Top 10 Tuesday #44

Hosted by the girls @ The Broke and The Bookish, this weekly meme asks us to answer bookish questions in ten parts.  This weeks Top 10 List:

Series We Haven’t Finished

1.       Fifty Shades of Gray by E.L.James – I made it through the first two and I crapped out.  What I find funny about this is that both my sister and my sister-in-law did the same exact thing.  On the other hand my NIECE (why she read these I HAVE NO IDEA) did and stresses that it is the “best” one of the series.

2.       Sookie Stackhouse Series by Charlaine Harris – I blame this on I’m not a fan of her writing so I have to get the audio and someone at my local library doesn’t understand that you can’t keep what you check out.

3.       Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth –  I know the series isn’t finished but I actually preordered the second book Insurgent.  Problem is that when I own the book I immediately push it to the end of the TBR stack.

4.       City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare – DITTO.

5.       Chaos Walking Triology by Patrick Ness –  I read the first two super quick and then I renewed the third about four times before returning it and checking out the audio.  .  . that was a week ago. . .

~Maggie~

~*~

6.  The Body Mover series by Stephanie Bond — I loved the first three, but the next three came out a few years later and I really think I should reread the first three before I get to the last ones.  There is A LOT of stuff going on (three love interests, fugative parents, murders & such).

7.  Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella — I liked Confessions of a Shopaholic, but 1) it was outdated and 2) I don’t know how entertaining it would be to keep reading about her silly money troubles over and over and over.  Although, I might give it a shot for more shirtless Luke Brandon.

8.  The Hen Night Prophesies by Jessica Fox – I read (and liked) the first one, The One That Got Away, and I have the rest, I just can’t work myself up to getting excited about reading them.

9. Slightly series by Wendy Markham – There are five books in the series and I’ve read all but the last, but the fourth book’s premise put me off, because after I read it, it felt like a cheap premise and I just couldn’t get over it in order to read the last book.  I really enjoyed the story of a girl, moving to the big city, bettering herself by developing self-esteem, getting a good career, losing weight, and landing a guy who she thought was out of her reach, but it all became a little too much.  The story could have probably be told in fewer books, more concise and less of the same old silly misunderstandings and misadventures.

10. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare — I haven’t read book 5.  Book 4 (City of Fallen Angels) was actually read a year after it came out (even though I preordered it) because I intended to wait until City of Heavenly Fire was out (the sixth and final book) to I read the last three in the series.  But with the release of City of Lost Souls, book six, I thought I could satisfy my need to learn more of the story with two books back to back.  Alas, book four depressed me so much, I needed a little time to recover.  So I will finish the series, but I will probably read books five and six together when CoHF is released (which, according to Goodreads, isn’t until 2014).

~Dixie~

4 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #44

  1. Elizabeth September 25, 2012 at 12:39 pm Reply

    I never finished the Sookie Stackhouse books either (thought I think I read like 9 of them) because I got pretty bored with them. And now it’s been so long since I’ve read them I can’t keep the book plots straight from True Blood plots (even though I also stopped watching that), so I have no idea where I’ve left off!

    And I shouldn’t pressure you to finish Chaos Walking because it is super awesome, but I’m going to anyways. Get on it, girl!

    • Gone Pecan September 25, 2012 at 4:52 pm Reply

      I’m thinking I might be able to get to the audio this week! I’ll let you know! ~M

  2. Tee September 28, 2012 at 12:16 pm Reply

    You named the perfect reason to read the Shopaholic series: shirtless Luke Brandon. That man is DEAD SEXY. In the second book, he rips the buttons on his shirt. I’m just sayin. They’re are all super-cute (except the last one, Mini Shopaholic). It’s the same idea in each one, but I’ve always liked Becky and I love that even though she’s totally nuts, Luke digs her crazy. They’re so cute. And I’m in the same boat on Insurgent, obviously. Maggie, maybe you and I need to force each other to read it, AFTER Monsters of Men (so good).

    • Gone Pecan September 28, 2012 at 12:27 pm Reply

      if that’s not a recommendation to read the next shopaholic, i don’t know what is. i’m on top of that, rose! also, i need to read insurgent, as well. maybe we’re all just waiting for the third one to come out? ~d

Leave a Reply

