Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier

sbGwen’s life has been a rollercoaster since she discovered she was the Ruby, the final member of the secret time-traveling Circle of Twelve. In between searching through history for the other time-travelers and asking for a bit of their blood (gross!), she’s been trying to figure out what all the mysteries and prophecies surrounding the Circle really mean.

At least Gwen has plenty of help. Her best friend Lesley follows every lead diligently on the Internet. James the ghost teaches Gwen how to fit in at an eighteenth century party. And Xemerius, the gargoyle demon who has been following Gwen since he caught her kissing Gideon in a church, offers advice on everything. Oh, yes. And of course there is Gideon, the Diamond. One minute he’s very warm indeed; the next he’s freezing cold. Gwen’s not sure what’s going on there, but she’s pretty much destined to find out.

Source:  Library

Favorite Quote:

“You kiss kind of like. . . how strawberries tastes.”

Story Breakdown:

Gwen and Gideon are on a race to complete the circle by collecting blood from all 12 members before Paul and Lucy, members who they’ve been told have gone rogue, complete their circle.  In-between time traveling, school, and family Gwen must also continue her crash course in all things of the past to help as part of her cover.

Character Highlights:

 Gideon (The Diamond) –  I really wish we could know what he was thinking and have alternating POV chapters so we could see all of the stuff they keep hidden from Gwen.  So much is still a mystery, including Gideon.

Gwen (The Ruby) – I love all of her sassiness and willingness to talk back and respect herself.  She’s got a backbone but why can’t everyone just give her a chance instead of talking down to her as well as talking down about her, in front of her?  I promise you if someone talked about me like that in front of me those situations wouldn’t have ended quite the same.

Lesley – God I love this gal.  She is the ultimate best friend.  Like in the first book of the series, Ruby Red, Lesley still believes Gwen wholeheartedly and is with her at every turn.  I love that the story doesn’t even hint at a riff about keeping secrets, etc.  They are open, honest, and help each other.  LOVE.

Raphael – Gideon 2.0.  I thought I was ok with one hot guy in the book but turns out it was missing another hot guy.  Can’t wait to hopefully see more of him in the next book.

General Thoughts:

I loved the cover (as usual) and the title, both I found gorgeous.  Xemerius the gargoyle brought a comic relief to the book that I loved since the storyline itself is a bit more mysterious and darker.  The story picks up where book one left off but it’s a bit hard to fathom that the first two books span a week.  A week!  With all of the time travel you feel like it’s been years.  As the same with the first book in the series I felt Sapphire translated well, was quick paced, and suspenseful enough that you don’t even notice you’ve read half the books before you look up.  This was a great follow up and didn’t fall into any of the second book issues I normally have and cannot wait for the conclusion!

4.5/5 ( I think I would have given a solid five if I wouldn’t get so turned around with the time traveling.)

3 thoughts on “Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier

  1. bookgoonie December 30, 2012 at 9:22 am Reply

    This is one of those series I want to try. I need to check out the library too.

    • Gone Pecan December 30, 2012 at 2:39 pm Reply

      I really like it. I’m always wary when books are translated. Let me know what you think!

  2. Top 10 Tuesday #79 | Gone Pecan July 16, 2013 at 7:58 am Reply

    […] 2.  Kerstin Gier – I reviewed the first two books in her time travel series Ruby Red & Sapphire Blue and I’m very anxiously awaiting the third and final book Emerald Green.  This book was […]

Leave a Reply

