Forever and a Day by Jill Shalvis (Lucky Harbor #6)

Grace never thought she’d be starting her life over from scratch. Losing everything has landed her in Lucky Harbor, working as a dog walker for overwhelmed ER doctor Josh Scott. But the day his nanny fails to show up, Grace goes from caring for Josh’s loveable mutt to caring for his rambunctious kids. Soon Grace is playing house with the sexy single dad…

With so many people depending on him, Josh has no time for anything outside of his clinic and family–until Grace arrives in town. Now this brainy blonde is turning his life inside out and giving a whole new meaning to the phrase “good bedside manner.” Josh and Grace don’t know if what they have can last. But in a town like Lucky Harbor, a lifetime of love starts with just one day…

Meet Josh:

Thanks to Ms. Shalvis for posting this picture on her blog, he’s a lot better looking and fits better with my imaginary Josh than the cover model.

Josh is the resident doctor in Lucky Harbor, who is taking care of his wheelchair-bound (and pissed at the world) sister, Anna, and his young son, Toby (the result of a one night stand with a woman who up and left soon after he was born), but doing a poor job of being there for them.  He’s constantly busy, always working (he has THREE jobs).  It’s difficult for him to devote the time he needs to to his family.  Josh hires Grace, sight virtually unseen, as a dog-walker/babysitter because he’s at the end of his rope.  In the previous books, Josh seemed to be a bit of a dry stick in the mud, but he really wasn’t.  He was under a lot of pressure and had a lot of responsibilities, but I enjoyed his sense of humor and he loosened up a lot as the story progressed.

Grace was a lot of fun.  She’s in Lucky Harbor because she her career kind of imploded.  She’s sticking around because she has new friends in Mallory and Amy.  Grace keeps taking odd jobs and is slowly making a move to get back into the game, career-wise.  She was much more spunky than I was expecting.  Because of the way she was in the previous two books, I thought she would be quiet and maybe a little shy, but she had a lot of personality and was the type of woman I would want to be friends with (which is always a plus in my book).  She found a way to connect with both Toby and Anna, never once showing either of them pity, though, of course, she felt sympathy for them. 

Grace and Josh had an attraction to each other that was very realistic.  They couldn’t keep their hands off each other, despite the many and varied ways the author invented to keep them apart :).  I loved reading about their frustrating attempts to FINALLY get it going.  I spent the majority of the time with a smile on my face.  I feel like I always give very high marks on Ms. Shalvis’ books, but they all totally deserve it.  All the stories are unique and the romances are hot and special.  I really like the other citizens of Lucky Harbor, too, and enjoy reading about Lucille or heroes/heroines from previous books (I really wish there was a sequel to At Last, Amy and Matt’s book, because I just want to continue with their story, even though they have their Happily Ever After).  

I saw recently that she’s doing at least three more in the Lucky Harbor series and believe me, I will be there when they come out.  It’s so nice to find something that you know will satisfy you and Ms. Shalvis’ books do that for me. 

Pecans:  4.5/5

4 thoughts on “Forever and a Day by Jill Shalvis (Lucky Harbor #6)

  1. Staci@LifeintheThumb July 29, 2012 at 10:02 am Reply

    I’m reading #3 right now and loving it!! Josh is hot…I have 4,5,6 from NetGalley and will be working my way through them soon. I love Jill’s stories!!!

  2. bookgoonie July 30, 2012 at 6:33 am Reply

    I’m still a Shavis-virgin. *gasp* There are a few of us in the wild. I must remedy this pesky label, because all the cool kids are doing it.

  3. Elizabeth July 30, 2012 at 2:50 pm Reply

    I have Simply Irresistible checked out from the library… you like the series so much, I keep meaning to read some for myself!

    • Elizabeth July 30, 2012 at 2:50 pm Reply

      P.S. I like the new blog design– very cute!

Leave a Reply

