Roar and Liv by Veronica Rossi

rlBefore Perry and Aria, there was Roar and Liv.

After a childhood spent wandering the borderlands, Roar finally feels like he has a home with the Tides. His best friend Perry is like a brother to him, and Perry’s sister, Liv, is the love of his life. But Perry and Liv’s unpredictable older brother, Vale, is the Blood Lord of the Tides, and he has never looked kindly on Roar and Liv’s union. Normally, Roar couldn’t care less about Vale’s opinion. But with food running low and conditions worsening every day, Vale’s leadership is more vital—and more brutal—than ever. Desperate to protect his tribe, Vale makes a decision that will shatter the life Roar knew and change the fate of the Tides forever.

Source:  Purchased

Favorite Quotes:

If ruffles me a bit, not being able to tell apart my best friend from my girlfriend from this distance.  But then one of the figures dashes acroos the sandy trail and jumps into my arms and I’m reasonably sure it’s Liv and not Perry.

She humors me – I never fall – but I get what I want:  her hand in mine.

“You’re part of me, Olivia.  Anything that involves you is always about us.”

“The wise ask questions, Perry.  The weak doubt.”

“I choose you.  Above everything else, I choose you.”

I’ll give her time, but I won’t give up.  Ever.

Story Breakdown:

Roar and Liv takes place before Under the Never Sky and tells the story of how Liv became betrothed to Sable of the Horns, a northern Blood Lord, and her journey to her new home.

Character Highlights:

Roar –  If I hadn’t fallen head of heels in love with him in Never Sky I would have after reading this story.  He’s the perfect blend of a strong male lead and comic relief.  The guy girls always describe as “the perfect guy”?  Pretty sure he would be it.  There is a reason all my favorite quotes are from him.

Liv –  Poor Olivia.  Torn between duty and love and not willing to choose so that neither has to suffer.  I hope to see more of her in Ever Night.

Perry – I think if I would have read this story before reading Never Sky I wouldn’t have thought twice about liking him from the start.  Perry has A LOT of issues with family and responsilbility and you couldn’t pick a better guy. . . except maybe Roar.

Overall Thoughts:

This is hands down one of the best series out there.  I’m in love with this story and cannot wait to continue with Ever Night.  I found it to be well paced like NS and I loved this insight into Roar and Liv’s relationship.  Ms. Rossi has created a world I want to get lost in.

5/5

4 thoughts on “Roar and Liv by Veronica Rossi

  1. Brittany January 4, 2013 at 7:43 am Reply

    Can’t wait to read this one!! Maybe I will today……

  2. […] –  Based on Roar & Liv I had high hopes for when we first meet her in EN.  Though I felt our first meeting was a bit of a […]

  3. […] Reviews in the Series:  Under the Never Sky, Roar & Liv, Through the Ever Night, […]

  4. Waiting on Wednesday | Gone Pecan August 12, 2015 at 7:02 am Reply

    […] GUYS!!!  HOLY CRAP RIGHT?!  I ADORED Ms Rossi’s first series (you can find my reviews here, here, here, and here. hehe) and cannot wait to get me hands on this one.  I can only pray the TOR gods […]

Leave a Reply

