The Goddess Inheritance by Aimee Carter

GILove or life.
Henry or their child.
The end of her family or the end of the world.
Kate must choose.

During nine months of captivity, Kate Winters has survived a jealous goddess, a vengeful Titan and a pregnancy she never asked for. Now the Queen of the Gods wants her unborn child, and Kate can’t stop her–until Cronus offers a deal.

In exchange for her loyalty and devotion, the King of the Titans will spare humanity and let Kate keep her child. Yet even if Kate agrees, he’ll destroy Henry, her mother and the rest of the council. And if she refuses, Cronus will tear the world apart until every last god and mortal is dead.

With the fate of everyone she loves resting on her shoulders, Kate must do the impossible: find a way to defeat the most powerful being in existence, even if it costs her everything.

Even if it costs her eternity.

Source:  egalley via Harlequin Teen/Netgalley

WARNING:  While I try not to spoil books if you haven’t read any of the series there will be some spoilers here from past books.

Story Breakdown: 

GI picks up nine months after Kate had been taken by Calliope.  She has been kept by Calli so that she can take the baby in hopes to lure Henry whom she believes is rightfully hers and because Cronus has become very fond of Kate.  He wants her to accept him as her King and rule with him after he takes over.  We also find out that Henry did not know of her pregnancy the entire time and Walter has been keeping it a secret to use it in convincing Henry to fight with them against Cronus.

Character Highlights:

Kate –  I’ve never been a huge fan of Kate but for what she has gone through in this series she has done well to keep it together.  Though she doesn’t want or think she needs help she at least doesn’t sit and cry about it.  She takes charge and tries to come up with a solution.

Henry –  I still love him.  I don’t know what else to say. . .that sums him up from book one for me.

Other Gods – At this point in the series I’m at a take it or leave it with them.  They have been around for so long its like they don’t even care what happens to others outside of their circle because they are so jaded.  While I’ve enjoyed the books I’m over the attitudes.

Overall Thoughts:

GI is by far the most action packed of the series.  When reading a retelling or any story involving the Greek Gods I almost never favor their side since they tend to be so conceded but that was not the case here.  I preferred them to Kate and her seriously ridiculous martyr complex.  I’m still disturbed by the incestuous nicknames and I do understand normal genetics are not a factor for them but still.  The only  “fault” I found with the story (and this is strictly a personal opinion) was that since it was the end I would have enjoyed part of the story through another POV so that we would have seen more of the Gods side.  While this has become one of my favorite series and I’m sad to see it end I do have to say I’m satisfied by the ending.

4/5

Leave a Reply

