Outlander Read Along Week 4: Chapters 22-28

Welcome to week 4, where this week’s Read-Along questions were asked by Ashley @ Into The Hall of Books

1.      How do you feel about Claire disobeying Jamie and the resulting punishment he brings forth on her for this? Do you feel that Jamie’s punishment was justified by the fact that everyone was put in danger by Claire’s actions? Finally, did Jamie’s vow with Claire’s dagger do anything to sway your thoughts or change your mind on how you initially feel/felt about his punishment? 

I do not care for the attitude back then of the men “owning” the woman and beating her to teach her a lesson.  That being said, Claire really ticked me off because she DID put everyone in danger for her selfish reasons.  At that point the punishment didn’t bother me as much as all the guys patting her butt in commiseration.  Really?  GET YOUR HANDS OFF.  I liked the vow but Claire trying to pull the threatening move in the first place should have gotten a smack in response. 

2. Just for fun, what was your reaction to the suspicious black spot Claire spotted on the floor near the area where Jamie was sleeping? Did you have any theories to what it might have been before it was revealed to be a _____? 

OMG.  How gross!!!  A few years ago I woke up and felt something crawling on me and when I turned the lights on?  A ROACH.  It was the most disturbing night of my life.  I completely understand her wanting to sleep on the floor after that horrible experience.  To be honest when she first mentioned the spot I was thinking that it might be her period.  I mean, she’s been there awhile and they haven’t really brought it up and I know she was trying for a baby with Frank before she time traveled.  A baby who she didn’t know who the father was would have been most upsetting.

3. With regard to the ‘changeling’ baby Claire and Geilie spotted in the wild – if it were you back then and you happened upon a changeling baby in the wild in a circumstance such as this, do you think you’d have reacted most like Claire or Geilie? Explain. 

Though I would have felt like Claire I would have  left it alone.  I’ve read enough about witch trials to know what a mob mentality is. . . I would definitely be afraid of being killed.  If I would have been brave enough to go back I wouldn’t have tried without a weapon and the knowing that I’d have to run immediately.  It’s not like she would have been able to walk back into the castle and be all “Look what I found!”

4. Share your thoughts on Geilie Duncan. Is there anything that surprised you about her story or were you suspicious of her from the beginning? 

Suspicious of her as a witch?  Yes.  As another time traveler?  No.  I do have to say I knew Jamie would come but really, Colum would just let that happened?  Or Dougal for that matter?  What kind of men are they?!  Another thing that bothered me was the time travel conversation.  Really?  If I was in her position the first thing out my mouth would have been to tell him about the set-up, get him to try and save Geilie and then go back and bitch slap Little Ms Lolita Leg O’ Hair.  Between her and the Mackenzie’s there should be some retribution going on.

5. Your thoughts on Jamie’s LAST REASON for wanting to marry Claire – the one he had been so secretive about. GO! 

What can I say other than he is adorable?  Every girl dreams of the guy that just wants her. . .nothing else.

~*~

1.      How do you feel about Claire disobeying Jamie and the resulting punishment he brings forth on her for this? Do you feel that Jamie’s punishment was justified by the fact that everyone was put in danger by Claire’s actions? Finally, did Jamie’s vow with Claire’s dagger do anything to sway your thoughts or change your mind on how you initially feel/felt about his punishment? 

What a thought provoking question, Ashley.  It’s kind of hard to answer as a modern woman and a feminist.  Claire’s actions were selfish, to be sure, but obviously, she had no intention of getting caught and subsequently rescued.  However, she was caught and did have to be rescued and because of that, the men were put in a dangerous position.  I think she was stupid to attempt a walk through woods and river alone in an unfamiliar place, I don’t care how close she was, but this is besides the point.  I understand Jamie’s point of view and reasoning and I can respect it.  I am against any sort of corporal punishment, in general, and the beating of a wife in particular, but I do feel he was justified.  It’s a slippery slope to justify a man’s beating of his wife for any particular purpose because just about anything could be justified, especially in this time period where a man’s wife was his property to do with as he pleased.  Having said that, this was a means to an end.  He treated her as any other person would have been treated, probably better than she would have been treated at the hands of anyone else.  She was punished, as any man would have been.  It just happened to be at the hands of her husband, which is unfortunate.  Now, do his actions with the dagger change my views?  Not really.  Because as he was doing this, vowing to never punish her in this way again, I don’t know that I truly believed him & if I were Claire, I would doubt it that much more, no matter how honorable I think Jamie may be.  And when I try to reason out my reaction to this, I have come to the conclusion that I doubt his being able to honor this promise because I don’t think Claire is done doing stupid and harmful things, at this point in the story.  I think she would do just about anything to get home and if she had the opportunity to do it again in the immediate future, would attempt it, despite the threat of punishment.  Now, this is all before the events of the next chapters, which swayed her to stay with Jamie. 

2. Just for fun, what was your reaction to the suspicious black spot Claire spotted on the floor near the area where Jamie was sleeping? Did you have any theories to what it might have been before it was revealed to be a _____? 

Just reading that question made me shudder.  I hate bugs of all kinds.  I just don’t even want to think about it. Blech.

3. With regard to the ‘changeling’ baby Claire and Geilie spotted in the wild – if it were you back then and you happened upon a changeling baby in the wild in a circumstance such as this, do you think you’d have reacted most like Claire or Geilie? Explain. 

I think I would have probably tried to save the child, like Claire because despite Geilie’s explanation, I would still be under the assumption that nothing bad could really come from it.  It’s just preposterous to imagine that someone would believe in such a thing, let alone to blame me for it. 

4. Share your thoughts on Geilie Duncan. Is there anything that surprised you about her story or were you suspicious of her from the beginning? 

I don’t think I was suspicious from the beginning, but I wasn’t entirely surprised.  But when I try to reason out why, I cannot pinpoint a particular instance that would make me think she was from the same time as Claire.  That was such an interesting revelation!  I would love to know more, but like poor Claire, probably never will. 

5. Your thoughts on Jamie’s LAST REASON for wanting to marry Claire – the one he had been so secretive about. GO! 

AWWW!  I really loved that scene, where Claire’s trying to hit him & he keeps telling her how he came to fall in love with her.  That’s a great relationship.  That shows friendship as well as love and that’s what we should all strive for.  Claire is very lucky to have found him. 

~*~

Thanks for reading along!

Our Schedule: 

July 9th – Questions for chapters 22-28 answered & questions announced for chapters 29-35 on Logan E. Turner

July 16th – Questions for chapters 29-35 answered & questions announced for chapters 36-41 on The Reading Housewives

July 23rd – Questions for chapters 36-41 answered on Gone with the Words. The end.

11 thoughts on “Outlander Read Along Week 4: Chapters 22-28

  1. Carrie from Stalking the Bookshelves July 9, 2012 at 11:25 am Reply

    The first question was a good one indeed. I have enjoyed reading everyone’s thoughts. I definitely feel in the minority on this one but that is ok. A good spankin never killed anyone. 😛

    As for the bug question – I blocked out that entire section of the book. Bwahaha

    Jamie is so swoon-worthy isn’t he? I love that he has a great sense of humor and doesn’t take himself to seriously. He reminds me of my husband in that regard.

    Thanks for the answers ladies!

    • Gone Pecan July 9, 2012 at 1:11 pm Reply

      he’s like, the perfect man, isn’t he? 🙂 ~d

  2. Lauren July 9, 2012 at 1:10 pm Reply

    Okay, I laughed OUTLOUD at your Little Ms Lolita Leg O’ Hair comment. SOOO FUNNY!! I actually liked that entire answer. I was also surprised by many peoples’ behavior in the witch trial part of the book!

    And I agree, Claire is lucky to have found Jamie. I love what you said about them having friendship AND love. Very important for a lasting relationship.

  3. Alyssa @ Books Take You Places July 9, 2012 at 6:45 pm Reply

    I hated when she tried to be all threatening to him. It actually annoyed me a lot and made me just rememeber that I can’t stand her. IT’S NOT ALL ABOUT YOU, CLAIRE!!! I also totalllyyyyy agree with you about LOLITA!! After all Claire has done to be stupid and all “ME, ME, ME!!” How is she not like I’m gonna go smack a hoe after this shit?!?

    Loved the scene with Jamie and Claire at the end. ::swoons::

    • Gone Pecan July 9, 2012 at 7:38 pm Reply

      Ha ha, smack a hoe…bring it! ~d

  4. bookgoonie July 9, 2012 at 8:07 pm Reply

    I think DG did a great job of putting us in Jamie’s head in the punishment scene. The enjoying…made a few of us mad, but when he shares his life experience we kind of get a 1700s perspective of the ordeal.

    Bugs give me the heeby-jeebies, especially related to bugs in my bed. I had a friend that suffered horribly at the reproductive mite of bed bugs. They got it from a hotel. Before they realized where the bites came from they did $5K in damage to beds, treatment & repainting.

    • Gone Pecan July 9, 2012 at 8:15 pm Reply

      I can see how he could “enjoy” it, because she’s fighting and so passionate about her side of the argument and he loves her inn part because of her intelligence and passion…still kinda squicky, though. But at least she got it on the butt. He didn’t slap her face or punch her. I think the punishmment was pretty effective ~dixie

  5. Tee July 9, 2012 at 10:45 pm Reply

    Jamie is TO DIE FOR!! At first I was so upset that he punished Claire, but when I really thought about it he was absolutely treating her in the same manner he would have treated anyone else in his clan. Still, I hated that part. I’d rather read sexytimes!

  6. Heidi July 14, 2012 at 7:09 pm Reply

    Lol, I’m pretty shocked that she hasn’t gone off about Miss Leg O’Hair either! I mean, they probably couldn’t have done much for Geillie (or could they have considering they break everyone else out of prisons?), but the fact that she hasn’t said one negative thing about that chick is totally unbelievable to me.

    • Gone Pecan July 15, 2012 at 1:10 pm Reply

      Yeah that’s one of my biggest problems with this book. I’m all about holding grudges. Lol ~m

Leave a Reply

