Among the Nameless Stars by Diana Peterfreund

Before Kai joined the Cloud Fleet, he wandered… AMONG THE NAMELESS STARS

Four years before the events of FOR DARKNESS SHOWS THE STARS, the servant Kai left the North Estate, the only home he’d ever known, and Elliot North, the only girl he ever loved, in search of a better life. But the journey was not an easy one.

Featuring narrow escapes, thrilling boat races and at least one deadly volcanic wasteland.

 

Among the Nameless Stars is a prequel novella to For Darkness Shows the Stars.  Some novellas, especially prequels are harder for me to relate to in regards to the storyline since I feel like I’m jumping in without any back story which is not the case with AtNS.   For being a novella is definitely delivers as I was immediately drawn in to a beautifully written story.  I am in love with Kai already and CANNOT wait to start FDStS (which may just be sitting in my car RIGHT NOW.)

  I admit freely that I haven’t read any Jane Austen novels to date (I WILL get to them!) but I am familiar with several stories and movies.   I know this story is an imagined retelling of Persuasion, one of Austen’s stories that I am least familiar with but after reading this story I can guarantee it won’t be for long.  It’s a short read and available online for free.  I highly recommend reading this one before FDStS, it is worth it.

 5/5

Leave a Reply

