Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the awesome gals at The Broke and the Bookish
 
Today’s Topic:
 
Top Ten Books That Make You Think
(About the World, Life, People, etc):

I’m not going to lie to you guys, I’m not one to read a lot of touchy feely books.  I like dystopians, fantasies, romantic suspense.  Stuff that is closer to real life makes me sad and though a good cry is welcome from time to time I try to choose books to escape the “real” issues.  With that being said, I did choose books that made me think but maybe not as deep thinking as the post is supposed to be.

 

1.   Jeneration X by Jen Lancaster  – This one made me think about why I’m not friends with more people like Ms Lancaster.  I think there would never be a dull moment and it would be refreshing to be around someone that generally has the same thought process.

2.  Article 5 by Kristen Simmons – I reviewed this one here.  This one made me think how close to reality we are to something happening like this if we don’t pay attention.

3.  The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E Smith –  You know what this one made me think?  I WANT A BRITISH BOYFRIEND.  Also, there are others out there that still believe in love at first sight other than me.  Dixie’s Review.

4.  The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder –  Ahh, the crying portion of the post.  As I’ve told Dixie and Tee (YACrush) if you don’t cry when you read this one I don’t think we can be friends anymore. 

5.  Before I Die by Jenny Downham – Ditto. (Review)  In fact someone else agrees.

I know right??

 

6.  Attachments by Rainbow Rowell –  This one made be believe there are still great guys out there and they are nerds like me! Dixie’s Review.

7.  Sookie Stackhouse Series by Charlaine Harris –  I’m only 5 books in but these are making me realize it’s ok to like the show more than the book.  There I said it!!!

8.  Sisters in Sanity by Gayle Forman – This one makes you think about the family you choose to have, though sometimes even then it’s slightly forced on you in specific situations.

9.  The Duff – Kody Keplinger – This one makes me think about a lot.  Mainly that I need to go reread it, like right now.

 

10.  Someone Else’s Life by Katie Dale –  This one made me think about not judging a book by it’s blurb.  WOW.  This was a complete soap opera and a great read.

 

~~*Maggie*~~

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Brittany September 11, 2012 at 8:25 am Reply

    Great list!! I still need to read The Probability of Miracles… And I agree! I enjoy Sookie, but I still think the TV show is still better than the books! 🙂

  2. Candice September 11, 2012 at 8:35 am Reply

    I’ve only read Statistical Probability… but yeah… it does make you think about some things and I was happy to realize that love at first sight DOES exist, even if it was just in fiction. I really need to read several of these, especially now that you’ve rec’d them!

    • Gone Pecan September 11, 2012 at 8:40 am Reply

      I have The Duff if needed. . .out library is not Keplinger friendly. 😦 I guess this can also be a good thing since I own it now. 😛 ~M

  3. Yara @ Once Upon a Twilight.com September 11, 2012 at 10:27 am Reply

    HA! Yea the Sookie books are just Sookie being a slut, the show is much better. Same case with vampire Diaries.

    • Gone Pecan September 11, 2012 at 1:31 pm Reply

      I’ve never seen or read Vampire Diaries. I might not be starting anytime soon either. . .~M

  4. Sara @ Just Another Story September 11, 2012 at 11:50 am Reply

    I love … Love at First Sight. It was such a sweet read. I loved seeing it on your list. It was a great list.

    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday

  5. stuckinva September 11, 2012 at 1:07 pm Reply

    I’m not impressed with Charlaine Harris’ writing. I’ve not read any of the Sookie books, but I’ve read several anthologies where she’s had excerpts or short stories in…and…her writing is really bad. Like, 5th grader bad. At least in those stories, but I can’t imagine the novels are much different!

    • Gone Pecan September 11, 2012 at 1:37 pm Reply

      I haven’t “read” them either. I can only do the audio books. Glad I’m not alone! ~M

  6. akamaireader September 11, 2012 at 1:16 pm Reply

    Before I Die sounds like a real tear jerker. I’ll make sure the tissues are handy. I agree with you. True Blood is better then the books.

    I found your blog via The Book Addict!

    • Gone Pecan September 11, 2012 at 1:38 pm Reply

      YAY! Brittany is great, glad to meet another blogger! ~M

  7. Elizabeth September 11, 2012 at 3:42 pm Reply

    You know what other show I loved, but the books were not so good? Dexter. Those books were miserable. And I’m not sure what Attachments made me think about… other than I never wanted it to end! Such a lovely book.

    • Gone Pecan September 11, 2012 at 4:09 pm Reply

      I never even tried those books, but I do watch Dexter! ~M

  8. Uomo di Speranza (@UomodiSperanza) September 11, 2012 at 5:26 pm Reply

    Jeneration X has to be one of the most clever titles I’ve seen today–very spiffy! It seems to be a rather intriguing read.

    PS: Please don’t be timid about checking out my Totally Top Ten Tuesday! post here.

    • Gone Pecan September 12, 2012 at 7:24 am Reply

      Thanks for stopping by! ~M

  9. Quinn September 11, 2012 at 6:04 pm Reply

    I have seen the Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight on a number of lists today. I wish I had thought to add it to mine. It makes me think a lot about forgiveness. I found it impressive that Hadley was able to forgive her father, but I really don’t know if I would be able to. Especially after seeing her mother so upset when it first happened.

    Yay, love at first sight, though!!!

    I can’t wait for This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith.

    • Gone Pecan September 12, 2012 at 7:24 am Reply

      I can’t wait to read that one too! ~M

  10. bookgoonie September 12, 2012 at 6:22 am Reply

    Article 5 hit me square in the face too. Attachments sounds like a win. Thanks for including your reasoning.

    • Gone Pecan September 12, 2012 at 7:23 am Reply

      I’m glas someone else likes A5 too! I haven’t seen too many reviews at least out corner of the blogging world. ~M

Leave a Reply

