Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life.

Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best. Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

Favorite Quote:
 
“She entered a city made entirely of leather and paper.” (HELLO dream library!)
 

 Throne of Glass follows Celaena’s journey from the salt mines to the champion tournament though not as much of the tournament as I thought and more of the scandalous relationships at court and the murder mystery aspect of the story.    I’ve seen several reviews for this one from various blogger friends and the results were pretty evenly split between great and not so great reviews so I was a bit worried I wouldn’t like it even though I had been building it up so much in my head.    Still wary, I read all of the novellas before reading this and I LOVED them.  My opinion??  This book is great!  Reading the novellas just made me even more confident that I would like this one and it really helped me love Celaena even more.  I highly recommend them especially after reading the book since you will get more of a feel of how she lived as an assassin and how she came about to her change of heart.

 I only have two small complaints which I almost wouldn’t count because I fully expect the next book in the series to resolve.  One:  the ending.  I won’t spoil anything for anyone but it was a bit lackluster.  Some issues were resolved but obviously others were not to continue the series but as of late I’ve become so accustomed to serious cliffhangers it fell a bit for me.  Two:  the lack of magic.  There are a few hints throughout the book (and novellas) but magic doesn’t really come into play until about halfway into the story and even then I felt there could have been a bit more or at the very least what Celaena’s background was with it.  Outside of that this was a great book and enjoyed reading it.  Though as I said the ending was a huge cliffhanger it definitely left me wanting more of the story. 

 
 
 
4/5
 
~~*Maggie*~~
13 thoughts on “Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

  1. Brittany September 26, 2012 at 6:47 pm Reply

    I had to return this to the library before I finished but I’m still on the fence about the first 80 pages or so!

    • Gone Pecan September 26, 2012 at 9:23 pm Reply

      Ha. Did you read the novellas? That’s where you see all the assassin stuff.~m

      • Brittany September 27, 2012 at 7:39 am

        Oh nice! I only downloaded one of them (at the moment I don’t remember which), but maybe I should check that out before I get to pick the book back up again!

  2. Quinn September 27, 2012 at 8:38 am Reply

    I can’t decide if I should read this book. I have seen very positive reviews, and the teens at the library where I work rave about Throne of Glass. But I just don’t know if it is for me. But I feel bad for not trying. I really hate love triangles (absolutely no patience for them whatsoever) so that is part of the reason I haven’t read it. Also, I have a hard time getting into high fantast novels.

    But I should try it out. I love the cover! Awesome review.

    • Gone Pecan September 27, 2012 at 8:40 am Reply

      I feel the same way about love triangles. Though they introduce two potential guys there isn’t really much romance of any sort in this one, maybe further into the series?? ~m

  3. Tee September 28, 2012 at 12:11 pm Reply

    Oh great! Another series I need to read. 🙂 It sounds good though. I’m in!

    • Gone Pecan September 28, 2012 at 1:41 pm Reply

      Ha! Good luck. I can’t seem to make myself read anything these past couple of weeks, I’m renewing like crazy. ~M

  4. bookgoonie September 30, 2012 at 12:30 pm Reply

    Hmmm…I’ve mostly seen rave reviews for this one. Thanks for the read the novellas in advance advice.

    • Gone Pecan September 30, 2012 at 5:10 pm Reply

      It was a good book but story wise I def preferred the novellas. ~m

  5. […] – I much preferred her in CoM over Throne of Glass since she felt more like the old Celaena from the novellas.  At times I felt she might have been […]

  6. […] BOOKS IN SERIES: Throne of Glass Novellas, Throne of Glass, Crown of […]

  7. The NKOTB Book Tag | Gone Pecan March 20, 2015 at 2:38 pm Reply

    […] Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas – If someone doesn’t pick Celaena I’d be shocked. […]

  8. […] Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas                                              Attachments by Rainbow Rowell […]

Leave a Reply

