Lundi Lagniappe #14

This is where we list and review the books we read that don’t get a full review on their own.  Lundi = Monday, Lagniappe = a little something extra. 

The False Prince by Jennifer A Nielsen (Ascendance Trilogy #1) – Quick read.  Very intriguing and I usually don’t care for books told from a male’s POV.  Definitely worth reading and an AWESOME ending!!!!!! 4.75/5

 

Birthmarked by Caragh O’Brien (Birthmarked #1) – Interesting dystopian but anything to do with taking babies hurts my heart.  The heroine was a bit whiney at times but I excited was to see where the story goes. 3.25/5

 

Tortured by Caragh O’Brien (Birthmarked # 1.5) – Oh Leon!!!   Takes place between Birthmarked and Prized in Leon’s POV.  3.75/5

~*~

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Striefvater — It never interested me, another fantasy novel that the whole blogosphere loves?  Eh.  But I was looking for an audiobook for a trip out of state and picked it up.  Loved it.  Strange and different, a very good story with interesting and likable protagonists.  Plus, the audio book narrators (one for Puck, one for Sean Kendrick, cause you have to say his whole name) spoke with British accents!  Score!  4.5/5

Changing the Game by Jaci Burton — Book 2 in the Play by Play series about professional athletes, this one follows Gavin Riley and his agent, Liz Darnell, who was fired as his brother’s agent for being such a righteous b*tch in the previous book, The Perfect Play. I was curious as to how the author would make Liz likeable, but she totally pulled it off.  Gavin was awesome.  I think this is my favorite cover EVER!  4/5

Taking A Shot by Jaci Burton — Book 3 in the Play by Play series, this book is about younger sister, Jenna and ice hockey stud, Ty.  Loved Ty chasing after Jenna and Jenna evading…for a little while at least.  3.5/5

6 thoughts on “Lundi Lagniappe #14

  1. Brittany July 9, 2012 at 7:32 am Reply

    The False Prince… ooh! I’m interested! Still interested in Birthmarked, but not overly anxious to read… And have heard so many good things about The Scorpio Races! Maybe I’ll have to get a copy!! 🙂

    • Gone Pecan July 9, 2012 at 7:42 pm Reply

      Definitely worth a shot. Sean Kendrick is yummo!

  2. Elizabeth July 9, 2012 at 10:17 am Reply

    I have been meaning to get to Birthmarked and The Scorpio Races eventually. I will have to remember audio on Scorpio Races. I like accents of any sort on audio… they make the characters more real to me!

  3. Candice July 9, 2012 at 11:14 am Reply

    I tried reading the False Prince, but didn’t make it past the first few pages before it was due at the library… I’ll need to check it out again! I loved the Scorpio Races! Glad you gave it a try Dixie and enjoyed it! Also, I feel like I’ve heard of the Play by Play series… regardless, yummo!

Leave a Reply

