Top 10 Tuesday #54

top-103Hosted by the girls @ The Broke and The Bookish

Top Ten Favorite New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2012

attachments

1. Rainbow Rowell–She wrote this little book called Attachments that both Kristina & I loved (thanks, Kiki).  She has two more books coming out next year, both YA and we couldn’t be more excited.

outlander

2.  Diana Gabaldon–Kristina and I participated in a read-along for Outlander about a woman from 1940s England is sent back in time to 1700s Scotland.  It was moving, epic, sexy and pretty freaking amazing.  I will eventually continue the series…someday…

daughter

3.  Laini Taylor–Daughter of Smoke and Bone was another of my favorites from the last year.  Laini Taylor has a really poetic writing style that I loved.

4. Manda Collins–This author wrote How to Dance With a Duke and How to Romance a Rake.  I am looking forward to the third book in the Ugly Duckling regency romance series, How to Entice an Earl, which comes out next month.  Birthday present to myself?  Don’t mind if I do.

treasure

5.  Lisa Rumsey Harris–The debut book by Ms. Harris, The Unlikely Gift of Treasure Blume, was such a great treat.  I am glad I went against the grain for this one because it was totally not something I would normally even look at twice, but I loved it.

such a rush

6.  Jennifer Echols–I had been interested in her books for a while, but just never got around to getting one.  During my first Bout of Books, I started Major Crush and it was so cute, I immediately found something else of hers to read.  I also reviewed her latest, Such a Rush, another favorite for the year.  She’s definitely become a go-to when I want a good contemporary YA book.  She has an adult series coming out next year and I am on Pins and Needles for it.

confessions

7.  Sophie Kinsella–I picked up Confessions of a Shopaholic on audio for a trip and it was just so funny and cute.  Then I picked up I’ve Got Your Number and LOVED IT.  I will be making my way through her whole backlist.

8.  Lisa Lutz–Geez, I wish I remembered who recommended The Spellman Files, was it Brittany @ Book Addict’s Guide or was it Elizabeth @ Don’t Take My Books Away?  Either way, thanks girls.  I went through all five books back to back.  Izzy is one of my favorite contemporary characters and I hope the next book gives her a happy ending.

scorpio races

9.  Maggie Stiefvater–The Scorpio Races was another book that I picked up on audio and I really wasn’t expecting too much from it, but it was so well-written and intriguing.  She’s definitely a go to author now.

You don't have to

10.  Sara Manning–I don’t even remember how I stumbled upon this British Chick Lit author, but I do know that I fell in love.  Especially with the first book I read, You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me.  Sigh.  I want to read everything she’s ever written and ever will write.

12 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #54

  1. Candice December 11, 2012 at 8:23 am Reply

    Love your list! While I haven’t read a couple of these authors, the ones I have read I’ve totally loved! I really, really, REALLY want to read Outlander! One day!

    • Daphne December 11, 2012 at 8:39 am Reply

      Outlander was great! I might want to reread it, too. Another read along?

  2. Lianne @ rulethewaves.net December 11, 2012 at 9:00 am Reply

    Great list! I only read Outlander from Diane Gabaldon and like you, I may get around to the rest of the series one of these days xD

    Here’s my TTT for this week 🙂

    • Daphne December 11, 2012 at 9:57 am Reply

      let’s wait until next year 🙂

  3. Elizabeth December 11, 2012 at 10:51 am Reply

    Rainbow Rowell, of course I agree. And I also liked the Spellman Series, though I think it was Brittany who brought those to my attention… those characters are such a hoot! I’m nervous to read Outlander as it is very long and I am wimp when it comes to long books. Someday, maybe I’ll brave it out.

    • Daphne December 11, 2012 at 11:07 am Reply

      it is long, but it’s a quick read. 🙂 I can’t wait to hear what you think of it.

  4. Alice in Readerland December 11, 2012 at 12:00 pm Reply

    I adore Sophie Kinsella’s books and Sara Manning’s books look so good! My TTT list: http://aliceinreaderland.wordpress.com/2012/12/10/top-ten-favorite-new-to-me-authors-i-read-in-2012/

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  5. Christina (A Reader of Fictions) December 11, 2012 at 12:13 pm Reply

    I also only discovered Taylor this year, though I totally forgot to add her to my list! I’ll be reading my first Rowell book soon (Eleanor & Park) and I hope to try Jennifer Echols sometime soon.

    • Daphne December 11, 2012 at 12:17 pm Reply

      I just got another Jennifer echols book for Christmas and I am SOO excited! and I absolutely recommend Attachments if you can get it.

  6. Bethany Farwell December 11, 2012 at 2:48 pm Reply

    Great list! Definitely have to check out some of your picks!
    -Beth

    YA Vixens Top Ten Tues!

  7. Rory O'Connor December 11, 2012 at 5:21 pm Reply

    Outlander is great (I’ve read the first three now), but each addition to the series is huge (and intimidating)

  8. DeniseF December 11, 2012 at 7:20 pm Reply

    Great list! The Outlander series is one of my favorite series of all time!

Leave a Reply

