Casting Call Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Welcome to Casting Call!   This is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely ladies (including ourselves of course), Tee @ YA Crush, Sandie & Diana @ Teen Lit Rocks, Candice @ The Grown-Up YA, and Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide.  Please check out their castings because they are all awesome!  Want to create your own and participate??  It’s easy!!  Just link up over @ Teen Lit Rocks.

This week’s book we are casting:

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion . . . she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit—more sparkly, more fun, more wild—the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket—a gifted inventor—steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

So by now I’m sure most of you are in love with the fluffy, gooey, swooney books that I refer to “a la Perkins”.  Her books are so adorable that you can’t help but love everyone in the them and hope they are living happily ever after somewhere in book world.

Lola:

Ariana Grande – I had to dig deep for this one.  I just couldn’t find who I really wanted to play Lola and then I stumbled across this pick and I knew.  Ariana is from Victorious and has also been on Broadway so I know she will have that dramatic flare.

Cricket:

David Henrie – Unlike my choice for Lola, I knew who I wanted for Cricket while I was reading the book.  David is the perfect Cricket.  Tall, gangly, and super adorable.

Calliope:

Julia Goldani Telles – I didn’t know who to pick for Cricket’s twin so this is a Dixie pick.  According to D Julia plays on Bunheads and can play the part of snarky Calli.

Dad # 1 – Nathan:

Paul Rudd – I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned it but I love Paul Rudd (almost as much as I love Jason Bateman, you’ll see.)  He is absolutely hilarious but can also play a sweet, sensitive, more serious character as well.  Since he is Lola’s biological uncle and has dealings with his sister I think he would fit this role perfectly.

Dad # 2 – Andy:

Jason Bateman – You’re pinching my arm skin!!! (Does anyone else remember that line from The Sweetest Thing?? LOVE IT)  Jason Bateman is the best.  I love his insult-style comedy and I think between him and Paul they would make the movie.

Well that’s all I have this week, what about you?  Who would you cast??

***~~Maggie~~**

15 thoughts on “Casting Call Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Brittany November 2, 2012 at 7:41 am Reply

    Ahh I love your choices! I love Paul Rudd and Jason Bateman too. They’d be hilarious dads! ALL of your picks are great!

    • Gone Pecan November 2, 2012 at 7:48 am Reply

      Thanks! I love to laugh so they would be a great addition to the movie IMO. ~M

  2. Elizabeth November 2, 2012 at 8:47 am Reply

    Oh! I like your choice for Lola… never heard of that actress, but she looks like she could play quirky Lola perfectly!

  3. Sandie @TeenLitRocks November 2, 2012 at 9:02 am Reply

    Brilliant dad choices — those two are hilarious and soooo cute! Not familiar with your Lola and Cricket picks as actors, but they sure fit the bill physically. Love David’s eyes!

    • Gone Pecan November 2, 2012 at 9:20 am Reply

      Thanks! They are Disney kids. 🙂

  4. Candice November 2, 2012 at 9:43 am Reply

    Oh David Henrie is my favorite! I’ll admit, I totally watched Wizards of Waverly Place. 🙂 I also love your dad picks and Calliope picks! Great job ladies!

  5. Lucy November 2, 2012 at 12:57 pm Reply

    I love your dad choices! Very inspired casting. Your Cricket and Lola pics are fab too and line up with how I envisioned them.

    • Gone Pecan November 2, 2012 at 4:52 pm Reply

      Thanks!! I think this is my fav cast we’ve done I date.

  6. Tee November 2, 2012 at 4:37 pm Reply

    OMG Paul Rudd and Jason Bateman. SO perfect. I love them. You girls are so my people.

  7. Diana November 3, 2012 at 7:46 am Reply

    I love your picks! I pictured the dads a bit older, probably because I’m older than both of them and I have a 17 year old, but they would be so funny! (by the way, just saw a trailer last night of an upcoming movie with Paul Rudd and you will probably love ii, it’s called This is 40).

    • Gone Pecan November 3, 2012 at 10:08 am Reply

      I shall investigate ASAP! Thanks! ~M

  8. Quinn November 5, 2012 at 7:48 am Reply

    Oh my gosh, I love Paul Rudd and Jason Bateman as Lola’s dads. Such a great idea! I think they would be fantastic!

Leave a Reply

