Lundi Lagniappe #15

This is where we list and review the books we read that don’t get a full review on their own.  Lundi = Monday, Lagniappe = a little something extra. 

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (Chaos Walking #1) –I didn’t know much about this one since I stay away from reading complete reviews until I can read the book.  WOW.  I didn’t even really know what was going on till I was over halfway through the book and then Manchee?!  4.5/5

 

The Scorch Trials by James Dashner (Maze Runner #2) – I listened to this one and it took me forever to get through it.  It’s not the story itself, it’s the narrator.  Why can’t these guys get a break??  I will be getting the hardback version for the third book. 3.5/5

The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder – I know I sound like a cliché but I laughed, I cried.  GREAT BOOK. 5/5

~*~

You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me by Sarra Manning —   A formerly obese woman decides she needs relationship experience before she can start dating the love of her life, who’s been gone for three years and has no idea that 1) she’s in love with him; and 2) that she’s lost all this weight.  Enter Max, a legendary lothario.  GOD, I LOVED THIS BOOK, and I just found myself a new favorite author.  5/5

Nine Uses for an Ex-Boyfriend by Sarra Manning — A woman stumbles upon her boyfriend of 13 years and her best friend making out, and from the looks of it, it’s not for the first time.  It’s a very well written book, smart, funny, but emotionally draining because you’d think it would make for an easy solution, break-up.  But in life, there are no easy solutions.  I really liked it , despite the fact that it’s a cheating book.  4/5

 

Fat Chance by Deborah Blumenthal — Another story about a woman who loses weight for a man.  A anti-dieting guru secretly begins to lose weight because she’s going to become a consultant for a hot Hollywood actor. I loved it.  It was funny and poignant.  3.5/5

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen — Finally!  I finished my second Jane Austen book!  It was good, a little different than the movie, which I’ve seen dozens of times, but it was NO Pride and Prejudice.  I liked it, though. Listened to the audio, and the British accents definitely helped. 3.5/5

Epic Fail by Claire LeZebnik — Update of Pride and Prejudice, this one takes place in a high school and Darcy is the son of Hollywood Royalty.  I loved Derek and Elise, as well as the other characters.  Well written and a great update.  4/5

12 thoughts on “Lundi Lagniappe #15

  1. Brittany July 23, 2012 at 11:56 am Reply

    Oh, I read Fat Chance!! It was cute. I totally forgot I read it lol.
    I loved The Scorch Trials! I actually haven’t read/listened to any audiobooks. I feel like narrators could easily ruin a book for me and I’ve been so scared to really try them!
    What is this Probability of Miracles!? I need to see.

    • Gone Pecan July 23, 2012 at 2:45 pm Reply

      Prob of Miracles is something like A Fault in Our Stars. ~m

  2. Lucy July 23, 2012 at 1:00 pm Reply

    I adored Probability of Miracles – glad you did too. The Sarra Manning books look awesome too, as does Epic Fail. Fun mini reviews!

  3. Tee July 23, 2012 at 2:31 pm Reply

    OMG Manchee!!!! Love that book (as you well know).

  4. Candice July 24, 2012 at 9:34 am Reply

    You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me sounds totally cute! I really think I may need to read that one! I started Sense and Sensibility the other weekend… have not picked it up since. I really want to read it though. That’s my goal book for this summer! Good thing Alabama summers last until October! 🙂

    Oh, and yeah… Tee is right. Manchee! OMG my heart hurts just thinking of that!

    • Gone Pecan July 24, 2012 at 10:15 am Reply

      I had to order You don’t have to… on Amazon from England! totally worth it. Maggie wants to read it, but we can send it to you after 😉 Sense & Sensibility, if it wasn’t on audio, I probably couldn’t have gotten through it. Seriously, I think the movie is much better.

      • Candice July 24, 2012 at 11:04 am

        Ooh, yes! I’d love to read when you both finish! 🙂 I’ll have to find some book goodies to send your way in return!

      • Gone Pecan July 24, 2012 at 11:22 am

        Speaking on England…. D I’m going to order the other Rainbow Rowell in the next couple of weeks. 🙂 ~Maggie

      • Gone Pecan July 24, 2012 at 11:24 am

        yippee!!

      • Gone Pecan July 24, 2012 at 11:25 am

        oh, candice, BTW, it’s brown chicken, brown cow. i was totally surprised & not expecting it, but it was there. just FYI. ~d

Leave a Reply

