Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi

enIt’s been months since Aria last saw Perry. Months since Perry was named Blood Lord of the Tides, and Aria was charged with an impossible mission. Now, finally, they are about to be reunited. But their reunion is far from perfect. The Tides don’t take kindly to Aria, a former Dweller. And with the worsening Aether storms threatening the tribe’s precarious existence, Aria begins to fear that leaving Perry behind might be the only way to save them both.

Threatened by false friends, hidden enemies, and powerful temptations, Aria and Perry wonder, Can their love survive through the ever night?

In this second book in her spellbinding Under the Never Sky trilogy, Veronica Rossi combines fantasy and dystopian elements to create a captivating love story as perilous as it is unforgettable.

Source:  ARC via Harper Teen/Edelweiss

Story Breakdown:

Through the Ever Night picks up right where never sky left off but starting in Perry’s POV.  He has gone back to his people to rebuild and Aria has gone in search of the Still Blue, land legended to be free of the Aethers, as ordered under threat of harm to Talon and her friends back in the Pods.  As the aether storms increase and Perry struggles to lead, Aria tries to find her place on the outside and save everyone in the process.

Character Highlights:

Perry – You get to see Perry interact with his people much more in Ever Night.  You see how he can lead them, puts them before himself not matter the cost.  I do have to say that thought my confidence in him was shaken for a bit but he came back around in the end.

Aria – She’s become a strong leader, selfless like Perry.  I like where her character is going and that she wants to stand on her own to feet to do it and realizes the effort needed to get there.

Roar –  Oh my poor Roar!  He has had to deal with so much and I hope his story has an upswing soon.

Liv –  Based on Roar & Liv I had high hopes for when we first meet her in EN.  Though I felt our first meeting was a bit of a disappointment she more than made up for it and you were able to see her softer side and that cares for Roar unconditionally.  My only regret is that there wasn’t more of her in the book.

Soren – Hmm. . . Aria’s attacker turned ally was a bit hard to swallow at first but he added a big twist to the story.  Hopefully full redemption can be given.

Overall Thoughts:

I thought Ever Night was a great book and a superb follow-up to Under the Never Sky.  It kept up story wise, was fast paced and remained action packed.  I also liked that though the ending tied up a few loose ends it wasn’t some huge cliffhanger ending and still left room for the what ifs and leaves you wanting more.  The third book can’t get here fast enough.

4.5/5

7 thoughts on “Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi

  1. bookgoonie January 7, 2013 at 7:44 am Reply

    I’m super excited to finally get to go the next leg in this awesome journey. I’m kind of saddened that Perry & Aria haven’t made there way back to each other…Second books!

    Is the novella necessary to continue the story? At first I liked the extra nuggets, but the growing trend of novellas everywhere is starting to grate on my nerves.

    • Gone Pecan January 7, 2013 at 11:00 am Reply

      No the novella is before the first book. . . but I really liked it!

  2. Candice January 7, 2013 at 12:19 pm Reply

    I have Under the Never Sky checked out from the library specifically so I can read this one! So excited to read them!

    • Gone Pecan January 7, 2013 at 9:26 pm Reply

      It’s so good. Can’t wait to talk about it!!

  3. Top 10 Tuesday #76 | Gone Pecan June 25, 2013 at 8:08 am Reply

    […]  4.  Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell – Gosh.  The most EPIC hand holding EVER.  5.  Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi – I read Never Sky late (right before this one) and I’m glad I went back […]

  4. […] Reviews in the Series:  Under the Never Sky, Roar & Liv, Through the Ever Night, […]

  5. Waiting on Wednesday | Gone Pecan August 12, 2015 at 7:02 am Reply

    […] HOLY CRAP RIGHT?!  I ADORED Ms Rossi’s first series (you can find my reviews here, here, here, and here. hehe) and cannot wait to get me hands on this one.  I can only pray the TOR gods bless […]

Leave a Reply

