Outlander Read Along Week 4: Ch. 29-35

This weeks discussion questions were provided by Logan E. Turner.  Head over to The Reading Housewives of Indiana for all the links and the questions for next week.

1. We are now settled into life at Lallybroch. What are your impressions of this place, and Ian and Jenny Murray? How do the stories of Jamie’s life here growing up shape your feelings toward him?

 I love Jenny and Ian for the most part but it would be nice if Jenny and Jamie could do more than yell at each other.  I hate that they both just assumed something about EVERYTHING and just argued about it all.  As for Lallybroch itself I wish they could have stayed and had a peaceful life, but alas that would not make for an adventurous series would it?  I liked the stories but man I just wish everyone in this book could just catch a break.  

2.  What do you think of the story of what really happened between Jenny and Jack Randall? Could you have been as bold as Jenny? Does this change your understanding of Randall?

I would hope to be that brave because God knows I wouldn’t go down without a serious fight.  I’ve always said if someone wants to hurts me they better knock me unconscious because otherwise they will be when I’m done.  There is a lot with Randall that is just creepy, gross, disturbed, really just pick.  I don’t understand Randall or his actions he must have had a VERY disturbing childhood.

3.  For the second time, we see Claire warning a Fraser about future events. Do you think this is wise? Or does this mess with history/the space-time continuum/the natural order of things?

I say who cares?  Change history!!!  If there is a chance to make things better why not?  Of course this is me in my safe little bubble of non-time-travel.  I realize changing certain things could cause problems, like certain people not being born etc.  Hmm. . . I say take a chance if it is for the better.

4.  Do you consider Claire brave or foolish for going after Jamie? Would you be courageous enough to go into enemy territory to try and save the man you love?

Both.  I would have gone after him, too, but to be completely unprepared is where she was foolish.  What does she think is going to get him out?  Her wit?  I’m not in love right now but I would like to think that love truly does conquer all wouldn’t you??  If I loved someone that much I would rather die fighting to get them back than to live alone (with the only exception to this rule being that if I had children, because I wouldn’t leave them alone. 😦 )

5.  Jamie makes a gut-wrenching decision in Chapter 35. Do you blame Claire for putting him in that position? What kinds of repercussions do you expect?

OMG.  It hurts to even think about what goes on (I’m admitting freely I read the rest of the book.)   I hate stuff like this . . .I can’t say what I expect since I know exactly what happens but I’m angry and very sad.  I don’t blame Claire though, she really did try to do right.  

~*~

1.  We are now settled into life at Lallybroch. What are your impressions of this place, and Ian and Jenny Murray? How do the stories of Jamie’s life here growing up shape your feelings toward him?

 I loved Jenny & Ian.  I liked how easily Jamie took to being the laird.  I loved the interactions between the siblings and between Jenny & Ian, a very loving family.  I hope we see more of them.  Honestly, I love Jamie so I don’t think anything can make me love him more, but it does help to cement my feelings for him.

 2.  What do you think of the story of what really happened between Jenny and Jack Randall? Could you have been as bold as Jenny? Does this change your understanding of Randall?

I don’t know if I would be as bold as Jenny but I can understand her inclination toward making fun of him:  he was going to try to do his best to hurt her, including rape and possibly murder, so her reaction was her only defense.  I say, go Jenny!  With your bad self. 🙂

3.  For the second time, we see Claire warning a Fraser about future events. Do you think this is wise? Or does this mess with history/the space-time continuum/the natural order of things?

I don’t think her telling Jenny to plant more potatoes and to sell a little bit of land really makes all that much difference in the grand scheme of things.  Claire’s being there at all has changed the course of history, and there really is not anything she can do about it because she has to survive, as she does not at this point think that she will ever return to her own time period.  Lallybroch is where she thinks she’ll grow old, eventually, so this is her way of surviving what she knows is coming.

 4. Do you consider Claire brave or foolish for going after Jamie? Would you be courageous enough to go into enemy territory to try and save the man you love?

I think it’s incredibly brave and maybe a little bit foolish, but at this point, what choice does she have?  Her being brave and foolish before has saved his life, it’s just another day.  At first, I thought, no, I don’t think I could go into a prison to help save the love of my life, but then, I don’t think I could live with myself if I didn’t at least try to find a way to save him.  And it would be much easier to do in that time period than it would be now, so I would definitely give it a shot.

 5.  Jamie makes a gut-wrenching decision in Chapter 35. Do you blame Claire for putting him in that position? What kinds of repercussions do you expect?

 I do not blame Claire, and I don’t think Jamie does either.  From the looks of things, if she had not shown up he would have been in the same position, so to speak.  Claire showing up actually helped, in the long run, because she knew where he was and they came up with a plan to free him & ended up killing ole’ Strange Inclinations Randall.  I don’t know what kind of repercussions to expect, but just because you asked that question, I am now expecting SOMETHING.  Like poor Jamie & Claire haven’t been through enough.  How many times would Jamie have died already had it not been for her?

~*~

Our Schedule: 

July 16th – Questions for chapters 29-35 answered & questions announced for chapters 36-41 on The Reading Housewives

July 23rd – Questions for chapters 36-41 answered on Gone with the Words. The end.

5 thoughts on “Outlander Read Along Week 4: Ch. 29-35

  1. Sarah (The Brazen Bookworm) July 16, 2012 at 10:21 am Reply

    Maggie ~ Yes, the yelling between Jamie and Jenny does get a bit tiresome! And, yeah, it’d be a lot easier for everyone involved if they could all just stay at Lallybroch and live happily ever after frolicking in the heather. Sadly, given that Claire and Jamie are magnets for trouble, we’re not so lucky!

    Dixie ~ Good point about Claire’s assumption that they’ll end up at Lallybroch again in the future and to try to ensure the estate’s and its residents’ survival. I never thought about it that way…I do really like that scene, though, and how much Jenny and Claire reveal about themselves in that brief interaction.

  2. Lauren July 16, 2012 at 1:46 pm Reply

    M – DG doesn’t give her characters many breaks, does she? It’s always one thing after another. I’m also glad you said you’d have shared future knowledge if you had it. I think I’d have a hard time holding back as well. And I finished the book too, and am still in a bit of emotional pain over everything…

    D – I loved watching Jenny and Jamie interact as well. I thought the fight was so funny, because it showed how exactly alike they are. And Ian was pretty awesome too. Also, I liked what you said about the time travel. Every minute that Claire is in the past making decisions, could potentially change the future, so telling Jenny about potatoes can’t be much worse in the long run.

  3. Kristilyn (@ReadingInWinter) July 16, 2012 at 4:40 pm Reply

    I like that thinking … just change history! Sure will make for an exciting series! 🙂

    I also don’t think that telling Jenny to plant potatoes is really going to change the future — I do think that acting like a witch and telling Captain Randall about the future might have some consequences, though. I’m eager to see how it plays out!

    Claire really didn’t have a choice when it came to saving Jamie. I mean, if it were this day and age, we’d do anything we can to help a love one. Back then, this is everything and anything!

    Great answers!

  4. bookgoonie July 16, 2012 at 5:50 pm Reply

    Dixie–I don’t think a few potatoes and things to survive would drastically change anything unless they led a successful rebellion.

    Maggie–I know. I finished it too. It totally breaks my heart.

  5. Heidi July 21, 2012 at 1:33 pm Reply

    I really like the thought that because Claire isn’t planning to return to the future, Lallybroch is a place she can see herself growing old, and look to it as home. This makes it very justifiable in my mind that she attempts to secure their health and survival. I’m also always of the mind that we don’t really know she wasn’t there to say these things the first time round, so it’s quite possible she’s not changing anything at all.

Leave a Reply

