Casting Call [4] — The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

Our weekly attempt to cast some of our favorite books, along with our friends: 

Tee @ YA Crush

Candice @ The Grown-Up YA

Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide

Sandie @ Teen Lit Rocks

This weeks’ book:

Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?

Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan’s life. Having missed her flight, she’s stuck at JFK airport and late to her father’s second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon-to-be stepmother Hadley’s never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport’s cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he’s British, and he’s sitting in her row.

A long night on the plane passes in the blink of an eye, and Hadley and Oliver lose track of each other in the airport chaos upon arrival. Can fate intervene to bring them together once more?

Quirks of timing play out in this romantic and cinematic novel about family connections, second chances, and first loves. Set over a twenty-four-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver’s story will make you believe that true love finds you when you’re least expecting it.

Since this has so few characters in it, we’ve all decided to cast the whole book ourselves.  These are my picks:

Hadley is still reeling from her father’s betrayal.  She really doesn’t want to go to England for his wedding.  She hasn’t even met her future stepmother yet!  She’s so wrapped up in the mess of her family that she doesn’t absorb the fact that Oliver, her adorable hot English seatmate, is less than forthcoming about his own family.  I think Hadley is a little kick-ass and a little tough, going to England by herself at her age.  Tracy Spiridakos plays Charlie Matheson on Revolution and she’s kinda intimidating.  I also think she’s really pretty, in a natural way, and I think she would be a great Hadley.  I think the name fits her, too. 

 

Oliver is flying home to be with his family after spending time in America for college.  He’s smart, cute, kinda nerdy and completely delicious because of the British accent. It’s was hard to find the right guy, someone who’s British and adorable and the right age, but I think  I did a good job.  This is Christian Cooke. He looks like the typical college guy but also has a vulnerability to him that is pretty sexy. 

Mrs. Sullivan is left behind in America when her husband flies off to England to teach for a semester (she even encourages it!) and is devastated when he decides to stay and asks for a divorce.  She’s not a big presence in the book, but I will not abandon her!  Faith Ford is a great actress (and she’s from Louisiana, ya’ll!), and she looks like the comforting mom type who bakes cookies and goes to all your little league games. 

Mr. Sullivan, a college professor, has done the ultimate bad thing and fallen in love while he was still married to someone else.  Eh.  I ain’t gonna sugarcoat it, I don’t like cheating.  Anyway, I had to find someone who looked like they could be a college professor, good looking enough to get a younger woman, someone old enough for Faith Ford and someone who doesn’t look like a douchebag, though he could very well be.  My husband suggested Rob Morrow and I was like “YES!”  He could totally fill those shoes.  Sorry you’re a tool, Mr. Sullivan, but you’re nice to look at.

Charlotte is the other woman and Hadley wants nothing to do with her.  But Charlotte is a nice person who got caught in a difficult situation, at least according to her friend and bridesmaid Violet.  She’s not the bitchy stepmother who spews venom.  I picked Diane Kruger because I can see why Mr. Sullivan would cheat on his wife for her.  She’s not British, but I honestly don’t care at this point.  It’s my movie, I can make Charlotte German if I want.  I think she could be a German professor working in England.  I would buy that.  Plus, I love her and she’s one of my girlfriends (like my husband likes to call my female crushes). 

That’s it for this week!  Make sure you visit our friends to see who they cast.  Next week we’re casting Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. 

7 thoughts on “Casting Call [4] — The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. Brittany October 5, 2012 at 7:36 am Reply

    Oh, great choices! I was looking into Diane Kruger too. I really like her! I actually haven’t heard of the actors for your Hadley and Oliver – Is Revolution good? I’ve been interested in the clips I’ve seen.

    • Dixie October 5, 2012 at 8:04 am Reply

      it’s interesting, to say the least. kind of reminds me of lost, all this stuff is going on and you have no idea why.

  2. Quinn October 5, 2012 at 9:17 am Reply

    Okay, I am so excited that you are casting a book that I have read. The first few casting calls were on books I hadn’t read yet. But I have read this one!

    Okay, so I don’t know anything about Christian Cooke, but he is adorable. Certainly good looking, but you are so right, there is a certain vulnerability in that photo – which is something Oliver needs to have. I need to go look up Christian Cooke, now.

    • Dixie October 5, 2012 at 9:28 am Reply

      i know, right. i’d never heard of him, either, until i was researching hot English guys. it’s hard work, i tell ya.

  3. Tee October 5, 2012 at 11:02 am Reply

    I like all of your choices! I had to look up Christian Cooke and now I see that he’s going to be Mercutio in the next Romeo & Juliet movie. So stoked! He’s a good pick!

    • Dixie October 5, 2012 at 11:14 am Reply

      yay! at least he’s not Tybalt! is it sad that i’m most familiar with Romeo & Juliet because of Gnomeo & Juliet?

  4. Sandie @TeenLitRocks October 5, 2012 at 1:59 pm Reply

    Great picks! I love Rob Morrow (he and John Corbett are both Northern Exposure alums). Isn’t Diane Kruger gorgeous? I love her — plus she’s with Pacey, I mean Joshua Jackson, in real life 😉 I too picked an actor based on whether he could pass as a professor and was still attractive enough to appeal to a younger woman 😉

Leave a Reply

