TGIF #42

Unexpected Books: Which books did you have reservations about reading, but ended up loving once you did?

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline – I picked this one because thought it sounded great but I usually don’t do well with what I deem  “guy books”.  Color me surprised I LOVED everything nerdy about this one have been campaigning to get more people reading it.

 

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon – When I saw that Dixie was doing a read-along for this one I decided to as well.  I had heard about this series in the past, added to my TBR list and then removed it.  There were massive, the series was far underway, and isn’t YA.  This is the same reason I haven’t started Game of Thrones yet (though I have started watching the series).  Though there were some rough moments when reading I truly love this one and have most of the series already on my nook ready as soon as I can squeeze them in. 

 

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier – My only reservation on this one is that it was originally in German and I know some books (Girl with the Dragon Tattoo for example) that I just can’t get into because I do not like the way they translated.  I LOVED THIS ONE.  I liked to so much I went and copied the German blurbs from goodreads and translated them on Google to find out what the rest of the series is about.

~*~

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefveter–This is not something I had ever intended to read, but faced with a long car trip by myself and a limited selection, I picked this and another book up thinking that if I didn’t like it, I could play the other one.   I don’t even remember what the other book was, but I really enjoyed this and would find myself sitting in the car after I got to my destination to find out what would happen.

I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga — I am not a big fan of horror, but I am fascinated by serial killers, but that usually is satisfied with documentaries.  This book, about the son of a serial killer who was made to be his father’s protege, was really intriguing and fast paced and stirred up all kinds of emotions and ethical dilemas. I loved it and I cannot wait for the next book in the series.

Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta–Tee over at YA Crush reviewed this one and it’s not really my usual fare, but I was intrigued.  I rushed through that book so fast.  It was truly amazing.  Of course, it’s from Ms. Marchetta, who gave us Jellicoe Road and Saving Francesca, so I shouldn’t have been surprised. 

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson–I’ve read some of her books before, but they’re more contemporary teen romance.  I liked them a lot, but this book seemed a big departure from her usual stuff.  I should not have been concerned.  Sure, it’s different, but it’s so GOOD, ya’ll!  I gave it five stars.  It’s definitely something to be reread.

Divergent by Veronica Roth–Another dystopian?  Really?  Is that what the world needs?  But oh, this book…I just loved it sooo much.  There’s the what-if factor (cause this could totally happen), romance, intrigue, drama…it was everything I like in a book, even though I was wary of reading another book that could compete with the Hunger Games, which I loved.  How can you really improve on the Hunger Games?  You don’t.  You tell your own story, like Ms. Roth has done here.  Good job.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor–I knew nothing of this book going in.  I don’t like to read reviews before I read the book.  I don’t know what I was expecting but the premise seemed interesting.  I was blown away by not only the story, but Ms. Taylor’s style of writing.  Definitely one of my favorite books last year. 

 

 

6 thoughts on “TGIF #42

  1. Tee August 10, 2012 at 10:35 am Reply

    I totally agree on Scorpio and Finnikin. They’re on my list too? Geez, were we separated at birth? 🙂 Great list. I love so many of the books you listed. And I really, really need to read Ruby Red!

  2. Tanya Patrice August 10, 2012 at 11:48 am Reply

    Ooh I read and loved so many books on your list – and for Ready Player One, I totally didn’t think I would like it either, since I’m not really into video games, but it was amazing.

    • Gone Pecan August 14, 2012 at 9:27 am Reply

      I know, it’s on my list to buy so I can read it again. Sorry for the late response, you went to spam. 😦 ~Maggie

  3. Elizabeth August 10, 2012 at 1:59 pm Reply

    I’ve been reluctant to read a few of these, too. Outlander because it is huge (I was too busy with work to join the read-along or else I would have!), I Hunt Killers because I am a wimp (I had to quit watching Dexter after I starting having recurring nightmares about serial killers), and The Scorpio Races because fantasy horse races? really? Maybe one day, I will quit being such a weenie and will tackle books that scare me away!

    • Dixie August 10, 2012 at 2:43 pm Reply

      take a leap of faith, Elizabeth! 🙂

  4. Think @ Thinks Books August 10, 2012 at 3:36 pm Reply

    I’m glad you liked Divergent. I loved it too! This was a great post.

Leave a Reply

