Top 10 Tuesday #38

Hosted by the ladies @ The Broke and The Bookish, this week’s question is a freebie, so Maggie & I decided to switch genres and give you our top ten books in the other’s favorite type:

Dixie’s Top 10 favorite YA Couples:

1. Ron/Hermione from The Harry Potter series by JK Rowling–Duh.

2. Clary/Jace from the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

3. Michael/Mia from The Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot

4. Jay/Violet from the Body Finder series by Kimberly Derting

5. Percy/Annabeth from the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan

6. Adam/Mia from the If I Stay series by Gayle Forman

7. Cricket/Lola from Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

8. Titus/Gretchen from Fly on the Wall by E. Lockhart

9.  Marcus/Jessica from The Jessica Darling series by Megan McCafferty

10.  Will/Tessa from the Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare

~*~

Maggie’s Top 10  8 favorite Romance books (I’m just a YA gal what can I say?)

  

1.  Manhunting by Jennifer Crusie – I’m sorry, what can I say??  It’s going to be on A LOT of my lists.

 

2.    Crazy for You by Jennifer Crusie – I LOVE her books and there is a certain scene involving Fleetwood Mac that I still find quite funny.

 

3. Welcome to Temptation by Jennifer Crusie – hmm, there might be a pattern here. . .this book if the reason I like Dusty Springfield now.

4.    Black Dagger Brotherhood Series by J.R. Ward – WOW.  I love this series and I love that each book seems to be bigger than the last because I CANNOT GET ENOUGH.  Then the next books is Qhuinn and Blay?!  AAHHH!

 

5.    Open Season by Linda Howard – I truly think this one if my favorite by Ms Howard.

 

6.    Mr. Perfect by Linda Howard – Between these two Howards they are hands down her best work to me.  I feel like the last few have just been fillers.

 

7.    Against the Rules by Linda Howard – This is an older book, came out right after I was born.  Again I recall a specific scene when the lead breaks down.  ACK.  Makes me hurt just thinking about it.  (I actually own this one if someone really wants to read it since I’m sure it would be hard to find.)  [from Dixie: I had to put this cover, it’s pure 80s awesomeness…check out the cleavage!]

 

8.    Outlander by Diana Gabaldon – We are currently participating in a read-along with this one and I’m not going to lie to you. . .I already finished the book.  Overall I really enjoyed it and I can’t wait to read the rest of the series.

13 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #38

  1. Tee July 10, 2012 at 11:17 am Reply

    @ Dixie, so clearly I need to read Fly on the Wall since I’ve read and loved every other book/couple on your list. Obviously. And Maggie, you finished Outlander! Holy cow, that last scene in the water? I almost died. I needed a ciggy and I don’t even smoke. Those two kill me!

    • Gone Pecan July 10, 2012 at 1:18 pm Reply

      compiling this list, i thought, i really want to reread fly on the wall & so i ordered it! it’s a great book.
      and now i’m thinking of completing outlander, too. there’s not much left, maybe a couple hundred pages
      ~dixie

  2. Brittany July 10, 2012 at 12:01 pm Reply

    Ooh I’m glad to hear good things about Outlander! I wasn’t sure at first so I didn’t participate in the read-along. Whoops 😦 I’m missing out!
    I only finished the first book of the Mortal Instruments so I really hope there’s more to the story of Clary/Jace than where they left it in the first book! 😛
    Love your lists 🙂

    • Gone Pecan July 10, 2012 at 1:19 pm Reply

      absolutely, there’s more to the story! there are four more books out, but i think for this couple, the best is city of glass. you should definitely read outlander. it’s daunting because of the length, but it’s great. ~dixie

      • Brittany July 10, 2012 at 1:53 pm

        Great! Thanks for the feedback! I look forward to reading them 🙂

  3. Candice July 10, 2012 at 2:22 pm Reply

    Love the switch-up ladies! Definitely enjoying seeing what couples you liked in genres that aren’t your usual reading preferences – whoa did that make sense? I feel like Manhunting is sitting on my bookshelf, but I have NO recollection of reading it! Or maybe it’s just a book that looks vaguely like it… haha! I’m in the middle of reading a book by e. lockhart and am LOVING it! I’ll have to check out Fly On The Wall soon!

    • Gone Pecan July 10, 2012 at 3:35 pm Reply

      Fly on the Wall is a cute book & it’s really short. those are great things to recommend it. ~dixie

  4. April C (@booksandwine) July 10, 2012 at 3:31 pm Reply

    OH MY GOSHHHHHHH! Yes. I love Manhunting and Marcus Flutie and Outlander and Cricket.

    Can I for reals just hug your list. It’s full of variety and awesome and I LOVE IT.

    • Gone Pecan July 10, 2012 at 3:37 pm Reply

      i’d like to revisit marcus flutie again, too. he’s kinda like Noel in the Ruby Oliver series in that, initially, he wasn’t the best person, but they grow & change for the heroine…maybe we can do a read along for that series cause of the awesome? putting it on my to-do list. ~d

  5. EvilEva July 10, 2012 at 5:04 pm Reply

    dixie, LOVE your list! i was always rooting for Ron and Hermione too. i always liked their coupling better than Harry and Ginny’s. And, well, Michael and Mia, Cricket and Lola, they totally go without saying. 🙂
    maggie, i’m a big fan of Jennifer Crusie too! Crazy For You is one of my absolute favorite chick-lit books EVER! Nick is just too, too hot. 😉

    • Gone Pecan July 10, 2012 at 5:41 pm Reply

      R/Hr are my OTP. I too always liked them better than H/G, as you can tell, they didn’t even make the list. My next favorite pair in HP would probably be Tonks/Lupin, and followed by Voldemort/Nagini. ~d

  6. Yare July 10, 2012 at 11:13 pm Reply

    I love the couples list! Most of them I agree on. 😀
    my TTT: http://booknookgirl.blogspot.com/2012/07/top-ten-tuesday-endings.html

  7. aimee July 11, 2012 at 9:50 am Reply

    I love Ron/Hermione, Jace/Clary, Mia/Michael, Adam/Mia, Cricket/Lola, and Jessica/Marcus too. I haven’t read any of the other books, but I’m looking forward to getting to know some more awesome YA ships!

    I recently read some Jennifer Crusie novels, and I was surprised by how much I enjoyed them. They’re just really fluffy and romantic – perfect for the summer!

    Aimee // My list: Top Ten Ships That Broke My Heart (just a little)

Leave a Reply

