TGIF # 38

Friday, July 6th – Comfort Reads: Which books do you go to for comfort & familiarity?  Is there a type of book you seek out when you’re needing that extra bit of comfort in your life?

 

Generally I read A LOT of fantasy/dystopian books.  If I need a break and want to read something that I know I will like regardless?  Give me a book a-la Stephanie Perkins.  I love the cute fluffy ones that give you hope that there are awesome people out there that will do almost anything for the one that they love.  (See youtube video of the lip dub proposal, he fits into this category, too.)

 ~*~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I agree with Maggie.  I need something light-hearted and fun, but something that has a very definite love story, where we know there will be kisses and I am certain of a happy ending.  And generally, this would all coalesce in a YA book, but sometimes, a good old-fashioned chick lit book will do the trick, like a couple I’ve read several times & have talked about here ad nauseum, Just One of the Guys by Kristan Higgins and The Cubicle Next Door by Siri Mitchell.  Neither of these are particularly without a little drama and darkness, but their love story is uplifiting and leaves me with a big ole’ smile on my face.

10 thoughts on “TGIF # 38

  1. Kelsey July 6, 2012 at 7:55 am Reply

    I love Stephanie Perkins, I have to read Lola still though, my library doesn’t carry it which sucks.

    • Gone Pecan July 6, 2012 at 8:26 am Reply

      used book stores! or amazon, you can probably find one really cheap. ~dixie

      • Kelsey July 6, 2012 at 8:58 am

        Ooh good idea!! Thanks 🙂

  2. Patricia BookExhibitionism July 6, 2012 at 8:49 am Reply

    I think I’m the complete opposite. XD Like.. I need dark, not so fluffly or cute novels, preferably written for an Adult audiance, in order to feel comforted. (That sounds so twisted. It’s not like I read Game of Thrones and laugh everytime someone gets killed!! XD)

    Anyway, happy reading!

    Patricia // My Hop

    • Gone Pecan July 6, 2012 at 9:02 am Reply

      Oh have you read the Black Dagger Brotherhood? ~Maggie

  3. Brittany July 6, 2012 at 10:03 am Reply

    I still haven’t read any Stephanie Perkins! Blah, I need to get on that!

    • Gone Pecan July 6, 2012 at 10:29 am Reply

      yes, you do. you’ll love them!

      • Tee July 6, 2012 at 2:26 pm

        OMG Brittany, you will love them! Esp Lola. Holy wowzers do I love Cricket Bell. And Stephanie Perkins is funny.

  4. I love books that are primarily romance when I’m in the mood for something comfortable to read. Swoon and romance and sexy-times are always things that put me in a good mood!

    • Gone Pecan July 6, 2012 at 5:59 pm Reply

      Being as that is ALL that I read, I concur! ~dixie

Leave a Reply

