The Next Forever by Lisa Burstein

nfOne night in college can change everything…

Away at college, Amy just wants one night alone without her high school sweetheart, Joe. So when he invites her to go to the library, she heads off on her own instead. How she ended up at a house party with the mysterious bad-boy Trevor is another story…

Joe so isn’t going to the library. He needs space from Amy, too, so he’s decided to rush a fraternity, to get back the swagger he had in high school. But it doesn’t take long for the brothers to invite him to the real rush here the beer is flowing and one particular girl has set her eyes on Joe.

Over the course of one wild night, both Amy and Joe will have to decide if their futures belong with two new people, or whether the next forever will have their first loves in it.

Source:  egalley via Entangled/Netgalley

Story Breakdown:  It’s been a few months since the events of Pretty Amy and Amy and Joe are now in college.  Both sure they love each other but unsure of their future, they each have a night alone to see if they are meant to be.

Character Highlights:

Amy –  She still hasn’t gotten her crap together.  Also, I wish she would have been able to grow some and be attempting to find female friends again.  Her approach in this story came off as very awkward.

Joe – I wished to see more from him in PA and also something from his POV and though I got both in this novella I didn’t care for him at all.  He wasn’t relatable to me and though he is called a good guy I don’t think he was always showing his good guy attributes.

Overall Thoughts:  Novellas have become extremely popular as of late.  I’m not a fan of them in general because I feel most rush the story to finish in less than 100 pages.  NF falls into this category for me.  I liked the idea behind it, going past the “happy ending” so to speak and seeing if the couple can make it work but decisions and dialogue felt both forced and rushed.  Not to mention I hate cheating books, or even potential cheating books.  If you’ve read PA you will want to read Next Forever and check in.

3/5

2 thoughts on “The Next Forever by Lisa Burstein

  1. Candice February 26, 2013 at 1:09 pm Reply

    Ooh! You know how much I loved Pretty Amy! Although I don’t really remember much of it… Hm… Maybe will have to check this out. I’m not really a HUGE fan of novellas… but I do like that they sometimes give me a quick fix of characters I’m missing! Will need to check this out!

    Also, is the background new on your blog? I LOVE IT!

    • Gone Pecan February 26, 2013 at 3:11 pm Reply

      It’s fairly new. . .maybe a month?? Thanks!! I’m interested to see what you think of it. Let me know when you read it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

