The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E Pearson

jfEverything is different

Seventeen-year-old Jenna Fox has just awoken from a year-long coma – so she’s been told – and she is still recovering from the terrible accident that caused it. But what happened before that? She’s been given home movies chronicling her entire life, which spark memories to surface. But are the memories really hers? And why won’t anyone in her family talk about the accident? Jenna is becoming more curious. But she is also afraid of what she might find out if she ever gets up the courage to ask her questions.

What happened to Jenna Fox? And who is she really?

Source:  Macmillan for review

Story Breakdown:

Jenna wakes up from a coma in a new city, remembering nothing of her life before her accident.  Nothing.  As she watches old home movies to try to remember memories slowly come back to her but don’t add up to the life she sees in the videos.  Jenna starts to put together what really happened after her accident and just how much her family was willing to do to keep her safe.

Character Highlights:

Jenna – Tricky to judge for the first book.  The story is told in her point of view but so much is just stated and not thought that I found it hard to connect with her at times.

Lily –  Jenna’s grandmother.  Though she is a bit rough and blunt, hands down my favorite character.  I wish there would have been more interaction with her to lighten up the mood at times.

Dane – I still don’t know what his purpose was in this book.  His character fit into the story but not in a way I found productive or necessary.

Ethan – He was adorable.  You don’t really find out about his hinted at violent past but he accepted Jenna 100% without hesitation.  Any guy that loves that whole-heartedly is a winner in my book.

Overall Thoughts:

Jenna’s matter of fact was of talking threw me off a bit and sometimes she came off as a bit robotic which was harsh to read or follow at times.  I think if part of the book could have been in another POV, either a friend or family member, it would have helped out in that area a lot.  Also, though the book has a futuristic setting nothing is confirmed as to what time they are actually in, another point that would have helped me connect with the story as a whole.

Adoration was an interesting start to a “new to me” series since I’ve only dabbled in the sci-fi genre but I’m definitely intrigued enough to continue and find out how the series plays out.  After reading I feel like it read as stand alone so I wonder how book two will follow up.

3.5/5

5 thoughts on “The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E Pearson

  1. C February 15, 2013 at 8:25 am Reply

    Interesting thoughts. I’ve been curious about this one!

    • Gone Pecan February 15, 2013 at 9:30 am Reply

      I should be reading book two soon. . .we shall see!

  2. Brittany February 15, 2013 at 9:31 am Reply

    I totally agree – I had a hard time connecting with Jenna and definitely felt like she came off a bit robotic. I really wanted to see more interaction between characters and I feel like everything just came off a little flat. I did love Lily though! She definitely made an impression 🙂

  3. […] –  I really liked him.  Unlike Jenna from Adoration Locke came off as human and felt real human emotion.  He is male so I couldn’t 100% connect […]

  4. […] The Adoration of Jenna Fox […]

Leave a Reply

