TGIF #39

Quotes That Make You Swoon: What are some of the most swoon-worthy quotes you’ve experienced in a book?

I love romance books. Even books that aren’t classified as romances but have kissing in them, I like them. Funnily enough, I’m not a big fan of Grand Romantic Gestures in real life (I get embarrassed easily), so maybe that’s why I like to live vicariously through romance books. Eh, just another topic for a therapist.

P. S.  There be spoilers, matey.  Argh.

~*~

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green:

“I’m in love with you,” he said quietly.

“Augustus,” I said.

“I am,” he said. He was staring at me, and I could see the corners of his eyes crinkling. “I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.” (Augustus to Hazel)

~*~

Just One of the Guys by Kristan Higgins:

“Where’s your fiancé?” Trevor asks casually. I stiffen slightly, and Trevor steps back a little. “Well,” I breathe. “Um, we sort of broke up.”

Trevor’s eyes widen a fraction, an eyebrow raising in surprise. He stops dancing, but none of the other couples seem to notice, too caught up in being in love.

“Why?” Trevor whispers, still holding my hand, his arm still around me.

My hearts thumps harder, slower, each beat waiting for my answer as I stare into Trevor’s eyes. I open my mouth to give some answer, some casual it-didn’t-work-out kind of thing. But instead, I hear myself say something else entirely.

“Because he wasn’t you.”

and

“I’ve loved you my whole life, Chas, from that first day you took me home after Michelle died. And I’m terrified you’ll leave me or you’ll stop loving me or even worse, something will happen to you. But I can’t be without you anymore.” He takes my hands, which are shaking wildly, and swallows.

“Today I watched Mike give away the woman he loves. I can’t do that, Chas. I thought I could, I thought it would be better if you were with someone else, but I was wrong. And I swear to you, I will love you the rest of my life and nothing will ever come before you. Please, Chastity. Forgive me and marry me and have a bunch of babies with me, and I’ll-”

(Can you see why I love this book so much, my eyes are tearing up just reading this part)

~*~

Anne of the Island (Anne of Green Gables # 3) by L. M. Montgomery:

“I have a dream,” he said slowly. “I persist in dreaming it, although it has often seemed to me that it could never come true. I dream of a home with a hearth-fire in it, a cat and dog, the footsteps of friends — and YOU!” (Gilbert to Anne)

~*~
 
 

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare:

“There is no pretending,” Jace said with absolute clarity. “I love you, and I will love you until I die, and if there is life after that, I’ll love you then.” (Jace to Clary)

 
~*~
 
 

Where She Wentby Gayle Forman:

“I look at her there in the shadows of the shut-down city, her hair falling onto her face, and I can see her trying to figure out if I’ve lost it. And I have to fight the urge to take her by the shoulders and slam her against a shuttered building until we feel the vibrations ringing through both of us. Because I suddenly want to hear her bones rattle. I want to feel the softness of her flesh give, to hear her gasp as my hip bone jams into her. I want to yank her head back until her neck is exposed. I want to rip my hands through her hair until her breath is labored. I want to make her cry and then lick up the tears. And then I want to take my mouth to hers, to devour her alive, to transmit all the things she can’t understand.”(Adam)

~*~
 

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell:

“I pictured a girl who made every moment, everything she touched, and everyone around her feel lighter and sweeter.
“I pictured you,” he said. “I just didn’t know what you looked like.
“And then, when I did know what you looked like, you looked like the girl who was all those things. You looked like the girl I loved.”

~*~

The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting:

“He reached out, capturing her hand in his. He laced his fingers casually through hers. Violet leaned against him and the calm finally came, settling over her peacefully. And then he kissed her. Gently. Softly. Not on the lips, as she’d imagined so many times before, but on her forehead. The gesture was sweet and a little possessive. Violet hoped, maybe, it was a start.”

Geez, apparently, I could go on forever, but I’ll stop here:

The Cubicle Next Door by Siri Mitchell:

I took the popcorn container from him, hunched over, and shifted down three seats. He followed me. I shifted down two more. He did the same. “If you don’t stop talking I’m going to stand up-right now-and scream.”

“You wouldn’t.”

“Oh yes, I would.”

“If you stand up, then I’m going to stand up-right now-and kiss you.”

“You wouldn’t.”

“Oh yes, I would.”

He was serious. I plunged my hand to the bottom of the popcorn container. There was nothing there but a few kernels Joe had left behind. I grabbed them and shoved them into my mouth. Started crunching. He didn’t say another word. Not for a long time. Not until one of the more elaborate song-and-dance sequences at the end. Then he leaned over and looked me straight in the eye. “If they sing one more song…”

The images from the movie screen cast kaleidoscope shadows on his face. His eyes were sweeping back and forth across my face.

“Aren’t you going to stand up and scream?”

My scalp began to tingle. My mouth had suddenly gone dry. “Why?”

“I talk. You scream. We kiss. That was the deal.” He stretched his arm across the backs of our seats. “You’re not going to back out on me now, are you?”

14 thoughts on “TGIF #39

  1. Alexa Loves Books (@alexalovesbooks) July 13, 2012 at 10:21 am Reply

    I love your picks, especially the Anne of the Island quote. I’m a big fan of the series and this quote reminded me of one of the reasons why I love it so much!

  2. Kt July 13, 2012 at 10:49 am Reply

    I picked Jace’s quote as well. 🙂

    • Gone Pecan July 13, 2012 at 11:00 am Reply

      that’s because you obviously have awesome taste.

  3. Tee July 13, 2012 at 11:37 am Reply

    How hilarious is it that we have the same Body Finder quote? Also, that one withe Jace kills me. I love it so much. When I was reading The Fault in Our Stars I read that same quote to my husband and was all sighing and swoony and he was all, “Um, okay.” Boys don’t get it! And OMG don’t even get me started on Adam. I have so many dog-eared pages i those books! Awesome list. 🙂

    • Gone Pecan July 13, 2012 at 12:24 pm Reply

      ugh, adam. i can’t even…he’s just so…ugh.

  4. Brittany July 13, 2012 at 1:24 pm Reply

    I loove Adam!! And I can’t wait to read City of Glass & The Body Finder!!

  5. Lauren @ Story Bound July 13, 2012 at 10:58 pm Reply

    Love the City of Glass quote! That was a good one! And of course, The Body Finder one is great!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  6. bookgoonie July 14, 2012 at 8:58 am Reply

    If only Jace, Augustus & Jay could be the norm for teen boys, I might not have to worry so much about my girl. 😉

    Great quotes.

    • Dixie July 17, 2012 at 4:05 pm Reply

      i know what you mean. i hope my boys grow up to be like them. 🙂

  7. WHooooweeeee these are some great quotes. I LOVE me some Gus. And I literally want to read every one of these other books now. Such a good list!

  8. Sandie @Teen Lit Rocks July 16, 2012 at 11:29 pm Reply

    Ooh! That should have come with a warning poster. I’m all misty eyed. Gilbert! Augustus! Jace! Jay! Such great swoon-worthy guys you included. I don’t read much grown-up romance (see how I didn’t write “adult,” because that would be a whole other genre), but those others sound really cute!

    • Gone Pecan July 17, 2012 at 8:33 am Reply

      they are very cute, and there’s no blatant hanky panky in either (one’s a christian writer & the other doesn’t do brown chicken brown cow at all in her books)…you should totally read them. they’re two of my favorite books!

Leave a Reply

