Outlander Read Along Week Three: Ch. 15-21

 

1.  We FINALLY get to the scene we’ve all been waiting for. You know what I’m talking about–yay sexytimes! What were your impressions? Was it what you were expecting? Or did you want more?

 Eh, I was expecting a bit more but I also realize this book wasn’t written yesterday.  Things have gotten raunchier in all books as time has passed so for judging it against a book of its time it did pretty good but I still have A LOT of the book left so here’s hoping for more.  😛 

2.  I know that some readers thus far have been bothered by the fact of Claire being married to Frank but still being involved with Jamie, despite the different time periods. Does their time as newlyweds change anyone’s opinion of that  If not, now what are you thinking of the situation?

If you know me you know I hate a cheating book. . . BUUUUTTTTT I guess because I’ve seen so little of Frank he doesn’t count to me.  Besides I’m still thinking about his comment saying it was ok for Claire to have been with someone else while she was away.  Really?!  I think not.  That being said, them being newlyweds didn’t change anything for me since I wanted them together already. J  I hope she stays but I’m there are many adventures left for our Claire. 

3.  What did you think about the “waterhorse” that Claire saw? Why do you think Peter was so spooked? And what do you think this means for Claire? 

 It’s Nessie!!!!!!  I was wondering about that whole scene and I kind of hope that it means something because I think that would be an interesting turn of events.  Maybe Claire is a chosen person of some sort?  If she sees the “waterhorse” maybe it will involve some kind of protection for her?  I don’t know!!!  EEP.

4. If you were Claire and you were knowingly in the vicinity of the stones, would you have done the same thing she did?

I don’t think so because by then I would have realized the danger of the situation.  I know most of us are very strong minded nowadays and in many ways we need to be but she should have showed more caution.  Also after dealing with Captain Randall so much at that point I don’t I would want to see Frank anytime soon.  Of course, maybe Frank isn’t Frank at all but Captain Randall who has time traveled to marry Claire to control her before she travels back and ruins his little set-up?  Maybe that’s why Jamie (?) came to see her?  I have so many theories, my little mind keeps spitting them out. 

5. What do you think about Captain Randall? How do you think the family resemblance between him and Frank affects Claire and particularly her relationship with Jamie?

As I’ve stated, if I were Claire I wouldn’t be too keen on going back to Frank.  I think in going back she might have issues with Frank as his relative tried to rape her and all.   I mean it’s just my opinion but I would hold a grudge against him.  It’s ten times worse that they look so much alike.

~*~

1.  We FINALLY get to the scene we’ve all been waiting for. You know what I’m talking about–yay sexytimes! What were your impressions? Was it what you were expecting? Or did you want more?

Honestly, I was a little disappointed, because I am used to much more exposition, but the further along I get, the author seems to be more descriptive. I do like the sexytimes!  But I want to know what exactly she did when she was demonstrating how pain can be pleasurable and she asked if he wanted her to stop & he screamed “NO!”  Yes.  I want to live vicariously through Claire as she has sex with her new virile husband.  There.  I said it.  But I love that he cannot get enough of her.  The parts where he asks her “is it always like this, the wanting you,”  my heart kind of constricts and I get that nice rollercoaster feeling in my belly.  Yes, more of that, too, please.

2.  I know that some readers thus far have been bothered by the fact of Claire being married to Frank but still being involved with Jamie, despite the different time periods. Does their time as newlyweds change anyone’s opinion of that?  If not, now what are you thinking of the situation?

Not really.  I wasn’t verra much bothered by it to begin with.  I can see that she has no other choice.  But then again, maybe I am bothered by it, because she sure seems to be enjoying it quite a bit.  It’s a conflict of feelings and emotions.  She still seems to love Frank and miss him, but at the same time, she’s very into the physical relationship with Jamie and that confuses me as to her true feelings for Frank.  Can it be that she doesn’t really love Frank like she thinks?  Or does her love of Jamie surpass her love of Frank?  And at this point, I think she does love Jamie because of her jealousy of those girls before her.  Maybe her love for Frank was as much as she could experience because when she fell for Frank, she didn’t know Jamie and had nothing to compare it to.

3.  What did you think about the “waterhorse” that Claire saw? Why do you think Peter was so spooked? And what do you think this means for Claire? 

Obviously, it has to be Nessie.  And it’s strange because I just finished listening to the audio book of The Scorpio Races, so I had that on my mind when Claire started talking about the waterhorses.  But this waterhorse seemed much less blood-thirsty than the other ones.  Also, I’m kind of confused as to why it’s in the story because it seemed to bring nothing to narrative other than to effectively prove the existence of Nessie.  But I’m hoping that it’s foreshadowing of some sort and that there’s a return of the waterhorse.  I can understand why Peter was so spooked, coming from his background, I bet he has heard a lot of legends about the monster, but seeing it probably was shocking.  I like the way Claire reacted, though.  She was pretty unperturbed, kid of like “Oh, look, the famed sea creature that no one has ever proved to be real.  Huh.”  And then goes about her day.

4. If you were Claire and you were knowingly in the vicinity of the stones, would you have done the same thing she did?

Honestly, no.  And the reason for that is because I’m lazy.  Walk 7 miles through a forest and river by myself in unfamiliar territory?  Nuh uh.  Not gonna happen. 

5. What do you think about Captain Randall? How do you think the family resemblance between him and Frank affects Claire and particularly her relationship with Jamie?

The more we see of Captain Randall and are reminded of his resemblance to Frank, the less I like Frank, honestly.  And it might be ridiculous, but I think that’s the author’s way of telling us that Frank is not what or who he seems.  I’m curious to learn of Frank’s real motivations and actions and personality, but I’m sure I’m not going to like him.

Overall, I loved these chapters.  It’s really gotten the ball rolling on the whole love story part.  Once again, when I picked it up again, I didn’t want to stop reading.  I have one chapter left for next week’s reading. 

If you want to read along, it’s not too late!  It’s an easy and quick read, despite the length (the book’s thickness looks daunting, I know).  Here’s our schedule:

July 2nd – Questions for chapters 15-21 answered & questions announced for chapters 22-28 on Into the Hall of Books

July 9th – Questions for chapters 22-28 answered & questions announced for chapters 29-35 on Logan E. Turner

July 16th – Questions for chapters 29-35 answered & questions announced for chapters 36-41 on The Reading Housewives

July 23rd – Questions for chapters 36-41 answered on Gone with the Words. The end.

10 thoughts on “Outlander Read Along Week Three: Ch. 15-21

  1. bookgoonie July 2, 2012 at 11:15 am Reply

    Another blogger said more detail to come. The pain-pleasure part sent my little brain off on a speculation tangent. I totally loved how he couldn’t get enough of HER, not just her moisten bits.

    Your Randall-Frank conspiracy time travel scenario has me laughing. Good old Nessie had me thinking of The Scorpio Races too.

    • Gone Pecan July 2, 2012 at 11:38 am Reply

      her moisten bits, ha! God, I love Jamie! ~dixie

    • Gone Pecan July 2, 2012 at 4:25 pm Reply

      I try 🙂 ~maggie

  2. Logan Turner (@loganturner) July 2, 2012 at 1:54 pm Reply

    You’re right – I keep forgetting this book is 20 years old. The bodice ripping may not have been so explicit back then.

    Also, I have a theory about what Claire was doing to show pain, and I don’t know how to put it delicately. She may have been…cough…erm…using her mouth. (hides face in shame)

    • Gone Pecan July 2, 2012 at 1:56 pm Reply

      yes, i kinda thought that too. that dirty bird. she probably invented it. 🙂 ~dixie

  3. Alyssa @ Books Take You Places July 2, 2012 at 6:03 pm Reply

    YES, YES A THOUSAND TIMES YES to this whole part: “Yes. I want to live vicariously through Claire as she has sex with her new virile husband. There. I said it.” Also my heart drops in that awesome and sickening way too when he asks if it always stays the same with them wanting one another. It definitely made me take a gander at my 5 year relationship for a sec..

    I read some trashy novels, and I admit I LIKE ‘EM! But I kind of liked how this one was a little tame at first, less detail and a little more romance. I think it drew me in a bit more.

    “Walk 7 miles through a forest and river by myself in unfamiliar territory?” I totally agree though that isn’t my FIRST reason for saying hell no to walking to the stones but I know I would definitely be like “ehh I’m not unhappy here and ya know I’ll probably get RAPED if I go anywhere plus, I am le tired.” so I think I would stay put ;]

    • Gone Pecan July 2, 2012 at 7:30 pm Reply

      That was just stupid all around on her part. Just listen to someone else for a change! ~dixie

  4. Tee July 3, 2012 at 10:07 am Reply

    Oh Dixie, that part when he asks about “the wanting her”? Gah! I think I’ve reread that part (and many, many a sexytime because they are aplenty in that book) at least one hundred times!!!

    • Gone Pecan July 3, 2012 at 10:30 am Reply

      i know. chapter 15 is on my reread list.

  5. Heidi July 3, 2012 at 5:11 pm Reply

    I also thought the waterhorse thing might forshadow Claire being revered somehow, but others seem to think it’s more likely she’ll be cast down as a witch. I’m interested to see which way it goes! I also totally thought of The Scorpio Races when they first told the waterhorse story. =)

Leave a Reply

