Casting Call #5: Anna and the French Kiss

Our weekly attempt to cast some of our favorite books, along with our friends: 

Tee @ YA Crush

Candice @ The Grown-Up YA

Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide

Sandie @ Teen Lit Rocks

This weeks’ book:

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris – until she meets Etienne St. Clair: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he’s taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home. As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near – misses end with the French kiss Anna – and readers – have long awaited?

Now, I’m not ashamed to admit that I’m old and it’s been a long time since I read the book, about a year and a hal,f and I read a lot, so please forgive me for not remembering every character in the book.  So, because of that, I am only casting Anna and Etienne St. Clair, her eventual beau (that’s french, I know, I’m so fancy).  (And this is before Maggie & I started our blog, so I want to thank Tee for her fabulous review, she made me read a lot of books, she’s uber persuasive.)

Ariel Winter

Anna is an American girl in school in Paris.  Yes, that Paris.  Her new friends include a guy named Etienne, who just happens to be taken, but Anna and Etienne’s friendship is special and oozing with chemistry and Anna suddenly finding herself wanting to be the type of girl to steal a boyfriend.  Ariel Winter, I think, has the same kind of spunk that Anna possesses.  She’s smart and funny and age appropriate (because, seriously, my first choice would be Kat Dennings, but she’s too old now). She’s pretty without being intimidating and a little sweet looking, but as we all know from Modern Family, her acerbic wit will help to balance that out.  I also think Ariel could pull off the blonde stripe in Anna’s hair and make it look natural. Yeah, she’s kinda short, where Anna is tall, but you can’t have it all, people!

Jeremy Irvine

Etienne St. Clair.  St. Clair…  He’s a difficult character to cast because, even though Anna is ultimately the hero of the book, St. Clair is the fantasy.  He’s all kinds of wonderful.  He makes grown women weak in the knees (me included).  There really is no one who can fully embody this boy-man the way Stephanie Perkins wrote him.  I mean, he’s English and French, he’s short and he’s adorable.  That’s a tall order to fill, Ms. Perkins.  I decided to give up on the short issue.  It’s just not gonna happen.  Now, if I were a casting agent, the most important characteristic that the actor portraying St. Clair would have would be the English accent.  Next would be dark good looks and youthfulness.  Jeremy Irvine, above, does embody all those requirements.  He was in this little movie you may have heard of, War Horse, directed by some chap called Steven Spielberg.  He’s going places, I’m telling you.  Plus, he’s very easy on the eyes.  NO, he’s not exactly how I pictured St. Clair, but like I said, that’s a tall order, sister.  I am not ashamed to say that Jeremy makes my heart beat a little faster and my 16 year old self would be IN LOVE.  And I love his hair in this picture.

I cannot wait to see who my sisters have cast.  Anna and the French Kiss is a much beloved book, by me and anyone who’s read it, and casting it would be a pain in the bahonkey.  I would like to be in on that casting should it ever come to pass.  My favorite part of the book (and probably yours too, even though I’ve read it so long ago, I actually remember this part) is Anna and Etienne’s first kiss.  It was so perfect, so romantic and exactly how I would want my first kiss to be with the guy I’d been in love with for months.  Those freaking movie people better do it right, dagnabit!

By the way, starting next week, we’ll be opening this up for everyone to have an opportunity to get in on the fun.  Check out our Casting Call tab at the top up there to see what our upcoming casting projects are.  And have a great weekend!

6 thoughts on “Casting Call #5: Anna and the French Kiss

  1. Brittany October 12, 2012 at 7:33 am Reply

    Oh, I love Ariel Winter! She’s so great in Modern Family 🙂

  2. Sandie @TeenLitRocks October 12, 2012 at 8:27 am Reply

    Diana and I considered Sarah Hyland and Ariel Winter, but our guys were too old! I love Jeremy Irvine — and he definitely has that beautiful hair/beautiful boy look 😉 I can’t believe this book isn’t optioned!!

  3. Candice October 12, 2012 at 9:34 am Reply

    Cute, cute, cute! I love the girls from Modern Family and really want them to be in some great book adaptations, but I always think they look SO young. Then again, might be nice for a teen to be played by… you know, a teen. 🙂

  4. Tee October 12, 2012 at 10:22 am Reply

    Aww, I’m so glad my dorky review made you want to read this book. I love your picks. Goodness, this week we have so many lovely choices for our boy St. Clair. Now if only they’d actually make a movie.

  5. Elizabeth October 12, 2012 at 10:36 am Reply

    I’ve still not read Anna, only Lola, but their characters did make an appearance in Lola so I like your choice for Anna. I wasn’t all that impressed with St. Clair, so in my mind he is not a hottie (I know, I know, I must read Anna to understand), so I will not comment on that casting, other than that the actor is hotter than I imagined St. Clair.

  6. megamad4books August 16, 2013 at 5:55 am Reply

    Ariel Winter would actually be so perfect.

Leave a Reply

