Daphne’s Year End Post 2012

end

Kristina completed her survey weeks ago, but last year I remember doing my survey and then reading one of my favorite books before Dec 31, so I thought I’d wait until the year was truly over.  Well, here you go.  You can stop holding your breath now.

1. Best Book You Read In 2012? (You can break it down by genre if you want)

These are the books that I gave 5 stars to on Goodreads, but my personal faves are in BOLD.

YA:

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Being Friends with Boys by Terra Elan McVoy

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

Chick Lit:

Where We Belong by Emily Giffin

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Somebody to Love by Kristan Higgins

The Unlikely Gift of Treasure Blume by Lisa Rumsey Harris

Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married by Marian Keyes

You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me by Sarra Manning

Who’s Afraid of Mr. Wolfe? by Hazel Osmond

Romance:

A Perfect Storm by Lori Foster

Hot Under Pressure by Louisa Edwards

All Summer Long by Susan Mallery

At Last by Jill Shalvis

Run the Risk by Lori Foster

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Decked With Holly by Marni Bates — I loved Awkward, but this follow-up did not rise to the challenge.  Still enjoyable, though.

Willow Springs by Toni Blake —  Book 5 in a series that I read back to back, I was really looking forward to this one because 1) it’s about best friends who fall in love and 2) I thought it would be about one of them having unrequited feelings for the other, but that just wasn’t the case.  Plus, it was a little darker than I was anticipating.

Underworld by Meg Cabot — I loved Abandoned, which was a play on the Persephone myth, but this one fell a little flat for me.  Pierce, our heroine, annoyed me.  She was very flaky and fickle in this book.  I hope the final book shows a more mature and more palatable Pierce.

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2012? 

The Unlikely Gift of Treasure Blume by Lisa Rumsey Harris.  I said before that I wasn’t expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised by the depth and overall greatness of this book.  Also, Wallbanger by Alice Clayton, which is supposed to be reimagined Twilight fanfiction, but I loved it.

4. Book you recommended to people most in 2012?

I cannot say enough about Attachments, The Unlikely Gif of Treausure Blume, and Daughter of Smoke and Bone.  Also, The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz.

5. Best series you discovered in 2012?

The Inn Boonesboro by Nora Roberts, Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, Shades of London by Maureen Johnson, Lumatere Chronicles by Melina Marchetta, Destiny by Toni Blake, Jasper Dent by Barry Lyga, Play by Play by Jaci Burton, Razor Bay by Susan Andersen, The Sullivans by Bella Andre, Love Undercover by Lori Foster, The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz, The Liar’s Club by Celeste Bradley, and Ugly Ducklings by Manda Collins

6. Favorite new authors you discovered in 2012?

Toni Blake, Laini Taylor, Lisa Lutz

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga.  Horror/Suspense is not really a new genre for me, but it’s definitely out of my comfort zone.  This was a great book and a promising start to a new series.

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2012?

Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Attachments

9. Book You Read In 2012 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year:

If I were to reread any book from 2012 this year, it would be Where We Belong by Emily Giffin and Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2012?

i hunt killers 

This is just the dust jacket, the inner hardback of the book is white with blood spatters, outlining a male figure.  Tres Cool.

11. Most memorable character in 2012?

Izzy Spellman from The Spellman Files and Jamie Fraser from Outlander

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2012?

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

 13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2012?

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green, Where We Belong by Emily Giffin

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2012 to finally read?

Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta, Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen, Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella, Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2012?

“Because I wanted you.”  He turned from the window to face me.  “More than I ever wanted anything in my life,” he added softly.

I continued staring at him, dumbstruck.  Whatever I had  been expecting, it wasn’t this.  Seeing my openmouthed expression, he continued lightly.  “When I asked my da how ye knew which was the right woman, he told me when the time came, I’d have no doubt.  And I didn’t.  When I woke in the dark under that tree on the road to Leoch, with you sitting on my chest, cursing me for bleeding to death, I said to myself, ‘Jamie Fraser, for all ye canna see what she looks like, and for all she weighs as much as a good draft horse, this is the woman'”

I started toward him, and he backed away, talking rapidly.  “I said to myself, ‘She’s mended ye twice in as many hours, me lad; life amongst the MacKenzies being what it is, it might be as well to wed a woman as can stanch a wound and set broken bones.’  And I said to myself, ‘Jamie, lad, if her touch feels so bonny on your collarbone, imagine what it might feel like lower down…'”

He dodged around a chair.  “Of course, I thought it might ha’ just been the effects of spending four months in a monastery, without benefit of female companionship, but then that ride through the dark together”–he paused to sigh theatrically, neatly evading my grab at his sleeve–“with that lovely broad arse wedged between my thighs”–he ducked a blow aimed at his left ear and sidestepped, getting a low table between us–“and that rock-solid head thumping me in the chest”–a small metal ornament bounced off his own head and went clanging to the floor–“I said to myself…”

He was laughing so hard at this point that he had to gasp for breath between phrases.  “Jamie…I said…for all she’s a Sassenach bitch…with a tongue like an adder’s …with a bum like that…what does it matter if she’s a f-face like a sh-sh-eep?”

I tripped him neatly and landed on his stomach with both knees as he hit the floor with a crash that shook the house.

“You mean to tell me that you married me out of love?”  I demanded.  He raised his eyebrows, struggling to draw in breath.

“Have I not…just been…saying so?”

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2012?

Longest:  Tie  Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix and Outlander both are listed at 870 pages

Shortest:  Fly on the Wall by E. Lockhart at 182 pages

17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

Several scenes from Outlander come to mind:  when Clare faces off against the wolf; when Jamie punishes Clare; Jamie’s torture at the hands of Captain Randall; the revelation of just who Geilie could be/was…the whole freaking book, honestly.

18. Favorite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2012 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).

Marian & Conrad’s teenage relationship from Where We Were; Jamie & Clare from Outlander

19. Favorite Book You Read in 2012 From An Author You Read Previously?

The Fault in Our Stars (I’d previously read Will Grayson, Will Grayson and Let It Snow by John Green previously); Where We Belong (I’ve read all of Emily Giffin’s books, this is my favorite)

20. Best Book You Read That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else:

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon; Attachments by Rainbow Rowell; Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married by Marian Keyes

Book Blogging/Reading Life in 2012 (optional)

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2012?

Probably those of our sisters in the Selective Collective, Book Addict’s Guide and Teen Lit Rocks (The Grown UP YA and YA Crush are both old favorites), but also Don’t Take My Books Away

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2012?

Is This YA?  Where We Belong by Emily Giffin

The Perks of Being a Wallflower Movie Review

3. Best discussion you had on your blog?

I really enjoyed the Outlander Read Along

4. Most thought-provoking review or discussion you read on somebody else’s blog?

I really don’t know…

5. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

Outlander Read Along, I liked having access to all these people who were reading the same thing I was and getting their take on it.

6. Best moment of book blogging in 2012?

Being retweeted by Emily Giffin for my review of her latest book, Where We Belong

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

I’m going to quote Kristina on this one:  “On June 8, 2012 we did a combined TGIF and Fangirl Friday.  Does anyone remember what movie came out in June?  Magic Mike!!  So I mentioned this in my Fangirl and 6 months later it has almost 30,000 views.  CRAZY.”

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Our Giveaways.  I really wish more people would participate.

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

nothing new under the sun here

10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I had a challenge on Goodreads to read 150 books in 2012 and I barely passed it.  I have been on a reading decline in the past few months, but I did meet my challenge, and had two books to spare, so there!

Looking Ahead…

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2012 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2013?

I loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone but have not been able to get into the sequel, Days of Blood and Starlight but I am working on it.  I will not read anything new until I finish it.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2013?

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

3. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging In 2013? 

I hope to get out of this reading funk and become more active in this blog.  I feel like Kristina has been carrying the load lately and I want to contribute my share.

2 thoughts on “Daphne’s Year End Post 2012

  1. Tee January 3, 2013 at 4:28 pm Reply

    Oooooo, you’re making me want to reread Outlander. Love me some Jaime! I really need to read Where We Belong. Every time I see the cover I think of you! Also, you and I were made to be friends, of course. Daughter of Smoke and bone and The Fault in Our Stars were my two favorite books last year. 🙂

    • Daphne January 3, 2013 at 4:40 pm Reply

      I want to reread Outlander, too! DoSaB and TFiOS are two of the best books from last year, across all genres. 🙂

Leave a Reply

