Top 10 Tuesday #47

Brought to you by the girls at The Broke and The Bookish, each week we answer a bookish questions in 10 parts.  This week’s question:  10 Books to get you into the Halloween Spirit

Admitteldy, I am a scaredy cat.  I hate scary movies.  But scary books, I actually really like.  I grew up reading RL Stine and Christopher Pike, the masters of YA horror and suspense in the 80s and 90s.  And I also really like Stephen King.  I guess with a book, I can differentiate between reality and fiction and it’s harder to do with movies.

1.  Remember Me by Christopher Pike — A girl “wakes up” to find out she’s a ghost and goes about trying to figure out who could have killed her.  Such a great story.  I’ve read it several times and I actually bought a copy a few years ago just to have for whenever I decide to read it again.  It’s not so much scary as suspenseful.  There are two sequels.

2.  Pretty much anthing by Stephen King. My faves are Carrie, The Shining, Delores Claiborne, and Gerald’s Game.  I like Stephen’s work because a lot of time, it’s not so much about supernatural stuff that’s happening, but the evil of ordinary people.

3. The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson — Initially, it’s a book about Jack the Ripper, but it really is a ghost story, or series of stories.  It has a tendency to get a little creepy, but always very entertaining.

4.  Killing Mr. Griffin by Lois Duncan — Another go-to author from my adolescence.  This book in particular was  about a group of students who decide to scare their English teacher, a right bastard, but things go a little awry. This book was made into a movie called Killing Mrs. Tingle with Dawson’s Creek alum, Katie Holmes, several years later , but in post-Columbine America, the title was changed to Teaching Mrs. Tingle. This is the same author who brught us the original story, I Know What You Did Last Summer.

5.  The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting — Series about a girl, Violet, who gets impressions of animals and people who’ve died at the hand of someone else.  That’s not the creepy part.  She also gets mirror impressions of people/animals who’ve killed someone, which actually is very helpful to local law enforcement.  Such a cool concept and very well executed by Ms. Derting.  Plus there is a pretty awesome and romantic love story (oh, Jay).   I read this book and immediately made both Tee and Maggie read it.  There are currently three books out and another one coming out next year.

Honorable Mentions:

The Vanishing Game by Kate Kae Myers

Ruined by Paula Morris

I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga

~*~dixie~*~

6. Possess by Gretchen McNeil – I will never stop talking about this book!!

7. Ten by Gretchen McNeil – Notice a pattern?  I pre-ordered this one because I loved Possess so much but I haven’t quite gotten to it in my TBR pile.

8. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling – Really?  Is there any other choice?

9. Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins – A fun witch story!! But speaking of fun stories. . .

10. Don’t Expect Magic by Kathy McCullough  – Soooooo cute!

~*~ maggie~*~

16 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #47

  1. Christine @ BookishlyB October 23, 2012 at 11:11 am Reply

    Carrie, for sure! I remember growing up with all the Christopher Pike and RL Stine books, too.

    • Gone Pecan October 23, 2012 at 5:57 pm Reply

      I loved Stine and Pike, and read most of their books, but other than this one, they didn’t leabe a big impression. They were definitely hit or miss.

  2. Rory O'Connor October 23, 2012 at 12:23 pm Reply

    Stephen King is a great October read. I am not a squemish person by any means, but I cannot handle the hand scene in Gerald’s Game. Clown eating children (IT), no problem, pulling a hand through a handcuff, ick…

  3. Brittany October 23, 2012 at 12:57 pm Reply

    I loved The Body Finder! I’m so glad I read it 🙂
    Are the ghosts in The Name of the Star too scary for a wimp like me? LOL. I need you to be honest since I may or may not be reading this.

    • Gone Pecan October 23, 2012 at 1:02 pm Reply

      Oh, one is scary, but it’s totally worth it. But i feel like you won’t read it anyway, and that’s okay. 😉 ~d

      • Brittany October 23, 2012 at 1:18 pm

        I want to! I love the Jack the Ripper connection there… I’m just terrified of ghosts! I want to make sure I won’t freak myself out haha

  4. Lucy October 23, 2012 at 2:39 pm Reply

    I don’t think I read Killing Mr. Griffin, though it looks like one I would have. Carrie is a good one too, and I’ll never forget that movie. Terrifying! Don’t Expect Magic looks like more my speed these days – I’ve become a scaredy cat with movies and books. Happy spooky reading!

  5. bookgoonie October 23, 2012 at 3:34 pm Reply

    The Body Finder fits so well. LOVE!!!! I need to read some Christopher Pike.

  6. Tee October 23, 2012 at 3:40 pm Reply

    I’ll forever owe you girls for The Body Finder. I love that series. Do you remember how you got me to read it though? You told me that Jay was swoony like Michael Moscovitz (which was SO true!). Love it. 🙂

    • Gone Pecan October 23, 2012 at 5:54 pm Reply

      That’s a great feeling, being right 😉

      • Tee October 26, 2012 at 10:01 am

        🙂

  7. Elizabeth October 23, 2012 at 3:40 pm Reply

    I have to read The Body Finder after seeing it on your list and on Tee’s– it sounds like a fun book!

    • Gone Pecan October 23, 2012 at 6:02 pm Reply

      You would love it!

    • Tee October 26, 2012 at 10:01 am Reply

      Oh, read it! So awesome. Really.

  8. Gone with the Words (@gonewiththeword) October 23, 2012 at 4:31 pm Reply

    That Remember Me cover looks freaking creepy!! And I totally agree about The Body Finder!

  9. cayce006 October 23, 2012 at 5:16 pm Reply

    Oh, I didn’t know Killing Mrs. Tingle was based on a book. I’ll have to check it out! Thanks!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

