Lundi Lagniappe #18

This is where we list and review the books we read that don’t get a full review on their own.  Lundi = Monday, Lagniappe = a little something extra. 

Pride, Prejudice and Jasmine Field by Melissa Nathan — Another retelling of my favorite book, Pride and Prejudice, this time in contemporary English London.  Darcy is a famous actor directing a stage version of Pride and Prejudice who falls for his Elizabeth, Jasmine Field, a journalist.  Very cute, very intricate and it’s amazing how closely it follows the original material.  4/5

Dancing at Midnight by Julia Quinn — Arabella Blydon, daughter of the peerage, meets and falls for wounded Army officer turned Lord, John Blackwood, while visiting his neighbor and her cousin, Emma.  He, of course, doesn’t think he’s good enough for her and, what do you know, someone is looking to kill him.  Great story.  3.75/5

~*~dixie~*~

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick – This was a great book!  I loved the Garretts and you will too.   READ IT NOW.

~*~maggie~*~

7 thoughts on “Lundi Lagniappe #18

  1. bookgoonie October 22, 2012 at 11:59 am Reply

    I wish I could read My Life Next Door right now.

  2. Brittany October 22, 2012 at 12:19 pm Reply

    I can’t wait to read My Life Next Door! Sigh. Someday…. Someday…..

  3. Candice October 22, 2012 at 3:14 pm Reply

    I really need to read me some Julia Quinn! And I definitely want to read My Life Next Door. As Brittany said.. someday… someday…

    • Dixie October 22, 2012 at 6:29 pm Reply

      start with the bridgertons!

  4. Quinn @ Quinn's Book Nook October 22, 2012 at 4:30 pm Reply

    I’ve read all of these books! I read Pride, Prejudice and Jasmin Field when I was in college. I loved that book, but my library now does not own a copy 😦

    I like Dancing at Midnight, but it isn’y my favorite JQ book. I have a very soft spot for How to Marry a Marquis (the MC is named Elizabeth!), and Daphne, Anthony and Colin Bridgerton’s stories. I also like What Happens in London because it is really funny. I like the book trailer for What Happens in London, too.

    • Gone Pecan October 22, 2012 at 5:22 pm Reply

      I have read all those, too, except for London, which I could read soon. I actually started it, but I was distracted. 🙂 I think Colin was my favorite Bridgerton cause I love the story and the heroine (Colin, too) a lot, but I liked Daphne (that’s my real name) and Anthony, too. I wanted to like Francesca’s story more, b/c I love unrequited love stories, but it was not as good as I was hoping. And I liked Eloise a lot, too. Have you read the second epilogues?

Leave a Reply

