Top 10 Tuesday #60

top-103

Hosted by the girls @ The Broke and the Bookish, this week’s question is:

Top 10 Bookish Memories

Well my bookish memories aren’t that great.  I honestly can’t remember anything from my childhood involving reading or someone possibly reading to me.  I don’t remember my first book I picked up (though I do remember the first one I bought myself) so I’m going with bookish memories since we’ve started blogging.

1.    Forming the Selective Collective with blogger friends.  The “SC” as we call it had become quite entertaining and has helped me get to know fellow bloggers. 

2.   Texting with the wolf pack.  Brittany over @ The Book Addict’s Guide and Alyssa over @ Books Take you Places have become the best blogging buddies you can ask for and we talk about everything all day long.

3.   Brittany and our google chats.  We also talk on google chat where Brittany had made it her mission to help me figure out how to save the most $$ and hopefully get to BEA this year.  (I’m hoping!!!)

4.   Receiving my first unsolicited ARC for review.  I know, blogging is not about the books.  Are they great? Absolutely!  But that first ARC, that I didn’t ask for?  A great feeling.

5.   Helping recommend books to friends and family.  I cannot tell you how many texts or calls I get know wanting suggestions on what to read.  I love that so many of my loved ones trust my opinion.

~*~Kristina~*~

Reading has always been a big part of my life.  I think my earliest memory was picking out books from the library in elementary school.  I had a thing for biographies of famous people like Benjamin Franklin and Johnny Appleseed.  Also, we have a local children’s book legend, Clovis the Crawfish.  He definitely played a big part in my childhood.

6.  Finding Pride and Prejudice, Emma, and Jane Eyre at my grandmother’s house and bringing them home to read.  I was 16.

7. My first book-club, which was started after I was thirty, was just four people, me and my co-workers.  We had such big plans.  We were going to read all the books that we always wanted to, classics, that we had never had a chance to before.  Our first book was Lolita by Nabokov.  I didn’t finish it.  Not that it wasn’t intriguing and naughty, I was just kinda bored and disturbed.  The next book was my pick, Don Quioxote.  I started it, but do you have any idea how big that book is?  Never finished it.  I came to realize that I am really bad at forced reading.  It feels like homework.  It should not have been any surprise that, when another book club was formed with some childhood friends, I would find it hard to finish anything for that one, too, despite the easier, more contemporary books.

8.  I decided to finally read this book I had been hearing a lot about online because it was going to be a movie.  So I went down to the local Barnes and Noble, my baby boy strapped to my chest, and asked the nice worker for a booked called, “I think, Twilight?”  And then she proceeds to bring me right back up the aisle I just came down to this huge pile of books in the middle.  Boy did I feel stupid.  I finished that book in one night.  Ran down to BN the next day and picked up book 2.  Before I even finished that one, I had to go back for the third one.  I finished the first three in 3 days.  Now granted, it’s not “literature,” but it actually helped me to get back into reading in a big way.

9. I remember exactly where I was when Hermione dropped the basilisk fangs and ran into Ron’s arms, kissing him full on the mouth.  I was in my husband’s truck and he was driving to a fair and of course I had the book with me, reading on the way.  It was my baby son’s first Rice Festival, he was four months old.  October 2007.  And I was sad when we got there because I had to put the book down.

10.  I don’t remember what the first book I read to my son is.  I’ve read a lot.  I hope he and his brother remember me reading to them and they do the same with their children.  I hope this little act of reading to them makes them question things, explore things, want to learn, feel compassion and empathy.  I hope books make them fall into worlds that they don’t want to leave.  I hope my sons are readers.

~*~Daphne~*~

6 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #60

  1. Brittany February 5, 2013 at 9:33 am Reply

    Thanks for the shout outs, K!! Totally some of my favorite times too! And of course, SC. I can’t believe I didn’t remember that for my TTT! We have some great conversations and a whole bunch of amazing opportunites 🙂

  2. Katie February 5, 2013 at 11:39 am Reply

    Awesome lists! Ron and Hermione’s first kiss was such a huge “finally” moment, it totally made that book for me. 🙂
    My Top Ten Tuesday

  3. bookgoonie February 5, 2013 at 11:59 am Reply

    Your moments are so wonderful. I once had great ideals about reading all those classics I’d missed out on. That lasted about 30 minutes. I was the same way with Twilight & the Mortal Instrumemts series. Daily expeditions to Target to get the next one & praying they had it.

    Awesome. Working to save up $$ for BEA. I may need to horn in on those strategy sessions. I have that dream too.

  4. Elizabeth February 5, 2013 at 2:19 pm Reply

    Aww, Daphne, your last one gave me the warm fuzzies. I am hoping that my little girl is a reader, too. I can’t wait until she’s here and I can actually read things to her… it’s never too soon to start Harry Potter, right?

  5. Megan February 5, 2013 at 6:17 pm Reply

    That first unsolicited ARC definitely sticks out in my mind to. There’s something about it that makes you think, “Ah, I’ve finally arrived!” LOL.

    Daphne – I hope your sons are readers, too. I don’t have any kids of my own, but when I found out my younger cousin (we’ll call him “my fake little brother”) had morphed into a reader, I couldn’t have been happier! 🙂

  6. Candice February 6, 2013 at 9:51 am Reply

    Daphne, LOVE your last two memories! So cute and sweet! Fingers crossed your boys will be readers!

Leave a Reply

