The Selective Collective Secret Santa Gift Exchange

MH900422473 We decided to do two Secret Santa swaps this year.  We are participating in the Broke and the Bookish’s SS but we wanted to do a smaller one with the girls in our Selective Collective group.  So after a bit of trial and error we found a site that would do the picking for us so if could be a secret for everyone involved and with this post we are all learning with you guys who got who and what they got. 🙂

Kristina’s Secret Santas:

Who I picked:

Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide

Brittany is one of my best blogging buddies.   We talk every day whether it be emails, twitter, google chat, texting or any combination.  I was excited to get her because we’ve had several talks about the whole southern use of y’all and how she was jealous that she couldn’t say it so I knew that if I got her I was sending her something with y’all on it.  I found her a coffe mug that says “Honorary Cajun” a decorative towel that says “Merry Christmas Y’all!”, a book off her wishlist, and a couple of bookish items as well.  Now unfortunately I wasn’t thinking and I mailed her gift out before I took a pic but I know you will be able to see it over on her blog. 🙂

Who picked me:

Diana @ Teen Lit Rocks

Diana is our least chatty member of the SC but that is because of her limited email access during the day so it was nice to get something from her because she’s still a bit of a mystery to some of us.  (Obvs not her sister :P) Diana got me a lovely owl journal, a great smelling lavender soap, and a copy of Beautiful Creatures, a book off my wishlist. It’s great that she got me the movie tie in version of the book since it will help me identify with the people cast and I will be ready for when the movie comes out. (It also has a nifty poster!)  Thanks for my lovely gifts Diana!

scss

Daphne’s Secret Santas:

Who I Picked:

Sandie from Teen Lit Rocks

Sandie is a journalist and has interviewed celebrities and gets to watch movies for “work.”  She also travels a lot and seems to me (a little southern girl who’s not been too many places) to be the cosmopolitan woman-about-town.  As a book blogger who’s been doing this for a while, as well as a journalist, she also has a lot of contacts in the publishing industry, so finding a book she wants but doesn’t have?  Darn near impossible.  I ended up sending her a book that I’d read recently, The Lonely Heart’s Club by Elizabeth Eulberg.  Literally the day after, Sandie updated her goodreads noting that she’d already read The Lonely Heart’s Club.  Oh well, you can’t win them all. 🙂 I also sent her some Community Coffee (a local Louisiana coffee company), some homemade soap I found on Etsy, and a notebook for her to take notes for work articles.  I really hope she liked the pressies.  I had fun picking things out for her.  Also, I didn’t take a picture of the presents either.

Who Picked Me:

Candice from The Grown Up YA

Candice is one of the first blogging friends we made.  She started visiting our little blog and commenting and so we started checking her out and discovered how much we have in common and we just became fast friends.  Then came the Selective Collective and now we pretty much talk to Candice nearly every day.  I also feel a little bit a connection to her because she’s another southerner (Alabama, y’all) and a big Crimson Tide fan (like me, unlike Kristina).  Candice went ALL OUT.  My new best friend sent me enough chocolate to choke an elephant.  My youngest son and I had quite a sugar-filled afternoon.  She also sent me two books:  Going Too Far by Jennifer Echols and Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married by Marian Keyes, both of which I had been wanting to read for a while.  Candice also sent me two adorable shades of fingernail polish and two different sets of stationery, which are very nice.  And a great big ole Roll Tide button, which I will be using on game day, ahem. 🙂  Thanks Candice!

not all of the peppermint bark is shown, I don't know what happened to it.

not all of the peppermint bark is shown, I don’t know what happened to it.

this is my son after we opened my secret santa gift

this is my son after we opened and sampled my secret Santa gift

So that’s what we got.  We are so thankful for our SC ladies and love our daily chats.  Thanks to Diana and Candice for our lovely gifts!!!

Check out what the rest of the SC got for Christmas!

Tee @ YA Crush

Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide

Candice @ The Grown-Up YA

Sandie & Diana @ Teen Lit Rocks

Don't let this be you this holiday season. Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!

Don’t let this be you this holiday season. Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!

7 thoughts on “The Selective Collective Secret Santa Gift Exchange

  1. Sandie @TeenLitRocks December 20, 2012 at 6:59 am Reply

    Daphne, that’s hilarious that your gift to me and Diana’s to Kiki were so similar; we didn’t even talk about it until after I opened my package! lol. Thanks again for the goodies and especially for sending me some Community Coffee, which you can’t get here. I’m sorry if I was tough to buy for — but I really did love my gifts!

    Kiki, your package and mine were pretty similar! Diana really does have an addiction to Amazon, so I think it’s funny she got all your stuff there.

    • daphne December 20, 2012 at 7:35 am Reply

      I am so glad you liked your gifts, sandie. isn’t Christmas the best?!?! 🙂

  2. Brittany December 20, 2012 at 7:45 am Reply

    Very cute!! Man, we have such an awesome group of people! I can’t to hear how Beautiful Creatures is!! It’s on my TBR list after it FINALLY popped up on my radar after seeing the trailer. Oops? I guess better late than never 🙂

  3. Alyssa December 20, 2012 at 8:04 am Reply

    Um. I love the cat.

    Also YAY PRESSIES!

    • daphne December 20, 2012 at 8:08 am Reply

      I am utterly obsessed with this cat. it’s all over my pinterest account. 🙂

  4. Candice December 20, 2012 at 8:20 am Reply

    Yay! So glad you liked your gifts Daphne! I had a ball picking stuff out and I really really really hope you LOVE Lucy Sullivan – you know, because it’s my all time favorite book and all. 🙂 Also, funny story about Going Too Far (well, two funny stories actually): I had picked it up at the book store because I thought it sounded good, then later on checked your wish list on Goodreads and saw you were wanting to read it! I started it – it’s pretty good so far! – but it takes place in Shelby County, AL which is where I’m from! So anyway… yeah, hope you enjoy it too! Also, my bag of peppermint bark disappeared kinda quickly too. Except I don’t have a son to blame it’s disappearance on… 😉

  5. Tee December 20, 2012 at 11:41 am Reply

    Everything is so cute, you guys! Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

