Top 10 Tuesday #59

top-103

Hosted by the ladies @ The Broke and The Bookish, this week’s question is

Top 10 Most Annoying Characters in Books

But since that’s a pretty tall order, we decided to specialize, so we are doing:

Top 10 Most Annoying Characters in Harry Potter

The first four characters are Kristina’s picks, but she’s so annoyed by them, she refused to do a write up, so I’ll provide he commentary on why I think she’d pick them.

  1. Mad-Eye Moody–I honestly don’t know why she finds him so annoying, I kinda love him.  To each his own, I guess.
  2. Narcissa Malfoy–I think her family is more annoying, but let’s think about this.  She’s a snob, she’s a death eater, and she’s partly responsible for Draco.
  3. Lavender Brown–She was annoying long before she stole Ron from Hermione.  She’s irritatingly girly, giggly, and her name is stupid.
  4. Gilderoy Lockhart–I think we can all agree to this one.  He’s probably one of the most annoying characters in all of literature.  He’s a fake, a coward, and he tries to use Harry to increase his own profile.  Gilderoy is the only character that is actually painted after someone Rowling knows, and someone I hope I never meet.
  5. Snape–I know a lot of people love him, but he irritates the heck out of me.  I understand that he’s ultimately a good guy and incredibly brave, but he’s also a douche.  So there.
  6. Fleur Delacour–Every girl’s greatest nightmare, a beautiful, brave, talented witch, who has an undeniable, ultimately inescapable attractiveness to the opposite sex and can make them into blithering fools.  Plus, she marries Bill, who is my second favorite Weasley.
  7. Vernon Dursley–Granted, I can understand (sort of) his wariness of wizards, but the way he treats Harry is criminal.  He’s completely hung up on how his family is seen by others and a drive to appear “normal,” he makes me wonder what stangeness inside himself that he’s hiding.  On the other hand, I really hate him, so maybe I’m not really interested in what makes him strange.
  8. Lucius Malfoy–Where to begin?  This man has no qualms about killing children.  Bad enough, right?  He’s egotistical, snobbish, elitist, a bigot, and a bully.  He’s a simpering toady to Lord Voldemort and I really love how he comes apart in the later books.  Serves him right.
  9. Cornelius Fudge–He’s completely blind to what’s right in front of his face.  Rather than use his power to find Lord Voldemort, he sends in an evil toad to police Hogwarts and usurp Dumbledore’s authority and discredit a child and victim of Voldemort’s reign of terror.  He’s obviously in Malfoy’s pocket, though I doubt his intentions are evil, just self-serving.
  10. Harry Potter–Yes, the hero of the story.  He can be downright irritating at times, especially around fifth year.  He takes out his misery on his best friends, the two people who have been there for him all along.  He’s short-tempered and doesn’t think through what his actions can do.  Harry has a hero complex and thinks he’s the only one who can bring an end to Moldy Voldy because he feels, I guess, guilty about his parent’s deaths.  Sometimes I just want to shake him and say “It’s not all about you, Harry!”  He doesn’t listen to smarter, more experienced witches and wizards and takes matters into his own hands far too often.  He allows his prejudices to color everything he does and he’s rash and spontaneous and often stupid. Oh, Harry, I love you, but sometimes I just want to tie you to a chair.

~*~Daphne~*~

10 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #59

  1. Elizabeth January 29, 2013 at 9:27 am Reply

    I like your take on this topic! Harry definitely has his frustrating moments. Slughorn is also pretty frustrating… you just want him to do the right thing and he is just a big coward, who puffs himself up on the reputations of his students. It takes MAGIC and BOOZE to get him to do the honorable thing!

    • Daphne January 29, 2013 at 9:52 am Reply

      I forgot about slughorn, but he is irritating.

      • Elizabeth January 29, 2013 at 9:53 am

        I keep catching that movie on TV lately, so he’s sort of fresh in my mind!

  2. I think I could do this with a lot of series (cough, cough, A Great and Terrible Beauty, cough cough) but I think the only person I really find makes me crazy in HP is Umbridge. She is so frustrating!

    • Daphne January 29, 2013 at 1:58 pm Reply

      she is an evil toad. I am listening to Order of Phoenix right now and I want to hurt her badly.

  3. Danica Page @Taking it One Page at a Time January 30, 2013 at 1:35 am Reply

    I love that your list was all from HP. I loved so many of the HP characters, and many on this list I liked, but yeah most of them annoyed me too. Thanks for stopping by.

    ~Danica Page@Taking it One Page at a Time

  4. bookgoonie January 30, 2013 at 5:43 am Reply

    This post made me laugh.

    Fleur is most annoying. It made me crazy that one of the Weasleys was marrying her. Urgh!

    • Daphne January 30, 2013 at 9:30 am Reply

      especially Bill! I was totally jealous.

  5. Hollie @ Music, Books and Tea January 31, 2013 at 6:16 am Reply

    I love this list. Lucius Malfoy’s downfall was one of my favourite moments of the series. I didn’t find Narcissa that frustrating, although I understand why people would find her to be. Infact, I kind of loved her character…

    • Daphne January 31, 2013 at 10:08 am Reply

      I kinda like Narcissa, too. Despite the fact that she’s a death eater, she obviously has tremendous love for her son and in the end, she’s very heroic and plays an important part in Harry’s victory.

Leave a Reply

