TGIF #41

Book Olympics: In the spirit of the Olympics, which books would you give the gold, silver, and bronze medals to? It can be from any genre, new or old.

Gold:

A Touch of Power by Maria V Snyder – I’m so glad I read this one!  I’m a bit sad that it will be awhile till I can get to the rest of her books since I’m swamped with all my netgalley books. 😦

Silver:

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline – Oh how I embraced all that is nerdy.  LOVE LOVE LOVE.

Bronze:

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness – I’ve read several glowing reviews of this series and I can see why. . . I LOVE THIS BOOK.  I cannot wait to read the rest of the series.

14 thoughts on “TGIF #41

  1. Briana August 3, 2012 at 9:39 am Reply

    I haven’t read any of these, but I might have to check them out if they’re doing so well in the Book Olympics!

    • Gone Pecan August 3, 2012 at 11:20 am Reply

      Let me know if you do, I’d love to hear what you think! ~Maggie

  2. thewatersgirl August 3, 2012 at 9:42 am Reply

    I tried to read The Knife of Never Letting Go, but I couldn’t get past the first 2 chapters, I couldn’t handle the writing! I’m sure I’ll give it a go again, but I think I’ve got to get in the zone for that one.

    • Gone Pecan August 3, 2012 at 11:21 am Reply

      Yeah, I felt a little like that at first too. I think it has something to do with the male authors, I just don’t connect as much with their stories but I really like this one!! ~Maggie

  3. Candice August 3, 2012 at 9:57 am Reply

    I still want to read Touch of Power!!! I read the Chaos Walking series (snagged them for my Kindle when they were $.99 each!) but cannot bring myself to review them. I know nothing I say can do them any justice!

    • Gone Pecan August 3, 2012 at 11:21 am Reply

      SAME. That’s why I just put it on our Lundi. ~M

    • Tee August 3, 2012 at 11:32 am Reply

      I totally feel you there! I reviewed them but there was no way to properly convey the awesomeness. That’s how you know it’s an amazing book/series. 🙂

  4. Brittany August 3, 2012 at 10:24 am Reply

    I love your choices!! I still need to read ALL of these and I can’t believe I haven’t yet.

  5. Elizabeth August 3, 2012 at 10:49 am Reply

    I somehow missed your review of Touch of Power and hadn’t hear of it before, but I’m sort of intrigued now that it got the coveted Gone Pecan Gold Medal. The premise doesn’t immediately grab my attention, but your review said strong woman with functional relationship and absorbing, so I might have to give it a try!

    I hope you enjoy the Chaos Walking series– it was one of the best I’ve read this year by far!

    • Gone Pecan August 3, 2012 at 11:24 am Reply

      I really loved it. The lead reminded me of the leads for the Graceling series but she actually gets a decent love life. I just don’t get why no one can have a happy ending in the other series. To be a strong woman doesn’t mean you don’t want to get married and/or have kids. I like things to be wrapped up in a nice package. ~M

  6. Tee August 3, 2012 at 11:30 am Reply

    Fist pumps to The Knife of Never Letting Go. That book (and series) is absolutely one of my favorites. Manchee!!!!!!

  7. bookgoonie August 3, 2012 at 11:51 am Reply

    *sigh* All books on my wish list. Excited for the day 😉

  8. Alexa Loves Books (@alexalovesbooks) August 3, 2012 at 12:41 pm Reply

    I loved A Touch of Power as well; it’s a great novel! And I want to try reading The Knife of Never Letting Go…

Leave a Reply

