Top 10 Tuesday #48

 
This week’s Top 10 (hosted by The Broke and the Bookish) is about Kick-Ass Heroines, which is something that Maggie & I tend to gravitate towards.  It took no time coming up with this list, but as I put it together, I realized a theme.  Do you notice that all of our heroines are written by women?  Coincidence?  I think not.  Maggie has the market cornered on brand-new heroines while I went the traditional route.  All of these women/girls have something in them that makes them not rest on their laurels, they fight for what they believe in and they aren’t satisfied with the status quo.  And they don’t let society or anyone else hold them back.  It might be like swimming upstream, but in the end, the struggle is worth it, especially if it enables other women/girls to follow in their footsteps.
 
Top 10 Kick-Ass Heroines:
 
1. Ember Morrow (Rift  Nightshade Prequel) by Andrea Cremer
 
2. Celaena Sardothien  (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas
 
3. Elliot North (For Darkness Shows the Stars #1) by Diana Peterfreund
 
4. Avry of Zazan (Healer Series #1) by Maria V Snyder
 
5. Katsa (Graceline Realm #1) by Kristin Cashore
 
~*~maggie~*~
 
6.  Elizabeth Bennett (Pride and Prejudice) by Jane Austen
 
7.  Anne Shirley  (Anne of Green Gables) by L. M. Montgomery
 
8.  Hermione Granger & Ginny Weasley  (Harry Potter) by J. K. Rowling
 
9.  Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games) by Suzanne Collins
 
10.  Clary Fray &  Isabelle Lightwood (The Mortal Instruments) by Cassandra Clare
 
~*~dixie~*~
13 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #48

  1. Brittany October 30, 2012 at 7:43 am Reply

    Really great choices!!! I love Ember and Katsa… And Hermione… and Katniss… and Anne.. Okay I just like the whole list!

  2. Candice October 30, 2012 at 8:59 am Reply

    Great list! Love all these characters!

  3. Liesel Hill October 30, 2012 at 12:11 pm Reply

    Awesome picks! Love Lizzie Bennet and Anne Shirley! 😀 My TTTs are at Musings on Fantasia and LKHill. Happy Tuesday! 😀

  4. Quinn October 30, 2012 at 12:29 pm Reply

    Elizabeth Bennet is on my list, too! I think she is totally amazing, and definitely kickass. Although I am sure she would never use the word kickass 🙂

    Of course Hermione! She is amazing!

    Great list 🙂

    • dixie October 30, 2012 at 1:35 pm Reply

      lizzie would not use kickass, but she would come up with some really articulate and demeaning putdown. she rawks.

  5. Katie October 30, 2012 at 2:16 pm Reply

    Great choices, I really like your whole list!

  6. Tee October 30, 2012 at 4:37 pm Reply

    Awesome list! I love that you included Hermione. I totally forgot her.

  7. Lucy October 30, 2012 at 6:13 pm Reply

    From the cover, it looks like Rift has a kick-ass character and I’m glad that’s the case. Isabelle is such a great choice too, how could I forget her? Awesome list! Glad there’s so many powerful heroines to choose from.

  8. Micheline (@MissMimz) October 31, 2012 at 10:57 am Reply

    Oh great choices! Katniss, Hermoine & Ginny all made my TTT as well. I still can’t believe I forgot Anne ♥ …or Isabelle & Clary. Graceling & Throne of Glass are on my reading list as well 🙂 Thanks for sharing, new follower via Twitter!

    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows

  9. Shelver506 October 31, 2012 at 8:58 pm Reply

    We picked a few of the same people. Great list!

    My TTT: http://shelversanon.blogspot.com/2012/10/top-10-tuesday-i-am-no-man.html

  10. Elliot North is such a wonderful choice. She is a “quiet” character and doesn’t literally kick anybody’s butt, but you are right that she is so strong. I LOVED that book and love that you thought out of the box on this!

    • Gone Pecan November 4, 2012 at 12:25 pm Reply

      Thanks! It was a great book. Thanks for stopping by too!! ~M

Leave a Reply

