The Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa

lpDon’t look at Them. Never let Them know you can see Them.

That is Ethan Chase’s unbreakable rule. Until the fey he avoids at all costs—including his reputation—begin to disappear, and Ethan is attacked. Now he must change the rules to protect his family. To save a girl he never thought he’d dare to fall for.

Ethan thought he had protected himself from his older sister’s world—the land of Faery. His previous time in the Iron Realm left him with nothing but fear and disgust for the world Meghan Chase has made her home, a land of myth and talking cats, of magic and seductive enemies. But when destiny comes for Ethan, there is no escape from a danger long, long forgotten.

SOURCE:  ARC via Harlequin Teen/NetGalley

Story Breakdown: 

It’s been 12 years since Meghan left her family and Ethan is grown up and struggling to maintain a normal life since he can see Them.  After yet another school transfer Ethan is given a message from a ghostly like fey called The Forgotten to stay away from them and to not interfere in their business.  When his friend goes missing he tries to locate him on his own and is attacked by Them.  Seeking help from Meghan he must return to the world he tries to ignore,the Nevernever.

Favorites Quote:

I didn’t need someone to laugh and joke and argue the finer points of Whedon films with me.

Character Highlights:

Ethan  – Little Ethan Chase all grown up?  With piercings?!  At first I found myself wanting to wash his mouth out with soap.  Where is our cute little boy and who is this hard ass they put in his place?  He’s had a hard life growing up without Meghan, pretended she is dead and trying to deal with the fey and still have a semi-normal life.  Towards the end he starts to open up and I hope as the series progresses we can see him grow and include more people in his life.

Kenzie –  Adorable no-nonsense girl with the blue hair. (JEALOUS)  I like that she doesn’t take Ethan’s hard ass crap but isn’t mean about it either.  She’s witty and sarcastic and completely lovable.  God bless her because I wouldn’t have let him talk to me that way.  I’ve already started trying to guess where her story will take us in the series and I’m hopeful.

Meghan and Ash –  They are back!!!  You don’t see much of them in this book, but I know we will see more of my beloved characters later in the series.

Keirran – Meghan and Ash’s son.  Y’ALL.  MEGHAN AND ASH’S SON.  Do you remember Iron Knight?  I still can’t think about Ash in that one without wanting to cry.  I loved him obviously since he is their kid but there is more to him that meets the eye and I’m worried when we find out what that is we might not like what we see.

Todd – Ethan’s friend (though not by Ethan’s choice) who is a half-breed and taken by The Forgotten.  You don’t see much of him during the book either since he is taken but I wanted to include him since I want Ethan to have friends.  He needs people in his life that he can depend on.

Overall Thoughts:  God I missed this world and all of the characters so much!  I like that all of Kagawa’s books have a semi-closed ending but the bigger story is still looming.  It was great to peek back into the world but at times I felt like I  needed a glossary for all of the names.  This is also a book that I couldn’t read very fast because of the huge chapters and all of the detail but I think that is a positive because it slows you down to take your time and enjoy the world building.  It was a great read and can’t wait for the next book.

4/5

3 thoughts on “The Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa

  1. Candice January 11, 2013 at 2:21 pm Reply

    Oh this one! I think I squealed more about Meghan and Ash being back than the actual book – although I was super pumped about it! Can’t wait for more of this series!

    • Gone Pecan January 11, 2013 at 9:09 pm Reply

      I know!! Can’t wait to see more of everyone. 🙂

  2. Top 10 Tuesday #76 | Gone Pecan June 25, 2013 at 8:08 am Reply

    […] and I’m glad I went back and tried again since this has become a top series for me.  6.  The Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa – I missed Ash so much!  Glad I got to see him for a bit and I’m excited […]

Leave a Reply

