Goddess Legacy by Aimee Carter

Goddess Series 2.5 Novellas

For millennia we’ve caught only glimpses of the lives and loves of the gods and goddesses on Olympus. Now Aimee Carter pulls back the curtain on how they became the powerful, petty, loving and dangerous immortals that Kate Winters knows.

~*~

Goddess Queen

Calliope/Hera represented constancy and yet had a husband who never matched her faithfulness….

Is it sad that no matter how much I learn about Calli I feel nothing but hate for her??  I really didn’t care how crappy she was treated and I cannot sympathize with her character at all.  The story for Calli follows her through her marriage to Zeus, the birth of her children, and shows how she became the bitter witch that she is now.  It’s a good story but only because I get to see Henry for a bit.

3/5

~*~

The Lovestruck Goddess

Ava/Aphrodite was the goddess of love and yet commitment was a totally different deal….

The love that you want or the love that you need?  To me this is an easy choice. SIGH.  Ava’s story tells of her arranged marriage and gradual acceptance of it as well as her love affair with Ares.  I liked this one since most of the characters were happy by the end but I’m not a cheating book kind of gal.

3.5/5

~*~

Goddess of the Underworld

Persephone was urged to marry one man, yet longed for another….

Oh Persephone.  Here is the true definition of someone not knowing a good thing if it bit them on the butt.  Persephone has trouble after her own arranged marriage to Henry (Hades at the time) and coming to terms with living in the Underworld.  I completely get the suffocating feeling of the rocks but it’s hard to like her and root for her when she did so much to hurt Henry.  After reading this story I don’t feel she gave their marriage a fighting chance and it hurts that she flaunts the guys in front of him. 😦

3.75/5

~*~

God of Thieves

James/Hermes loved to make trouble for others-but never knew true loss before….

This is my second favorite of the short stories.  Something is causing the Gods to fade and Hermes (AKA James) tries to figure out what is happening.  Again, I don’t care for his character as he repeatedly steals people from Henry but at the same time I did feel a little sorry for him and I was a little angry with Henry/Hade’s revenge but not enough to hate him. 🙂

4/5

~*~

 God of Darkness

Henry/Hades’s solitary existence had grown too wearisome to continue. But meeting Kate Winters gave him a new hope….

Oh Henry, how I’ve missed you so!  Henry’s story follows his request to fade, the council requesting the testing for a new queen and his first meeting with Kate.  I absolutely loved this story and it just makes me love Henry all the more.  If you are reading this review I trust you have read the first two books so if not slight spoiler alert but it shocks me how cruel Calli really is to Henry when she says she “loves” him but killing all of these girls after everything he has been through?  If she truly loved him she wouldn’t try to sabotage his happiness even if that isn’t with her.

5/5

~*~

I can honestly say it still creeps me out with them all calling each other brother, sister, mother, father and still hooking up.  Overall I loved all the stories even though I hate some of these characters so much (other than Henry/Hades that is, shocking to say).  Through these stories you also find out where several of the Gods have gotten their “modern” names and why they chose them.  I can’t wait to find out what happens to Kate and Henry; I’m hoping love will prevail. 🙂

4/5

2 thoughts on “Goddess Legacy by Aimee Carter

  1. Candice July 5, 2012 at 11:10 am Reply

    I just finished this one the other day and was really hoping it would make me feel differently towards some of the characters… like maybe learning what they went through made them who they are today. Nope. They were just witches with a b to begin with! But then Henry’s story… oh, Henry how I love you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

