Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella (Confessions #1)

Becky Bloomwood has what most twenty-five-year-olds only dream of: a flat in London’s trendiest neighborhood, a troupe of glamorous socialite friends, and a closet brimming with the season’s must-haves. The only trouble is, she can’t actually afford it — not any of it. Her job writing at Successful Saving magazine not only bores her to tears, it doesn’t pay much at all. Still, how can she resist that perfect pair of shoes? Or the divine silk blouse in the window of that ultra-trendy boutique? But lately Becky’s been chased by dismal letters from Visa and the Endwich Bank — letters with large red sums she can’t bear to read — and they’re getting ever harder to ignore. She tries cutting back; she even tries making more money. But none of her efforts succeeds. Her only consolation is to buy herself something … just a little something …

Finally, a story arises that Becky actually cares about, and her front-page article catalyzes a chain of events that will transform her life — and the lives of those around her — forever.

This book is over a decade old and does feel a little outdated, but it was super cute & funny.  Becky Bloomwood is completely delusional when it comes to her finances.  She is, ahem, a shopaholic.  She uses shopping as a means of coping with almost everything. 

Becky is a financial journalist (hello, irony) living in London.  She wears the latest clothes (and we’re talking high end stuff) and eats at the most NOW restaurants.  Her entire life revolves around shopping.  Some people eat.  She’s completely shallow and a little ditzy.

But the thing is, she’s got a heart of gold, despite her inability to really empathize with people.  And when it comes down to it, she’s a really smart, capable person who grows and learns from her mistakes. 

I did like the book; there were parts when I actually laughed out loud.  But Becky was not always very sympathetic or likable, which I guess is the point and makes her coming of age really resonate.  I initally began this on audio, but I found myself wanting to hear more, so I picked up the paperback from the library to complete it. 

I liked the love interest, Luke Brandon (apparently you have to say his complete name whenever you refer to him), but I wish there were more exposition when they finally end up together.  I wanted to know how he felt for her, when he realized he had feelings for her…I guess that’s why there are so many sequels.  I will probably read more, but not right away. 

Pecans:  3.5/5

7 thoughts on “Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella (Confessions #1)

  1. Candice August 16, 2012 at 10:42 am Reply

    I haven’t read this one in a while, but I’ve read most of the Shopaholic series. It’s really a cute series, but after the 3rd or 4th book it’s the same plot over and over again. Becky was a cute character and I liked Luke, but yeah… I think I remember in the first book wanting more Luke!

    • Tee August 17, 2012 at 6:37 pm Reply

      I wanted more Luke too. I just thought, oh, the hotness, the accent, the whole “I’m wearing a towel around my waist and talking to you (with my English accent) after we did the you know”–I loved it. And Luke is in the other books more. I love Becky, although man, she makes some cringeworthy decisions. I also love Suze and Tarquin (hello weird awkwardness). I read the most recent book last year, Mini Shopaholic, and I wasn’t really happy with it. Definitely the same problems over and over again. And I think she’s writing another where they come to California. As much as I love those characters, I’m ready to say bye bye.

      • Gone Pecan August 17, 2012 at 7:40 pm

        I just picked up her newest book, i’ve got your number or something, i hope i like it ~d

  2. Elizabeth August 16, 2012 at 12:23 pm Reply

    This is the only one in the series that I think I’ve read… perhaps I read it before the sequels came out in the US? I don’t know. I don’t remember much about it, other than finding it fun and that it was recommended to me by a coworker when I was a page at a public library for a summer. That summer was so good for my reading, I wish I could go back and do it again! Not really sure I could tolerate Becky these days, though, as I have very little tolerance for people in real life who just piss away their money!

  3. Brittany August 16, 2012 at 12:26 pm Reply

    Yep, I pretty much agree on all accounts! It was a cute book, but at the same time, I found myself NOT liking Becky a lot because she just gets herself into trouble she can avoid. This was also another book that I’m like, whoa she’s 25? Already getting a lot done in her life… I’m sure not lol.
    I agree with Candice too – I just finished the 4th or 5th book and I think I’m running out of steam with Becky!

  4. Candace August 19, 2012 at 8:55 pm Reply

    Hi, I am a new follower, I will need to check out this book, I haven’t read it! I’d love a follow back at http://endlessdaysofbooks.blogspot.com/

    Candace

  5. Top 10 Tuesday #54 « Gone Pecan December 11, 2012 at 8:10 am Reply

    […] Sophie Kinsella–I picked up Confessions of a Shopaholic on audio for a trip and it was just so funny and cute.  Then I picked up I’ve Got Your […]

Leave a Reply

