Pivot Point by Kasie West

PPKnowing the outcome doesn’t always make a choice easier . . .

Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes. It’s the ultimate insurance plan against disaster. Or so she thought. When Addie’s parents ambush her with the news of their divorce, she has to pick who she wants to live with—her father, who is leaving the paranormal compound to live among the “Norms,” or her mother, who is staying in the life Addie has always known. Addie loves her life just as it is, so her answer should be easy. One Search six weeks into the future proves it’s not.

In one potential future, Addie is adjusting to life outside the Compound as the new girl in a Norm high school where she meets Trevor, a cute, sensitive artist who understands her. In the other path, Addie is being pursued by the hottest guy in school—but she never wanted to be a quarterback’s girlfriend. When Addie’s father is asked to consult on a murder in the Compound, she’s unwittingly drawn into a dangerous game that threatens everything she holds dear. With love and loss in both lives, it all comes down to which reality she’s willing to live through . . . and who she can’t live without.

Source:  egalley via Harper Teen/Edelweiss

Bonus:  2013 Debut Author Challenge

Story Breakdown:

Addie lives in a super secret compound, a place where only people with mental abilities know about and can go.  Her parents have decided that they no longer want to be married and give Addie to choice to “search” her future to see which parent she wants to live with, her mother who is staying in the compound or her father who is leaving to live a life outside with the “Norms”.  Encouraged by her best friend Laila, she searches each future to see where she would be happiest. . .which interesting results.

Character Highlights:

Addie –  Her ability was interesting but I did feel it a bit off-putting when she would hold grudges for something someone didn’t even do just because she saw it in a choice she didn’t take.  I also felt sorry for her about the way her parents approached telling he about the divorce.  It seemed very matter of fact.

Trevor –  Who doesn’t love a cowboy?  A “Norm” that Addie befriends in one choice she is searching.  I’ve grown attached to Trevor and after the ending, I NEED TO KNOW.

Duke – While reading Pivot Point something about Duke didn’t quite sit right with me but at the same time I didn’t hate him or want him to go away.  I’m a bit stuck in the middle here.

Laila – Addie’s BFF.  I must say out of everyone in the book she was probably my least favorite but I by no means hated her. . .it was more of her manipulating her friends to helping with her family issues but not wanting any adult help or even her friend’s opinions.

Overall Thoughts:  WOW.  I loved the concept of this book and the alternating realities being told in alternating chapters.  It sort of throws the reader off a bit but at the same time it keeps both stories interesting enough to keep reading for the next chapter to see what is going on in the alternate choice.  Another point I liked with this book and thought was an original concept is that even though the whole book has a paranormal aspect, its reads as a contemporary.

Ms West, in my opinion has achieved something I thought was impossible.  To convince you that neither guy is that bad and to love them both.  Though there is a “love triangle” so to speak Addie is in two separate choices at the time so I didn’t really feel the need to choose one side though I clearly have all the same.  I’m really interested to see where this story will go in future books.

4/5

3 thoughts on “Pivot Point by Kasie West

  1. Brittany February 4, 2013 at 7:45 am Reply

    I’m skipping your review so I can keep myself in the dark LOL. I feel like this is a book that the less I know, the more exciting it will be! Or maybe that’s just me haha. I read the synopsis a long time ago so I know I’m interested, but it was so long ago that I kind of forgot the specifics so it’ll stay exciting. I don’t know if that makes sense…. But anyway….. *awkward silence* glad you liked it! I think I will too 🙂

    • Gone Pecan February 4, 2013 at 12:31 pm Reply

      At least you commented, LOL 😛

  2. Candice February 5, 2013 at 9:21 am Reply

    Like B, I kinda skimmed it… mostly to figure out what this book is about and if you liked it! I THINK you said you did, so I’m kinda pumped to read this some day! You know, if I ever get to finishing the other billion books I have lined up already! 🙂

Leave a Reply

