The Forsaken by Lisa M Stasse

As an obedient orphan of the U.N.A. (the super-country that was once Mexico, the U.S., and Canada), Alenna learned at an early age to blend in and be quiet—having your parents taken by the police will do that to a girl. But Alenna can’t help but stand out when she fails a test that all sixteen-year-olds have to take: The test says she has a high capacity for brutal violence, and so she is sent to The Wheel, an island where all would-be criminals end up.

The life expectancy of prisoners on The Wheel is just two years, but with dirty, violent, and chaotic conditions, the time seems a lot longer as Alenna is forced to deal with civil wars for land ownership and machines that snatch kids out of their makeshift homes. Desperate, she and the other prisoners concoct a potentially fatal plan to flee the island. Survival may seem impossible, but Alenna is determined to achieve it anyway.

Let me just start by saying I loved the cover. The whole DNA/pickup sticks look really appealed to me. Another great point? The fact that within the first few pages you already know a good general background of what has happened so you aren’t in the dark but it wasn’t too much information at once either.

I thought this was not only a great read but a great start to a series. There are several key points in the story I did not expect and were complete surprises to me. I might have wished for a bit more romance but I was happy to trade off swoony time for the lack of love triangle for which I’m VERY grateful was missing. I cannot wait to see what happens next! (hopefully more kissing:P)

I know among my blogging buddies this one was split so I’m interested to know, what do you think??

3.5/5

~~Maggie~~

4 thoughts on “The Forsaken by Lisa M Stasse

  1. Brittany September 4, 2012 at 9:14 pm Reply

    I was actually a bit disappointed with this one (yet somehow ended up with a higher rating than you lol) – I felt like it was a bit cookie cutter dystopian and just couldn’t break away from comparing it to Lost!! I still enjoyed reading it but secretly I was hoping for more. Still definitely looking forward to seeing how it continues though!

    • Gone Pecan September 5, 2012 at 8:12 am Reply

      Hahah. That is funny. I enjoyed it overall . I want to reads Tee’s review, we were discussing on FB last night. ~m

      • Brittany September 5, 2012 at 8:33 am

        Ooh I want to see it too. I love getting in good book discussions 🙂

  2. Tee September 5, 2012 at 10:46 am Reply

    I finally wrote my review, but I don’t think it’s going up for a couple of weeks. Overall I felt let down, especially with the romance considering Liam’s first appearance is in all his shirtless glory. Hello, that’s set my sights high.:) I liked him and I liked some of the other characters, but I couldn’t get into Alenna. At the same time, I was looking forward to reading the next chapter every time I put it down (partly in hopes of more kissing).

Leave a Reply

