The Fox Inheritance by Mary E Pearson

fi

Once there were three. Three friends who loved each other—Jenna, Locke, and Kara. And after a terrible accident destroyed their bodies, their three minds were kept alive, spinning in a digital netherworld. Even in that disembodied nightmare, they were still together. At least at first. When Jenna disappeared, Locke and Kara had to go on without her. Decades passed, and then centuries.

Two-hundred-and-sixty years later, they have been released at last. Given new, perfect bodies, Locke and Kara awaken to a world they know nothing about, where everyone they once knew and loved is long dead.

Everyone except Jenna Fox.

Source:  Macmillan for review

Story Breakdown:

Fox Inheritance takes place after the conclusion of Adoration.  It’s been 260 years and Locke and Kara are finally awake.  It seem that the copies of their minds that Jenna destroyed weren’t the only ones.  After being passed around and sold to the high bidder Locke and Kara are free of limbo, but are they really free to live?  They ban together to break free of the powers that are trying to control them and to navigate the new world they’ve been thrown into.

Character Highlights:

Locke –  I really liked him.  Unlike Jenna from Adoration Locke came off as human and felt real human emotion.  He is male so I couldn’t 100% connect with him but he was a huge improvement for me over Jenna’s reactions from book one.

Kara – One of the MCs, though the story isn’t told from her POV so we miss a lot of what she is feeling or thinking.  I didn’t understand her irrational blame of what happened to her but at the same time I can see why she would be angry.  I guess my point would be it’s been 260 years. . . you can’t give someone 10 minutes to try to explain what happened?

Jenna – Though she is in FI she isn’t the focus point but it was nice to see her and see her in a more humanized way since I felt she was so robotic in the first book.

Miesha – Miesha, or as I like to call her:  Lily 2.0.

Overall Thoughts:

I think the sci-fi and action part of this story picked up dramatically with FI.  I also saw a huge improvement with Locke as the MC and cannot wait to see how this story concludes!  If you were a fan of Adoration it’s definitely worth the read.

3.75/5

4 thoughts on “The Fox Inheritance by Mary E Pearson

  1. Candice February 27, 2013 at 10:53 am Reply

    So once I realized that this was a sequel, I stopped reading your review because I haven’t read the first one! This sounds super good though! Wish I had read the first so I could go on to this one!

    • Gone Pecan February 27, 2013 at 10:55 am Reply

      HAHA. I think this one stepped it up from the first. Let me know when you read them so we can talk. I’m not a huge sci-fi person so this was a nice step outside of my reading box.

  2. Brittany February 27, 2013 at 11:25 am Reply

    I agree, I think this one was a little better than the first but it was still not quite doing it for me. The third one really picked it up, I think!

  3. […] The Fox Inheritance […]

Leave a Reply

