Casting Call – Divergent by Veronica Roth

In our development of this feature we discovered that the book blog Lit Snit featured “Casting Call Fridays.” Our Casting Call feature is in no way purposefully copying or stealing this idea and any similarities is purely coincidental. Also, you should check out their casting because it rocks!

Welcome to Week 2 of Casting Call, where we brainstorm with our friends to cast one of my favorite novels from last year, Divergent by Veronica Roth. 

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue–Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is–she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are–and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

Debut author Veronica Roth bursts onto the literary scene with the first book in the Divergent series–dystopian thrillers filled with electrifying decisions, heartbreaking betrayals, stunning consequences, and unexpected romance.

This week, we’re doing it a little differently than last week, where each of us cast the whole book.  We’ve divided up the characters and each chose a couple to cast. 

I picked Caleb, main character Tris’ brother, and Peter, Tris’ enemy in her new faction, Dauntless.

Caleb:  less than a year older than Tris, Caleb is in the same grade at school and they are sorted at the same time.  He’s supposed to be green-eyed with dark hair, but I think he should look like his sister, who is blonde, and he’s a natural for their home faction, Abnegation, which are the self-less.  So I pictured someone who seems innocuous and pleasant: Sterling Knight.

Peter, formerly of Candor (the honest), is the resident douche-bag.  He’s hot-headed and rude and a bully.  He’s also jealous of anyone who does better than he does.  He also is supposed to be dark haired, but what can I say, I’m a rebel.  I kind of always pictured him as a blond when I read the book, so  I chose Jake Abel, who played Luke in the Percy Jackson movies, where he did a pretty good job of playing the bad guy.  I think he can look like a bully, even with those  pretty eyes. 

What do you think of my picks?  Pretty great, right 😉  So, now, head on over to my friends’ sites and see who they chose for the rest of the important characters, like Tris and Four!  Happy Blog-hopping!

Tee @ YA Crush

Candice @ The Grown-Up YA

Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide

Sandie @ Teen Lit Rocks

~~*dixie*~~

17 thoughts on “Casting Call – Divergent by Veronica Roth

  1. Brittany September 21, 2012 at 7:56 am Reply

    I always pictured Caleb as blonde too! I never realized he was supposed to look different than Tris. I pictured the whole family blonde! I guess I latched on the first character description and projected it on the rest of the family 🙂
    Great choice for Peter too! He looks pretty, but he’s a pretty good bad guy!

    • Gone Pecan September 21, 2012 at 8:03 am Reply

      I did, too, Britt. Apparently, according to Tee, Mr. Pryor is supposed to be dark haired, too. Oh well. I think we put together a pretty believable looking family. That is a great pic of peter,right. Shows of his beautiful eyes.

      • Brittany September 21, 2012 at 8:43 am

        Oh, oh well! I like our version of it 🙂 I’m sure that happened to a lot of other people too. And I really, really like our choices!

  2. […] out the rest of the cast:  YA Crush (Tris and Mr. Prior), The Grown-Up YA (Will and Eric), Gone Pecan (Caleb and Peter) and The Book Addict’s Guide (Christina and Mrs. […]

  3. Candice September 21, 2012 at 8:43 am Reply

    I can’t remember if I thought Caleb was dark-haired or not. I think maybe I did… Like skinny, dark-haired, kind of awkward nerdy. But with Tris not being any of those things, I kind of feel like maaaaybe they should look more alike! I definitely think we’ve put together a great family. 🙂 And Jake Abel, as much as I love him, does douchy really well. Obviously as Luke in Percy Jackson, but he also plays the douchy guy in I Am Number Four as well. Great picks D!

    • Gone Pecan September 21, 2012 at 8:48 am Reply

      that’s true, he was in Number 4! i like him best in Supernatural, though, cause he played a good guy. i hate when actors i love play bad guys.

  4. Sandie @TeenLitRocks September 21, 2012 at 9:36 am Reply

    So I definitely know families where one parent is light, one parent dark and the kids come out the same instead of looking like a mix, know what I mean? Because I had good friends where the sister was a petite blond and the brother a taller brunette, I pictured Caleb as a skinny, smart-looking boy-next-door kind of guy like Gregory Smith from Everwood. BUT, that doesn’t mean I don’t love your pick, because he’s got all the right qualities (unassuming, sweet but with something there just beneath the surface).

    As for d-b Peter, yes! THIS!

    • Gone Pecan September 21, 2012 at 9:58 am Reply

      Trust me, i know. My own kids could not look more different, i was just thinking this today that no one would know they’re related by the way they look. And thanks, THIS is exactly how I picture Peter. The casting directors should totally pay us consulting fees, but we’re doing this out of the kindness of our hearts 🙂

    • Gone Pecan September 21, 2012 at 9:59 am Reply

      And good call on Gregory, he totally would have worked, too. Love him.

  5. Elizabeth September 21, 2012 at 9:47 am Reply

    Ok, I must completely ignore character descriptions when I read because I always pictured Tris with dark brown (nearly black) hair, Caleb with red hair, and Peter with blonde hair. I find myself doing this all the time… the author says something about “his dark hair” and I’m like… no, he’s a blonde, sorry author, you’re wrong.

    • Gone Pecan September 21, 2012 at 10:01 am Reply

      I could see a red-headed Caleb, too. It’s our imagination, you know, it’s never wrong.

    • Tee September 21, 2012 at 10:17 am Reply

      I do the same thing! If I like the guy character, I picture him with dark hair always because that seems to be what I like. Then it throws me off when the author reminds me of what the character really looks like and I have to do a double-take (or whatever the reading/imagining equivalent of that would be).

  6. Tee September 21, 2012 at 10:18 am Reply

    I always pictured Caleb and Tris as blonde too. Who knew? Also, Luke from Percy Jackson? LOVE!!!!! Certain people have the uncanny ability of looking like a d-bag. It’s a gift.

  7. Diana September 22, 2012 at 7:17 am Reply

    I have to say, out of all the picks, I LOVE your Peter the best! That is so much how I pictured him. For me, none of the other picks were anything like the way I pictured them, but when I saw your Peter, I had to tell you that he was dead on.

Leave a Reply

