The Bloggers formally known as. . .

writing
Dear Reader,
As Daphne (that’s right I said Daphne, NOT Dixie) said on twitter we are out of the metaphorical closet.  You see when we starting this blog almost two years ago (WHAT?  When did that happen?!  July will really make two years?) we weren’t sure if we were going to keep it up.  We loved reading other blogs and thought why the heck couldn’t we start our own but we both tend to have flightly tendencies and that doesn’t always add up to success.  So since we weren’t sure if we were sticking around we decided to post under alter egos so to speak to protect ourselves from backlash or if we just got lazy and gave up.
Well low and behold we are still here.  I’ve been talking to A LOT of people about this lately because I feel horrible talking to our blogging friends under a false name.  So as I get to know a new blogger I have to explain the situation.  I don’t want any blogger (or blog reader/follower) to feel we lied to them because we love all of you guys and how welcoming you all have been and we want to talk to everyone as ourselves. So with all that being said my name isn’t Maggie, it’s Kristina or as so many people love to call me (and I don’t mean that in a sarcastic way), Kiki.  I answer to both so feel free to use them.  So let’s laugh and move on like this never happened.
The Blogger formally known as Maggie,
Kristina
~*~
I don’t know why we ultimately decided to post under pseudonyms, but when we were coming up with names, we wanted something southern sounding.  I went with Dixie because it was so old-fashioned and obnoxiously southern, but over the course of a year and a half, I really have come to appreciate my alter-ego.  I will miss Miss Dixie and she’ll always have a place in my heart.  Now I’m just plain old Daphne (which is a great name in it’s own right, but I’ve lived with it all my life, so you can understand that I am a little bored with it).  Anyway, thanks for visiting with us and hopefully this will help us to get to know each other better.
Daphne
Kristina

Kristina

Daphne

Daphne

15 thoughts on “The Bloggers formally known as. . .

  1. Brittany December 4, 2012 at 9:19 am Reply

    Yay!!

  2. Alyssa December 4, 2012 at 9:38 am Reply

    LOVE THIS. Also laughed so hard. You should have seen me months ago emailing B like “UHH so did you know Maggie is really Kristina because that was confusing and slightly strange!!” hahaha I kind of wish I started with an alter-ego because you’re kind of like Batman in a way and also it would be fun to make up a fake life but I would either forget to keep this up and confuse people more orrr start living the lie…which would be…awkward…so anywho….YAYYYY Love Kiki and Daphne! Best names I have ever heard ;]

    • Gone Pecan December 4, 2012 at 9:57 am Reply

      I wish I was like Batman, I’d be rich.

  3. Elizabeth December 4, 2012 at 9:59 am Reply

    For some reason I always thought Maggie was a real name and Dixie was a pseudonym. I don’t know why I thought one of you wanted to be incognito, but not the other. Though I will say, I never thought Kristina looked like a Maggie… Kristina/Kiki fits better. And Daphne is a way cooler name than Dixie. (I’ve seriously spent way too much much time in the world of baby names lately.) I’m glad you decided to share your real names with us, I’ll try to remember to use the right ones!

    • Gone Pecan December 4, 2012 at 10:06 am Reply

      don’t worry, I will answer to either 🙂 How’s the baby-cooking coming along?

      • Elizabeth December 4, 2012 at 10:09 am

        Good! Found out we’re having a girl, so I am super duper excited. I really need to get my butt into gear on cleaning/shopping for the baby, but I still have four months, so I’m enjoying the last days of lazy for now!

      • Daphne December 5, 2012 at 7:24 am

        oh yay! a girl! do you know that girls who are first borns do very well in life? i’m so excited for you. have you decided on a name? my husband and I had our names picked out before we became pregnant, even though we did play around with the names while they were in the oven (almost went with Declan for Jonah)

  4. Tee December 4, 2012 at 10:53 am Reply

    Hooray! I love that you ladies put up pics as well. Beautiful!

    • Kristina December 4, 2012 at 10:56 am Reply

      I love that I thought we could just slip this in and move on. It seems to be a popular post today. 😛

  5. Candice December 4, 2012 at 1:01 pm Reply

    GASP!!!! I did not see this coming!!!

    Bazinga! Totally did! 🙂 Glad you ladies decided to go with your real names, although you’ll always be Maggie and Dixie to me! Except I’ll totally call you by your real names, because that would be polite.

    • Daphne December 5, 2012 at 7:25 am Reply

      southerners are always so polite.

    • Alyssa December 10, 2012 at 6:34 pm Reply

      “This is BRAND NEW INFORMATION!!!”

      Had to add that Friends quote in there guys.

  6. Alice in Readerland December 5, 2012 at 2:23 pm Reply

    I loved reading this post; ‘Gone Pecan’ is one of my favorite book blogs so it was fun getting to learn your names & see your pictures! 🙂

    • Daphne December 6, 2012 at 11:31 am Reply

      thank you!

Leave a Reply

