Just One Day by Gayle Forman

jodWhen sheltered American good girl Allyson “LuLu” Healey first meets laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter at an underground performance of Twelfth Night in England, there’s an undeniable spark. After just one day together, that spark bursts into a flame, or so it seems to Allyson, until the following morning, when she wakes up after a whirlwind day in Paris to discover that Willem has left. Over the next year, Allyson embarks on a journey to come to terms with the narrow confines of her life, and through Shakespeare, travel, and a quest for her almost-true-love, to break free of those confines.

Source:  purchased from Amazon

Bonus:  2013 YA Contemporary Challenge

Story Breakdown:

After receiving a trip to Europe as a graduation present from her parents, Allyson and her best friend Melanie travel across Europe and run into Willem, a fellow traveler,  on their last day with their group.  Throwing caution (and maybe sense?) into the wind she decides to go to Paris with him for the day.

Favorite Quotes:

Maybe it’s not about looking for hot guys, but about feeling like a place acknowledged you, winked at you, accepted you.

I think everything is happening all the time, but if you don’t put yourself in the path of it, you miss it.

We are born in one day.  We die in one day.  We can change in one day.  And we can fall in love in one day.

How can I be this empty?  Because of one guy?  Because of one day?

Character Highlights:

Allyson/Lulu –  It breaks my heart to see the amount of emotion she goes through in that one day.  In her year after, I completely get how she feels and her need for closure of the unknown.

Willem – Hmm.  The jury is still out on him.  Every girl loves a mysterious guy, but this may be a bit too much for me.  How many girls does he know?

Melanie – Allyson’s BFF since forever.  This was a great friendship to show.  The friends that we have since elementary school, that we grow apart from as we get older but they are our safety nets so we cling to them.

Overall Thoughts:

What American girl hasn’t (or still might be) hoped for a beautiful, cultured guy with an intoxicating accent (though he would still speak English) to sweep her off her feet?  I immediately felt an intenseness (in a VERY good way) from Willem.  THROUGH THE BOOK.  As with all of Ms Forman’s books, I loved it.  She has a way about writing that seems much more realistic than most and I think more readers can connect with.

4.5/5 I loved it but I’m not 100% happy with Willem.  I will reserve my final judgement until I read his side.

4 thoughts on “Just One Day by Gayle Forman

  1. Alice in Readerland February 22, 2013 at 2:54 pm Reply

    I’m so excited to read this book! 🙂 I love your review format!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

    • Gone Pecan February 22, 2013 at 9:38 pm Reply

      I think you will love it. Thanks! We changed up our format and its so much better IMO.

  2. Judith February 23, 2013 at 6:45 am Reply

    Yes, I loved this book so much and I’m happy you really enjoyed it too 🙂 I agree that I’m not sure about Willem yet, but I am certain that I will absolutely LOVE him in Just One Year. Gayle Forman just has that kind of power over me!

Leave a Reply

