Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality by Elizabeth Eulberg

RGDon’t mess with a girl with a Great Personality.

Everybody loves Lexi. She’s popular, smart, funny…but she’s never been one of those girls, the pretty ones who get all the attention from guys. And on top of that, her seven-year-old sister, Mackenzie, is a terror in a tiara, and part of a pageant scene where she gets praised for her beauty (with the help of fake hair and tons of makeup).

Lexi’s sick of it. She’s sick of being the girl who hears about kisses instead of getting them. She’s sick of being ignored by her longtime crush, Logan. She’s sick of being taken for granted by her pageant-obsessed mom. And she’s sick of having all her family’s money wasted on a phony pursuit of perfection.

The time has come for Lexi to step out from the sidelines. Girls without great personalities aren’t going to know what hit them. Because Lexi’s going to play the beauty game – and she’s in it to win it.

Source:  egalley via Scholastic/Netgalley

Bonus:  2013 YA Contemporary Challenge

Story Breakdown:

Lexi has always been the girl in the background.  The sister who helps out for her little sister’s pageants but doesn’t get much attention for herself.  After encouraging her friend to pursue the guy he is interested in they make a pack to both step up and make an effort to go after what they want.

Character Highlights:

Lexi – I loved her like you all should too.  One of the most relatable characters for me in a long time.  I truly enjoyed reading about her and her relationship with her friends.

Mackenzie – Bring in the pageant drama!  I’m not a fan of the pageant circuit but to each his own.  To start I didn’t care for her but its hard to hate a 7-year-old.  There are so many things wrong in this family it breaks your heart at times that parents can be so blind.

Logan – The crush!!  I know the book is more about Lexi and her family issues but I would have liked to see more detail about Logan or for that matter more. . .

Taylor – YES! I said it! I wish there would have been more on the relationship side therefore going against all my past comments about love triangles.

Overall Thoughts:

I think this is one of those books you need to read when you are a bit down on yourself (which happens to the best of us) and need a bit of a confidence boost.  The overall message behind Revenge is that you need to love yourself and be confident that you can be who you want to be and get what you want if you are willing to work for it.  Who can’t get behind that?  The only slight negative issue I have with this book is though is was adorable like all of Ms Eulberg’s previous books I found myself wishing for a bit more on the ending.  With that being said, it was a great read and will be a definite addition to the book shelf!

4/5

6 thoughts on “Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality by Elizabeth Eulberg

  1. Quinn March 8, 2013 at 9:10 pm Reply

    I was actually a bit disappointed in this one. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it. I was expecting something different from the book, so that might have been part of my problem too.

    I thought it was kind of silly how easily Lexi became popular just by wearing different clothes. That definitely wouldn’t have cut it at my high school. I also wasn’t a fan of the ending when Lexi dressed up as a beauty contestant. Something about that didn’t feel realistic.

    But it was a pleasant read, and I don’t regret reading it. I’m glad you liked it! 🙂

    • Gone Pecan March 10, 2013 at 10:23 am Reply

      Agreed on the whole part with her dressing up. Overall still a very cute book. 🙂

  2. Lucy March 10, 2013 at 12:44 am Reply

    I really want to read this now! Lexi is really relatable, and I like that! 🙂 Thanks for the review! 🙂

    • Gone Pecan March 10, 2013 at 10:23 am Reply

      I hope you like it! Have you read her other books? My fav is Lonely Hearts Club.

  3. Top 10 Tuesday #64 | Gone Pecan March 12, 2013 at 7:01 am Reply

    […] Eulberg — A go-to author, I have read everything she’s written and I’ve heard great things about this […]

  4. bookgoonie March 13, 2013 at 9:00 am Reply

    I want this book now. Great review & great advice for when to pick it up. Great message.

Leave a Reply

