebody to Love by Kristan Higgins, A Perfect Storm by Lori Foster, The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson, Being Friends with Boys by Terra Elan McVoy, Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor.

 
 
~*~
 

Touch of Power by Maria V Snyder – I’m currently writing a review for this one.  WOW.

 

Possess by Gretchen McNeil – I still love this one!!  I wish I had more time right now because I would totally reread this ASAP.  I’m still working on getting someone to lend me an ARC of Ten because I CANNOT WAIT.

Jeneration X by Jen Lancaster – Oh how I love her books.  She makes me laugh. 🙂

17 thoughts on “TGIF # 37

  1. Elizabeth June 29, 2012 at 9:42 am Reply

    Looking forward to your reviews of the first two, I’ve been meaning to pick up some Susan Mallery and Jill Shalvis, but wasn’t sure where to start. Also, The Fault in Our Stars is a good choice and I debated putting it on my list… as much as it wowed me, I’m not sure it was one of my favorites. Too intense, maybe.

    • Gone Pecan June 29, 2012 at 9:48 am Reply

      for Susan Mallery, she does a lot of really great series. Fool’s Gold # 1 is called Chasing Perfect. start there. 🙂
      for Jill Shalvis, everything she writes is awesome. The Lucky Harbor series is just great. My favorites are Head Over Heels & At Last. But her other books are pretty great, too. The Animal Attraction series, Trouble in Paradise, anything really. 🙂
      TFiOS was just so…much, in so many ways. It was intense and I prefer light-hearted books, but I just loved it. ~dixie

  2. Briana June 29, 2012 at 10:25 am Reply

    I recently read A Fault in Our Stars, and I’m so glad to see it on so many lists. It is a really good book, and it shows that YA books should be taken seriously!

    I also really loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone and I am really looking forward to reading the second one.

    • Gone Pecan June 29, 2012 at 11:11 am Reply

      i am anxious for the second one, too! sometimes, i really hate series! they take too long to come out ~dixie

  3. Candice June 29, 2012 at 11:15 am Reply

    Great list, gals! I haven’t read any of these books… but knowing they’re your favorite reads of the year so far makes me trust that they’re great! 🙂

  4. Brittany June 29, 2012 at 1:34 pm Reply

    Wow, the cover for Possess looks amazing! I haven’t read any of these so far (except for an honorable mention) – And from seeing it everywhere today, looks like I really need to get The Fault in Our Stars!

  5. Tee June 29, 2012 at 1:38 pm Reply

    I just picked up The Fault in Our Stars from the library. Eeeeee! I think I’ll start it today.

  6. Tanya Patrice June 29, 2012 at 10:05 pm Reply

    I haven’t read any of the books you mentioned – but Touch of Power looks like one I might like. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  7. Melissa July 1, 2012 at 2:34 pm Reply

    I am looking forward to All Summer Long & At Last. I am a huge fan of the Fool’s Gold series. I can not wait to read those, but with At Last, I have started to read Simply Irresistible so it will take me some time to get to At Last! =) Thanks for sharing!

    • Gone Pecan July 2, 2012 at 9:35 am Reply

      Lucky Harbor is a great series. my favorites are head over heels and at last. I hope you enjoy them! ~dixie

  8. Liz. R July 2, 2012 at 4:20 pm Reply

    I’ve been wanting to read Possess for ages! I’ve heard a lot of good things about it. Heard great things about Touch of Power too, though I’m not too sure what it’s about. I do love that cover though!

    • Gone Pecan July 2, 2012 at 4:27 pm Reply

      To me Touch of Power is what I thought the Graceling Series should have been. It’s a great book! Might have the review up this week if I can finish. ~Maggie

  9. novareylin July 2, 2012 at 4:30 pm Reply

    Ohhh… Possess looks amazing! I would definitely pick that up just for the cover!

    • Gone Pecan July 2, 2012 at 4:33 pm Reply

      I loved it! Let me know if you read it, I’d love to know what you think. ~ Maggie

      • novareylin July 2, 2012 at 4:39 pm

        Wrote a note to remind myself! I am noticing a lot of eyes in the covers lately. Eerie and beautiful all at the same time.

      • Gone Pecan July 2, 2012 at 5:55 pm

        If you go by eyes check Shadow Hills by Anastasia Hopcus. 🙂 ~Maggie

Leave a Reply

