Outlander Read Along, Week 5: Ch. 36-41

Questions for the end of the Outlander read-a-long…chapters 35-41. Questions provided by Jac @ The Reading Housewives of Indiana and is hosted by Jess @ Gone With the Words.

1.  Jaime has the worst case of seasickness. Do you get seasickness or motion sickness? If not, is there something else that makes your stomach a bit queasy?

YES!!!  I get motion sickness in the car if I’m not driving or at least sitting in the front.  I can make due for small trips but long ones?  You better be looking to give me shotgun!

2. How did you handle reading the details of Jamie’s torture at the hands of Randall? Did you blame Jamie for anything that happened during the encounter with the captain? If you were Claire, how do you think you would have taken hearing about the abuse from your husband? What did you think of Claire’s method’s to get Jamie to start healing psychologically from his wounds from Randall (when she filled his room with opium and simulated another attack by the Captain)?

It hurt me, A LOT.  Jamie doesn’t deserve any of that though I’m shocked he opened up enough to even talk about it.  I don’t blame him but I think he shouldn’t have just be compliant.  I know there is only so much you can take but it hurts me the most when he gives up.  I’m very proud of Claire sticking by him and trying everything she could to talk to him and make him understand she still wants to be with him.   The whole simulated attack was a bit strange to me but everyone heals in their own way.

3. This cover:

“history, warfare, medicine, sex, violence, spirituality, honor, betrayal, vengeance, hope and despair, relationships, the building and destruction of families and societies, time travel, moral ambiguity, swords, herbs, horses, gambling (with cards, dice, and lives), voyages of daring, journeys of both body and soul…you know the usual stuff of literature.”

Which of the above elements of Outlander were you most looking forward to? Which did you enjoy the most while reading? Which did you enjoy the least while reading? Which did you just not care about? Any of these do you which there were more of? Or less of?

I honestly didn’t know much about the series other than the bit about time travel and I didn’t even read any reviews or blurbs on the book.  I trust other bloggers opinion enough to at least try without digging around too much.  Reading it now thought I think it all fits well though I would have to say I enjoyed Jamie and Claire’s talks the most.

4.  Share with us your overall thoughts on Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. Your favorite quotes, scenes, and/or your favorite words that had you searching for a dictionary. If you haven’t been marking your favorite quotes/passages, you can find Outlander quotes on Goodreads.

I don’t have any favorites quotes that really stuck out but I’m glad that I participated in the read-along.  This was a great book even though the leads didn’t get much room to relax and have a life and I look forward to more read-alongs as well as reading the rest of this series.

5.   Are you going to continue with the series or are you done after Outlander? For those of us who are new readers of this series, any predictions? Do you think participating in the read-along helped or hindered your experience with the story? For those of you who’ve already read Outlander and books beyond, how much did you enjoy (or not enjoy) this re-read?

I am absolutely going to continue with the series but not quite yet.  Due to the size and my slight net galley back up I have to take a break but I already have Book 2 on my nook.  I have so many theories rolling around in my head right now about what could happen so only time will tell there. . . but participating in the read-along was very helpful.  There were times I wanted to keep reading but giving yourself a stopping point and sticking to it was great.  You get to take a break and discuss what you have read which is nice since I’ve never belonged to any form of a book club.  Also I think it helped me to get back into an adult series.  I’ve gotten so addicted to YA I barely read any adult series.

*Bonus #1* Take the Outlander QUIZ on Goodreads and tell us how you did!*

91%, I missed one but I challenge the results.  UGH.  😛

~*~

1.  Jaime has the worst case of seasickness. Do you get seasickness or motion sickness? If not, is there something else that makes your stomach a bit queasy.

I do not get seasick or motion sickness, but there are exceptions.  Once I do remember getting sick in a car, but I was riding sideways, stretched out along the seat and reading.  The only other time I remember getting sick (I mean, really sick, it was verra bad) was when I went to see “Cloverdale” at the movies with my husband.  It was shot with a hand held camera and I thought I was dying.  I didn’t even realize the problem until after the fact.  The pain and nausea didn’t go away until I had taken a nap. 

2. How did you handle reading the details of Jamie’s torture at the hands of Randall? Did you blame Jamie for anything that happened during the encounter with the captain? If you were Claire, how do you think you would have taken hearing about the abuse from your husband? What did you think of Claire’s method’s to get Jamie to start healing psychologically from his wounds from Randall (when she filled his room with opium and simulated another attack by the Captain)?

I actually cried during that confession.  It was horrifying.  About her methods, I don’t have a problem with them because they worked, but I don’t know how she got the idea.  It never would have occurred to me to resort to something so drastic. 

3. This cover:

“history, warfare, medicine, sex, violence, spirituality, honor, betrayal, vengeance, hope and despair, relationships, the building and destruction of families and societies, time travel, moral ambiguity, swords, herbs, horses, gambling (with cards, dice, and lives), voyages of daring, journeys of both body and soul…you know the usual stuff of literature.”

Which of the above elements of Outlander were you most looking forward to? Which did you enjoy the most while reading? Which did you enjoy the least while reading? Which did you just not care about? Any of these do you which there were more of? Or less of?

The love story was what I was most excited to read about, and it did not disappoint.  I least liked all of the different times that Jamie and/or Claire’s lives were at risk.  It was just one thing after another!  Of course, I would like there to have been less of Randall (and I am sure Jamie would have, as well), but I wish there was some way of knowing (maybe in future books?) how Claire’s actions ultimately changed the future of her past (did you understand that?). 

4.  Share with us your overall thoughts on Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. Your favorite quotes, scenes, and/or your favorite words that had you searching for a dictionary. If you haven’t been marking your favorite quotes/passages, you can find Outlander quotes on Goodreads. 

For some reason, the last few chapters had quite a few words in them that made me think, “She’s totally making up words now.”  But I was far too lazy to reach for a dictionary.  As for the quote I liked, I don’t need to resort to Goodreads for these, as I’ve marked them as I was reading them. 

  • “Where did you learn to kiss like that?” I said, a little breathless. He grinned and pulled me close again.“I said I was a virgin, not a monk,” he said, kissing me again. “If I find I need guidance, I’ll ask.”

 
  • “Oh, aye, Sassenach. I am your master . . . and you’re mine. Seems I canna possess your soul without losing my own.”
 
  • “And I mean to hear ye groan like that again. And to moan and sob, even though you dinna wish to, for ye canna help it. I mean to make you sigh as though your heart would break, and scream with the wanting, and at last to cry out in my arms, and I shall know that I’ve served ye well.”
 

5.  Are you going to continue with the series or are you done after Outlander? For those of us who are new readers of this series, any predictions? Do you think participating in the read-along helped or hindered your experience with the story? For those of you who’ve already read Outlander and books beyond, how much did you enjoy (or not enjoy) this re-read?

I do want to continue with the series, although there are so many of them and I do have committments to books that I need to review, so I probably won’t be able to do them back to back to back like I would otherwise do.  I think the read-along probably hindered my experience a little because I would have read straight through and been done much quicker, but when it was time to get my chapters done, I was usually in the middle of another book and it was sometimes hard to remember what was going on at that particular time.  But I am glad I participated and I did love the book.  As for predictions, I do not know other than what I’ve read as the blurbs for the other books. I probably shouldn’t have if I continue to read the series, but I had to know. 🙂

*Bonus #1* Take the Outlander QUIZ on Goodreads and tell us how you did!*

14/15, but honestly, I guessed on a couple.  What can I say, I’m good at tests 🙂

*Bonus #2* Claire is able to visit the library at The Abbey. Share with us pictures or a description of your own personal drawing of your dream library. Feel free to share more than one. Some of you may even have a Pinterest board full of inspiration, please share!

Thanks to Pinterest for this ideal setting, but something with a door would definitely be preferable 🙂 :

or:

~*~

I’d like to thank Jess for the invitation to participate in this read-along.  I truly enjoyed the experience and the book.  We’ve met some lovely girls and it was fun to discuss the various aspects of the book and differing points of view. 

12 thoughts on “Outlander Read Along, Week 5: Ch. 36-41

  1. Asheley Tart (@BookwormAsheley) July 23, 2012 at 9:27 am Reply

    Maggie! This is a great point! “…the leads didn’t get much room to relax and have a life…” – If they did, it wouldn’t have made for quite as exciting a book, but they really didn’t get to live the first year of their marriage in peace, did they? I didn’t think about that at all. Excellent point. Thank you so much for participating!

    Dixie: It’s funny you mention reading series straight-thru. I think most people probably do that, but I very rarely do it that way. I can think of maybe two series that I’ve done that, and I didn’t do it with each book in the series, only maybe two or three of the books. (Iron Fey and Chaos Walking) Otherwise, I NEVER read back-to-back in a series. Why? I have no idea. It’s just a weird quirk of mine and I cannot make myself do it! If I try, I can’t get comfortable, I can’t get situated, I read and reread the opening paragraphs. I just can’t do it. So I have to separate the books. I’m a WEIRDO. I will go on with the next book, but it’ll be a while before I do! Besides, I’m so happy the book ended well, I want to just kind of sit on that for awhile. Thank you so much for participating with us!

    You gals are hilarious. Love it. Such a great addition to this readalong!

    • Gone Pecan July 23, 2012 at 3:39 pm Reply

      you see, i am completely different. i become obsessed and cannot read anything until i know how it all turned out. 🙂 thanks for stopping by! ~d

  2. Alyssa July 23, 2012 at 3:23 pm Reply

    I REALLY enjoyed how the read-along was like our own virtual book club. I don’t belong to one either and the one at my library chooses books I don’t want to read :] we might have to continue on with a new book!!

    I would have definitely viewed this book differently (and quicker) had I read it alone, I was a lot more critical than I would have been and I wasn’t sure about continuing on but then I read the blurbs on the back of the books and now I feel like I MUST KNOW wtf is going on :]

    • Gone Pecan July 23, 2012 at 3:38 pm Reply

      yes, i want to know, too! and it is interesting how your opinions change when you read other’s perceptions of events, I find I had that same issue. but i guess that is the whole point, right? 🙂 ~d

  3. Carrie from Stalking the Bookshelves July 23, 2012 at 3:32 pm Reply

    Glad to have you gals along for the ride. It was fun and I enjoyed reading all your answers. Let me know when you are ready to pounce on book 2.

    Oh and I love that little cozy nook library. WANT!

    • Gone Pecan July 23, 2012 at 3:37 pm Reply

      i think i will probably start book 2 soon… 🙂 ~dixie

  4. Lauren July 23, 2012 at 8:11 pm Reply

    M- I loved whenever Jamie and Claire were together one on one – talking or whatever… ;). I’m glad I did this as a read-along as well. It was definitely like a virtual book club!

    D-I know what you mean about the read-along breaking up the flow of the story a bit. It was my first time doing one. Though I actually was worried that I would hate reading this way, I was pleasantly surprised. However, I don’t think I could read ALL my books that way. I tend to read one book at a time, so reading other things while still working on this one definitely took som juggling. The love story between Jamie and Claire was my favorite part as well!

    • Gone Pecan July 24, 2012 at 10:39 am Reply

      i didn’t think i would like it, either, that it would feel like homework, but the book was so good, that i just got sucked in every time i picked it up. ~d

  5. bookgoonie July 24, 2012 at 10:35 am Reply

    @Maggie. I try not to dig around too much, because I always happen upon a spoiler. I loved all the talks the most too.
    @Dixie. *swoon* I think Jamie served us all well. 🙂 That is the good and bad of read-a-longs. They are almost always awesome books and it is hard to put down, but I love talking with other bloggers while we read too.

    • Gone Pecan July 24, 2012 at 10:40 am Reply

      yeah, it’s like we’re having an actual conversation 🙂 i love this blogging community. ~d

  6. Heather@ The Flyleaf Review July 25, 2012 at 2:44 pm Reply

    Maggie I am totally with you on riding shotgun! I feel super queasy when I am in the back seat. You and I would be battling over that position if we ever road tripped;)

    And I was also happy to pick up an adult read, I love my YA but I read SO much of it. It’s nice for a break!

    Dixie- Cloverdale sounds like The Blair Witch Project, I think that was shot w/ a handheld camera, or last it was simulated to appear that way, and I felt nauseated the entire time too!

    I would have definitely finished the book quicker had it not been for the staggered pace of the readalong, but on the other hand I did enjoy bouncing ideas off everyone and seeing what others picked up on that I somehow missed.

    LOVE your library/ nook pic’s, beautiful!

    • Gone Pecan July 25, 2012 at 4:20 pm Reply

      yeah, it was nice to get everyone’s take on what was going on. it definely made for an interesting few weeks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

