TGIF # 43

Choose Your Next Read:  How do you determine what book you’ll read next?

Maggie:

They kind of choose me since I’m always trying to beat an expiration date on netgalley or a due date at the library.  My current goal (of what seems to be 6 months now) is to finish up with what I have checked out then I could actual choose the books I wanted since I could read the ones I own.  I have two books I bought back in May (City of Fallen Angels & Insurgent) that I have been super excited to read but I haven’t been able to get to with the constant library pickups and the surprising volume of netgalley approvals.  One day. . .

Dixie:

It’s a complicated system.  It depends on 1) What I’m currently reading and how much I like it.  If I like it a lot, I will probably want to read more in the same vein.  If I’ve currently been reading a lot of the same type of book, maybe I’ll want to read something different;  2) What is available.  Believe me when I tell you that I have a vast variety of books within easy reach, but if I’m reading a series and the next one is out, I will want to read that.  Or if the author I’m currently reading has another book available, I will maybe pick something in his/her backlist.  Or do I have a library book that needs to be returned soon?  If nothing grabs me, I will troll my bookshelf to find something I bought long ago but never got to; 3) Does it need to be reviewed?  Believe it or not, these books are not my priority.  Because I generally review one book a week and I read pretty fast, I always feel I have time & so I usually read only one review book a week; 4) What book is closest to me?  I have piles and stacks of books all over my house.  If something on the coffee table doesn’t appeal to me, maybe something on the end table or night stand or bookshelf?  No?  How about the kitchen hutch or packed away in the boxes in the garage?  Still ntohing?  Try the car.  Yes.  It’s bad.  So I guess the bottom line is that, no, I don’t have a system.  It’s every book for itself. 🙂 

How do you determine what book you’ll read next?

FYI:  Ginger @ Greadsbooks will be on hiatus for the TGIF meme, so as of now we have nothing planned to fill it’s spot, but that’s subject to change.  We’re kind of fly by the seat of our pants kinda gals, that’s what makes us so much fun.  🙂  Have a great weekend!

4 thoughts on “TGIF # 43

  1. Candice August 31, 2012 at 11:40 am Reply

    I like fly by the seat of your pants kind of folks! Must be why I like you two so much! 🙂

    Hope you’re both staying dry from Isaac!

    • Gone Pecan August 31, 2012 at 12:18 pm Reply

      the worst thing about isaac is the lovebugs that are out now. they’re INSANE! ~d

      • Candice August 31, 2012 at 12:39 pm

        OMG I HATE LOVE BUGS!!!

  2. Brittany August 31, 2012 at 12:19 pm Reply

    LOL I love that! The books choose you. It’s pretty much true!!

Leave a Reply

