One Year Old!

IT’s our BLOG-I-VERSARY!!!!!!!!! 

Ok so anytime someone mentions an anniversary I hear this song in my head:

but that’s rather husband/wife like and this is a book blog not a marriage so how about a birthday song instead? 

Like many o’ blogs we are still up and coming but we’ve come a long way in the last year and hope to grow even more in the years to come.  We wanted to do an ARC giveaway but are so far behind on our reading that we can’t give up the ARCs we have right now (don’t worry I’m sure we will give them away soon enough or at least be willing to share them :P) That being said, we are still doing a giveaway.  🙂 

So when we started thinking what we could giveaway we thought, “why not stuff we are currently obsessed with?” So keeping that in mind, we decided to do not one, not two, but THREE giveaways.  Of course two of the three are already a done deal.  Not only do we want to thank everyone who follows us or even just stumbles upon us every now and then but we wanted to make sure the people we consider friends were rewarded as well. 

First up, our top commenter on the blog (I’ve checked our stats, it’s legit) Tee over @ YA Crush!!!  For being our book blogging soul sister, helping us get started, sharing books, and being one of our biggest supporters.  Hope you like these because I almost don’t want to send them to you:

 

As you all know we both have a bit of an obsession with owls (Harry Potter anyone?).  FYI, these are NOT salt and pepper shakers (DIXIE!), just cute owls to use as bookends but I had to do a close up so you didn’t see the craziness that is my kitchen. 🙂 

Second, our honorable mention.  Candice over @ The Grown Up YA is out second biggest commenter so why not include her?  If you haven’t checked out her blog she is a blogging ninja and is constantly posting something HILARIOUS.  I don’t know how she finds the time.  I hope you enjoy these: 

 

And finally.  To our free for all giveaway.   Who isn’t obsessed with the ridiculousness of the weather right now?  It’s so hot I wish I could just spend the rest of the summer living on the beach (Dixie: under an umbrella, of course, with Will Herondale fanning me…ahem…sorry, back to the giveaway). In honor of this thought we’ve got several items to get beach ready, a couple of books (The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and Attachments  by Rainbow Rowell) to be read while you are there, a notepad to keep notes for a possible review (or for phone numbers of half-naked hotties), and a bag to carry them all in!

 

Tote, Girls Scout cookie flavored chapstick, nail polish, mani/pedi essentials, notebook/pen

 

To enter to win it’s simple. Comment below with the answer to this question: What type of books do you prefer reading? YA or Contemporary Romance…I think we know the answer to that one, but let’s see what you guys think.  We will randomly pick a name next Friday (07/13) and send out an email to the winner.  US Residents only, GOOD LUCK and thanks for stopping by!!!!

13 thoughts on “One Year Old!

  1. Candice July 6, 2012 at 9:54 am Reply

    Girls…. first off… HAPPY FREAKIN BIRTHDAY!!!!!!! So happy/proud/impressed that you’ve made it a year and are still going strong. You both have excellent taste in books and it’s great to see a diversity on here and get exposure to not only YA books, but some adult books as well – especially those with half naked men on them (yummo!)!

    Also, thanks so much for the shout out and ninja comparison. It is quite a complement coming from you ladies! So happy to have found your blog and gotten to become bloggy friends with you! Lots of love and good wishes for a second year of blogging!!!!

    • Gone Pecan July 6, 2012 at 12:56 pm Reply

      thanks so much, candice! i love reading your thoughts on YA, too, because you make me laugh out loud. i’m glad i can entertain you with the shirtless goodies of contemporary romance, even if you don’t read it 😦
      love you! ~dixie

  2. Elizabeth July 6, 2012 at 9:57 am Reply

    Woohoo!! Congrats, ladies! I’ve really enjoyed all your recommendations and look forward to many more to come! (Dixie, thanks to you, I’m pretty sure I’ve got enough romance series to read for at least the next couple of years!)

    And then you have to go and ask the world’s hardest question for your giveaway. Umm, those are pretty much my two favorite genres (which might be why I like your blog) and I love them both equally. So, uhh, I am cheating by saying C. All of the Above.

    • Gone Pecan July 6, 2012 at 12:58 pm Reply

      cheater! i know, it’s hard to decide! especially in the blogging communitee, where you hear such praise everywhere you turn & you just have to read it all! good luck in the giveaway! and, if you do win, do you want a copy of attachments? cause I know you already read it…i can get you something else (and keep attachments all to myself)

      • Elizabeth July 6, 2012 at 1:31 pm

        Ok, the really long answer to the question is: I have loved contemporary romance for a very long time and it has always been and will always be an old stand-by for me. YA is something I’ve only started getting into in the last 6 months and I really enjoy most of what I’ve read. I think I am a sucker for a coming-of-age story. Gun to my head, though, the favorite is probably romance (you knew I’d say that, right?), but YA is a very close second.

        I read Attachments from the library, so I wouldn’t mind winning it. However, I know you have other goodies I’d like. So uhh, if I win (fingers crossed) you can surprise me because that would be sort of awesome/fun.

  3. Brittany July 6, 2012 at 12:15 pm Reply

    YAAAAY Happy Blogiversary!!! How exciting 🙂 🙂 🙂 Then this is the perfect opportunity to say what an awesome blog you guys have and I LOVE following you! You’ve got some excellent recommendations and you’re always so kind to reply back to me.

    Then the question for the giveaway (because who could pass that up?): Yep, it’s YA! I really didn’t get too far into YA until this year and I’m in love!

    Congrats again!!

    • Gone Pecan July 6, 2012 at 12:59 pm Reply

      thanks so much, brittany! i like to reply to everyone who posts. i mean, you’re starting a dialog, it’s like ignoring the person who is talking to you in real life. anywho, i knew you would pick YA! 🙂 ~dixie

      • Brittany July 6, 2012 at 1:15 pm

        Haha yep, that was an obvious one! 🙂 I keep going deeper into the YA rabbit hole!!

  4. Tee July 6, 2012 at 2:24 pm Reply

    Happy Birthday to my soul sisters!!!!! I love your blog and am so excited to play even the tiniest part in it what with my need to comment on it obsessively. More than anything, I appreciate you girls both so much, adore your taste in books (and everything) and am so grateful for this awesome friendship we have. Awwwww, hugs and fist pumps (because that’s a very YA thing to do) to you today. Oh, and YA is my favs genre. Did you know that? 🙂 Congratulations on your birthday!

  5. Lucy July 7, 2012 at 4:44 pm Reply

    Yay happy blogoversary!! It has been a treat seeing all the great posts, recommendations and reviews you’ve come up with over the past year. Keep having fun with your blog!
    YA is still #1 with me, but there sure are a lot of tempting contemp romances out there too. And I’ve heard good things about Attachments in particular.
    Congrats again 🙂

    • Gone Pecan July 12, 2012 at 4:10 pm Reply

      thanks for reading our little blog! we’re drawing tomorrow, good luck!

  6. throuthehaze July 11, 2012 at 3:21 pm Reply

    Happy Blogoversary! My answer to your question is…YA!
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    throuthehaze at gmail dot com

    • Gone Pecan July 12, 2012 at 4:10 pm Reply

      thanks for entering, we’ll be drawing tomorrow! good luck!

Leave a Reply

