Bout of Books 5.0

We’re participating in Bout of Books again this month, starting next week, August 13-19.  Why don’t ya’ll come & join us?!  🙂

Dixie’s Goals:

1.  Read 3 netgalley books and review.

2. Read 2 library books and review.

3.  Begin one audio book.

Since I like to keep my options open, I am going to list all the books I have to choose from, Netgalley & library.

Netgalley:

Library:

And that leaves the Audiobook, which I haven’t picked up yet.  I’ll make it down to the library some time before Monday.

And that’s it for me, see ya’ll again Monday 🙂

~*~

Maggie’s Goals:

1.  Read 2 Netgalley/Edelweiss books.

2. Read 2 library books.

3.  Read 3 nook books.

I have serious issues with being click happy.  I currently have a ridiculous amount of library and netgalleys so I think this bout will be the big push I need to buckle down and start cleaning up all the pending books I have before they expire.  Of course the clicking doesn’t stop at the library or netgalley as I continue to buy nook books and I never get around to them.  I blame this mainly on the fact that I cannot physically see these books;  it’s a out of sight out of mind thing.  I do plan on writing reviews on some of these but I won’t commit to posting them since this is my first bout.  If I can post the reviews as well I will consider that lagniappe.

Netgalley/Edelweiss:

I cannot be as liberal as Dixie with my Netgalley/Edelweiss choices since I have several that are expiring soon so. . .

Library:

  • Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols – Dixie has already read this one and since I know she is reviewing it I need to get this one read for a she said/she said.
  • Tempest by Julie Cross – I don’t know why but I keep skipping over this one and renewing it.  I need to just read it.

Nook Books:

BONUS BOOKS:

While I realize I’ve already committed to reading 7 books I wanted to throw in a couple of bonus books just in case I get a serious case of reading going.  Wouldn’t it be awesome to say you read 10 books in a week?

 

24 thoughts on “Bout of Books 5.0

  1. Candice August 7, 2012 at 9:48 am Reply

    Oh man, I need to participate in this one too! I have SO MANY BOOKS I need to play catchup on! Also, Dixie, Awkward by Marni Bates is super cute! Hope you get to read it!

    • Gone Pecan August 7, 2012 at 10:17 am Reply

      there’s still time to sign up, do it with us!! also, i remember your review of Awkward so that’s why I got it 🙂

  2. Brittany August 7, 2012 at 9:59 pm Reply

    Hmmm I’ve been so hesitant about doing bout of books! I’m afraid I won’t have time like I want to…. Maybe I should to motivate myself!
    D- Oooooh read The Spellman Files! I’m interested to see what you’d think. I really enjoy that series!
    M- Ahh read Defiance before it expires! That’s one I’ve been waiting (and will keep waiting) for 🙂 I think you’ll like Such a Rush! It didn’t blow me like I feel it did for a lot of other people but I think it’s one of my favorite contemporary reads so far.

    Good luck!!

    • Gone Pecan August 8, 2012 at 11:13 am Reply

      I’ll let you know about Defiance! ~M

  3. creativedeeds August 7, 2012 at 11:38 pm Reply

    I just finished reading Run the Risk and loved it! Good luck with your goals guys! And most importantly – Have Fun! 😉

    • Dixie August 10, 2012 at 2:44 pm Reply

      yes, i think i will definitely be reading Run the Risk, Lori Foster never disappoints 🙂

  4. Rebecca August 8, 2012 at 9:59 am Reply

    I love The Spellman Files! A couple of these books are on my TBR list and some of them I haven’t heard of (the list just keeps growing). I hope you both have fun and meet your goals!

    • Gone Pecan August 8, 2012 at 11:11 am Reply

      I hope we do, thanks for stopping by! ~M

  5. Insightful Minds (@IM_BookReviews) August 8, 2012 at 11:17 am Reply

    Run The Risk – EPIC – this should def be one that you pick! I freaking LOVED it! I have Such a Rush, but I need to read it! I think I may read that one IF I get done with the 6 books I picked! Good luck on your goals!

    Tabby @Insightful Minds
    Check out my – BOut of Books Goals (:

    • Dixie August 10, 2012 at 2:46 pm Reply

      i’m getting really excited to read Run the Risk now. Such a Rush was a quick read (ha)…i hope you like it. Good Luck!

  6. Think @ Thinks Books August 8, 2012 at 12:53 pm Reply

    I can’t wait to see what you think of Article 5. I have been wanting to read that badly. Good luck on the readathon!

  7. elizziebooks August 8, 2012 at 6:11 pm Reply

    Holy canole! That’s a ton of books. Man. Can’t wait to see your reviews!

  8. Angie August 8, 2012 at 7:44 pm Reply

    I am finally getting around to a NetGalley book right now!! Before it expires I knew I needed to read it!! Here is mine : Bout of Books

    Angie

    • Dixie August 10, 2012 at 2:50 pm Reply

      i found on the last one that this is a very effective way to clear out the review pile 🙂

  9. Jayla P. (@ladyBLUjay) August 9, 2012 at 10:32 pm Reply

    Good luck! I need to check out NetGalley for some future reads. It’s a great way to find new/interesting books, isn’t it?

    • Dixie August 10, 2012 at 2:51 pm Reply

      i love netgalley. there are a few that i’ve read from there that i probably would have passed right by at the store.

  10. Hollie @ Music, Books and Tea August 10, 2012 at 2:30 pm Reply

    You have so many great books on your lists! Good luck in reaching both your goals! 🙂

    • Dixie August 10, 2012 at 2:51 pm Reply

      i hope they keep us interested & reading 🙂 thanks for stopping by!

  11. Sarah Ellis August 10, 2012 at 2:55 pm Reply

    Good luck to both of you 🙂

    Sarah E
    fortunefavors11.blogspot.com/

    • Dixie August 10, 2012 at 3:16 pm Reply

      thanks! you, too!

  12. bookgoonie August 11, 2012 at 12:11 pm Reply

    Great Library Books gals.

  13. Vicky @ Books, Biscuits, and Tea August 13, 2012 at 6:37 am Reply

    Tempest is a brilliant read – you’ll love it! 🙂 Also, Meant to Be sounds like a cute contemporary novel. Can’t wait to hear what you think. Good luck with your goals and have fun!

    Here are my book choices and goals.

    • Gone Pecan August 13, 2012 at 9:03 pm Reply

      I know I’ve heard great things about Tempest, I just kept pushing it back. ~m

  14. Becky August 14, 2012 at 11:53 pm Reply

    Dixie- Hold me closer, necromancer has always looked like a great book to me so I hope you enjoy it!

    Maggie – The books you got from the library sound FANTASTIC! Hope you enjoy as well =D

    Good Luck!!
    -Becky
    http://bookbitereviews.blogspot.com/2012/08/bout-of-books-read-thon-goalsupdates.html

Leave a Reply

