Mila 2.0 Debra Driza

M2Mila was never meant to learn the truth about her identity. She was a girl living with her mother in a small Minnesota town. She was supposed to forget her past —that she was built in a secret computer science lab and programmed to do things real people would never do.

Now she has no choice but to run—from the dangerous operatives who want her terminated because she knows too much and from a mysterious group that wants to capture her alive and unlock her advanced technology. However, what Mila’s becoming is beyond anyone’s imagination, including her own, and it just might save her life.

Source:  egalley via Harper Teen/Edelweiss

Bonus:  2013 Debut Author Challenge

Story Breakdown:

It’s been a little over a month since the fire that took her father’s life and Mila is living in small town USA with her mother trying to put the pieces back together.  Afer an accident that severely injuries her she learns the truth.  She is a government built fighting machine.  Her mother helped her escape so that she can live a normal life and to not risk being exposed after the accident they must go on the run.

Character Highlights:

Mila – I really liked the way she presented herself in the book and the fact that she didn’t know anything about her own abilities and she learned as we did help endear her to me.  I only wish she would have had a bit more backbone in regards to her friendships.

Hunter – I don’t get his purpose just yet.  I felt Mila focused too much on him for the little time they spent together.  It makes me nervous.

Kaylee – WHAT A ROYAL LITTLE WITCH.  That’s everything I have to say about her. . . and that’s being nice.

Overall Thoughts:

I wasn’t a huge fan of her mother keeping her in the dark but I was pleasantly surprised that this read more as a thriller then sci-fi overall.  I felt there were a few holes in the story but I also think that for a debut this is a great start to a new series that I will look forward to reading more about in the upcoming books.

3.75/5

3 thoughts on “Mila 2.0 Debra Driza

  1. bookgoonie March 13, 2013 at 8:52 am Reply

    This one isn’t calling to me yet. Maybe after the sequel hits, I’ll bite.

    • Gone Pecan March 13, 2013 at 8:57 am Reply

      I get it. I’m not drawn to sci-fi like books to start but once I start I want to finish!

      • bookgoonie March 13, 2013 at 12:41 pm

        I’m a finisher too. We are suckers 😉

Leave a Reply

