The Archived by Victoria Schwab

arcImagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books.

Each body has a story to tell, a life seen in pictures that only Librarians can read. The dead are called Histories, and the vast realm in which they rest is the Archive.

Da first brought Mackenzie Bishop here four years ago, when she was twelve years old, frightened but determined to prove herself. Now Da is dead, and Mac has grown into what he once was, a ruthless Keeper, tasked with stopping often-violent Histories from waking up and getting out. Because of her job, she lies to the people she loves, and she knows fear for what it is: a useful tool for staying alive.

Being a Keeper isn’t just dangerous-it’s a constant reminder of those Mac has lost. Da’s death was hard enough, but now her little brother is gone too. Mac starts to wonder about the boundary between living and dying, sleeping and waking. In the Archive, the dead must never be disturbed. And yet, someone is deliberately altering Histories, erasing essential chapters. Unless Mac can piece together what remains, the Archive itself might crumble and fall.

In this haunting, richly imagined novel, Victoria Schwab reveals the thin lines between past and present, love and pain, trust and deceit, unbearable loss and hard-won redemption.

Source:  book traded @ YA Book Exchange

Story Breakdown:

After inheriting the Keeper position from her Da four years ago, Mac has been adjusting to her new lifestyle.  Just when she is getting settled into the Keeper way and starting to deal with the death of her brother, her mother deciding they need a frest start, moves them to an apartment complex rich with history and Histories.  When a higher than normal amount of Histories start to get loose and roam the Narrows Mac knows something is wrong and must try to figure out what is causing them to wake and who is hoping she never finds out.

Character Highlights:

Mac –  She comes off very strong and independent and not at all annoying.  This might be because I think she is me in book form?  (minus the paranormal powers of course, LOL)  Having the power to read/feel thoughts and memories and avoiding physical contact to minimize it is a hard life to lead and I think she is doing the best she can with what she has to work with.

Wes – Oh Wes with your spikey hair and guyliner, where have you been all my life?  A relative of a fellow Coronado resident Mac runs into him frequently and after learning he is a fellow Keeper the become a somewhat mismatched set and I love this potential (PLEASE?!) relationship.

Owen – Quite the mystery man for most of the book.  To not reveal the greatness that is Owen and the Archived let’s just say I’m VERY interested to see where this story goes.

Roland –  A librarian in the Archive, he serves as a father figure in Mac’s “other” life.  As with Wes I don’t think you can’t help but like him. . . and his Chucks.

Overall Thoughts:

Ms. Schwab has a very unique way of writing.  To me The Archived flowed so well that is seemed effortless to read and kept me engaged. I know sometimes I catch myself skimming when reading a book, something I know we’ve all done from time to time, but that definitely wasn’t the case here.  I thought it was a great ending and look forward to more stories from the Archive!

4.5/5

BONUS:  GIVEAWAY!!!  The lovely Ms. Schwab sent me beautiful SIGNED Archive bookmarks for a giveaway.  Sooooo, to win one of the two (2) bookmarks I’m giving away all you need to do is leave a comment on this review.  Super easy right?  You have until Friday 2/1 @ 12 noon, US residents only.  I did get a few more but to spread the blog love look for reviews by Brittany over @ The Book Addict’s Guide and Alyssa over @ Books Take You Places in the upcoming weeks for more bookmark giveaways as well.

10 thoughts on “The Archived by Victoria Schwab

  1. Candice January 30, 2013 at 9:25 am Reply

    Yay! I totally TOTALLY want to read this! I saw it was an auto download on NetGalley, but it was just a preview! Didn’t finish the preview, but loved the first few pages I read. Glad you enjoyed it!

    • Gone Pecan February 1, 2013 at 7:24 am Reply

      I didn’t want to DL the preview and be stuck without the rest of the book. LOL. YOU WILL LOVE IT!

  2. Elizabeth January 30, 2013 at 2:10 pm Reply

    The premise of this book totally confuses me, but I keep hearing good things about it. It might just have to be something I experience for myself, I guess.

    • Gone Pecan February 1, 2013 at 7:23 am Reply

      It was very good. Everything is explained it the first few chapters so I think you will enjoy it after that.

  3. bookgoonie January 31, 2013 at 5:27 am Reply

    I absolutely lived Schwab’s Debut Novel, The Near Witch. I can’t wait for this one to fall into my lap. She really has a melodic way writing.

    • Gone Pecan February 1, 2013 at 7:21 am Reply

      Yes! I need to read NW soon. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Ashley G. January 31, 2013 at 10:19 pm Reply

    Glad you enjoyed it as well! I absolutely LOVED The Archive! No need to enter me in the giveaway though! I actually got some signed bookmarks as well! Just wanted to comment. I like your review style by the way!

  5. Top 10 Tuesday #76 | Gone Pecan June 25, 2013 at 8:08 am Reply

    […] him for a bit and I’m excited to see where this new spin on the story (and Ethan) go.  7.  The Archived by Victoria Schwab – A great start to a new series!  8.  Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt – […]

  6. […] been extremely pumped for this book ever since I finish The Archived so when I saw on twitter the tour was open for The Unbound I jumped at the chance and luckily I […]

Leave a Reply

